07
Sep
11

Random Render: Assuming too Much

While I normally tend to present the context behind random renders – along with an optional small preview – before getting to the actual images themselves, this particular case is… well. I’ll describe the context and what led up to these happening after the actual images rather than before. Why should hopefully become clear once they have been seen. So, without further ado…



So. Uh. Context. Yeah.

A few nights back, a friend of mine and I were both feeling somewhat frustrated with random and completely unrelated events that had been occuring, and for some reason or another resolved to find better moods by hunting for Mass Effect fanarts and linking finds we liked back and forth. This was then further built on when a second friend of mine grabbed me in for a discussion with a third friend of mine about what kind of guild we might try to form in The Old Republic to gather those of our old World of WarCraft group that are interested under one banner… except that discussion actually didn’t happen, and instead friend #2 attempted to enlist my aid in convincing friend #3 to play Mass Effect.

And then I got to sleep really late that night, and woke up tired and confused and with my mind filled with either a brilliant light or visions of the apocalypse, depending on how fantastic or horrifying you find the imagery above.

The armour is actually directly from Mass Effect 2, as you might guess – I once found a handy little program that can technically read the rendering cache of games using DirectX 9 and output that into a series of models, textures and shaders that then other programs hopefully can read. I say technically, because occasionally it’s unstable, occasionally it’ll be a bit confused about where to output things, and occasionally the game in question will be using all manner of pixel shader tricks which’ll make the output textures near useless.

Mass Effect 2 happens to be in the latter category, meaning that while I had hoped to be able to extract Kate – my own Commander Shepard – into a viable model that I could attempt to do Awesome Renders with… I instead ended up with Kate’s albino cousin in flat white armour, and while I could tweak the armour through aggressive use of colour layers… I simply lacked the skill to turn her face into anything resembling human skin colour.

So I had the extracted armour model around without using it for anything… and suddenly had this idea… and I just combined the two, and… well, yeah.

Though to be honest, this is the second thing I do out of that idea. My original idea was simpler, only one image and no backdrop – I’ll add it at the bottom. Staghelm ended up mixed into the idea because for one, he was apparently possessed to do evil at first, and secondly because his transformation into Fire Staghelm just seemed too fitting to match.

And that kitbash in the background? It’s a Harvest Reaper! A Harvest Reaper!

Clearly Westfall was a goblin scheme to take over and harvest the entire universe.

25 Responses to “Random Render: Assuming too Much”


  1. 1 Ilyara
    September 7, 2011 at 13:51

    This, right here, is flawless perfection.

  2. 3 Slywyn
    September 7, 2011 at 16:46

    This amuses me.

  3. 4 Noriam
    September 7, 2011 at 23:12

    I laughed. I laughed so hard.

    • 5 Noriam
      September 8, 2011 at 00:07

      On second thoughts – what nifty piece of kit ripped the albino character and her armour from the files? I had a tired old prod around and didn’t find much myself.

      • 6 Nhani
        September 8, 2011 at 11:33

        It’s a program called 3D Ripper DX (just google it – it’ll pretty much be the first thing you find) – do bear in mind it is very temperamental and sometimes crashes if there are too much geometry in view. Or sometimes crashes because it wants to. Or sometimes generates not-so-useful data for random reasons. Or sometimes changes which key actually does the capturing, and then captures into a completely different directory than the one specified (usually C:\2\ for me, for some reason)

        But occasionally it also works like a charm.

  4. September 7, 2011 at 23:28

    I’m Commander Foonmall, and this is my favorite face punch on Teldrassil.

  5. 8 LolDrood
    September 8, 2011 at 06:55

    This is ridiculous. The Cenarian Circle has found no evidence to support your claims of Harvest Reapers having ever existed. The Kobold attack on Darnassus two years ago was an isolated incident, spurned on by the rantings of a crazy SI:7 agent. The matter is closed.

  6. 10 Pro Saibot
    September 8, 2011 at 14:53

    I found this amusing mostly because I’ve always imagined Hani to sound like Commander Shephard for some reason.

  7. 11 Kayeri
    September 8, 2011 at 18:36

    Never played Mass Effect and I still cant stop laughing… must be because Fandral SO deserved to get punched in the face…

  8. 13 Meglivorn
    September 9, 2011 at 12:36

    Words fail me…
    THANK YOU for the laugh, this is great :D

  9. 14 Moltrazahn
    September 10, 2011 at 04:14

    This page… all of my what! :D

  10. 15 GrifPL
    September 11, 2011 at 09:06

    I very like Mass Effect, but this is perfect ! Hani like Commander Shepard ! :D And Staghelm indoctrinated like Saren ? ;P

  11. September 11, 2011 at 14:30

    Well, I wouldn’t be suprised if i heard Jennifer Hale’s voice in y head now next time i hear Hani speak.

  12. 17 Mysterious P
    September 11, 2011 at 17:07

    Shep Hani?

    Oh Nhani you really make me laugh! Despite not playing ME I recognised the Shep armour from various stuff that #2 has linked me in his efforts to make me play them, so when I scrolled down I had a major WTF? and then a big hearty loud laugh. I wonder how long now till #2 starts poking to ask if I have seen this and try again to make me play them, a matter of hours I’d bet :D

    You pair of sneaks with your plotting! The hearty laughter drew the attentions of himself, and he declared his intentions to set up ME1 for me to play tonight. >.> You two are even sneakier than me!

  13. 18 Agamede
    September 12, 2011 at 05:25

    Hehehehe. Absolutely epic! :D

  14. 19 Kimico
    September 12, 2011 at 19:14

    Fantastic ^.^

  15. 20 Zaton
    September 13, 2011 at 23:07

    Hmm… Tiny’Zorah…
    Such a funny idea :3 Not too fitting, but funny.

  16. 21 Grindzycat
    September 14, 2011 at 11:41

    It took me a bit to realize where I’d heard “Assuming direct Control” from, but then I noticed what she was wearing :P

    Awesome Comic, Ithe last pannel is perfect :)

  17. 22 Ripwarrior
    September 15, 2011 at 14:46

    Wow….holy sh…no…this is just pure awesome holyness <3

    I lol'd so hard when I saw Hani in the S7 suit :D

  18. September 18, 2011 at 12:42

    Brilliant I have to admit I do get really irritated by Harbinger when he makes those comments at you in battles the word monologuing springs to mind and it makes me tend to go right after his controlled clones as Sheppard just to shut him the hell up. Very funny and ironic I love ME&ME2 so I got that completely and it made me laugh…Well done!

  19. 24 raist474
    September 21, 2011 at 07:36

    Clearly a Renegade interrupt. Fandal does remind me of the reporter.

  20. 25 rkaliski@cox.net
    October 13, 2011 at 19:10

    Does this mean that Varian is the Elusive Man?

    I want to see a duel between a Krogan and a Tauren.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

