10
Aug
08

Corporal Naima and the War against Walruskind

Beyond the Tree is not comedy. It’s light-hearted, has plenty of various puns and jokes and doesn’t always take itself too seriously, but it’s not pure comedy: ultimately there’s characters and story that needs to be served first. I was told that I might actually be trying to push too many clevernesses and developments under the nose of readers and that I, simply, might be trying too hard. It had a point since I’ve gotten the impression so far that a fair bit of the subtle things I’ve been trying to nudge in just went lost somewhere along the way – what might seem obvious with author-level knowledge doesn’t have to be anything of the sort without it.

Instead, I’d just like to wave around what kind of thing might happen when I actually do try to make something that’s comedy-oriented.


Corporal Naima was made out of two random renders. I basically asked the owner of the character what she needed destroy and I got the answer Walruses. Huh. Well then, Walruses it was. I had planned to make a series out of them, tuesday specials or somesuch. That didn’t actually happen.. lack of imagination and just slow progress on my part has prevented me from figuring out how it should flow from there. I have disjointed ideas, but they’ve failed to take any proper shape. Yet.

So I decided to put them up here for now rather than just letting them languish on my drive. If the series get kicked off again, you might see more of them. Or other various experiments, serious or not.

5 Responses to “Corporal Naima and the War against Walruskind”


  1. 1 HampOoze
    August 13, 2008 at 08:41

    Got too love the squirel,he has the classic empty face. This comic was kinda fun even though I like the other one more.
    You should a page every once in a while just so the Main comic dont get to onesided:)

  2. 2 Muffiny
    August 17, 2008 at 02:24

    Loved them breaking out of the outhouse.

  3. May 31, 2009 at 19:28

    Walrusses are the ones who’ll destroy the human race one day, just you wait and see.

    • 4 Naima
      June 1, 2009 at 13:17

      It fills me with joy that there are others who understand the true threat posed by the Walrus-kin. THEY MUST ALL BE DESTROYED!

      -Corporal Naima


Leave a Reply

