22
Aug
08

Due to Popular Demand (pt.2)

Okay, so I’ll simply have to admit that the 1280×960 my present 19″ monitor locks me at isn’t quite as high resolutions as some people run (okay.. technically it can run 1280×1024 too, but I don’t since that isn’t the standard 4:3 aspect ratio), thus.. I did a fairly quick retooling of the earlier wallpaper in 1600×1200 and 1600×1000 resolutions. Now I admit, the upscaling is a bit dirty for most things – the only things that really are a higher resolution (and not just scaled up) would be the render and the text. It’s slightly prettier than if you’d rescale it yourselves, though.

The ever problem with scaling things above 1280×960 is that since I‘m locked that that resolution, the screenshots from World of Warcraft I use as backgrounds are also locked at that – they need to be scaled up no matter what. Still, I’ve got a whole array of tools to use from Paint Shop Pro – hopefully some of them should provide some way of making the scaling look slightly better than it does now. (Smart resize only goes so far)

Still, we’ll see how future large renders look – I tend to make new ones every so often as I obtain ideas and/or feel like

2 Responses to “Due to Popular Demand (pt.2)”


  1. 1 bbr
    August 22, 2008 at 13:12

    Good stuff, i’ll try n have em up before the end of the weekend at the latest.

    I did a similar thing for Cru earlier : http://rrvs.blogspot.com/2008/08/draenei-bar-maid.html
    He was kind enough to have some of the midway resolutions as well.

  2. 2 Nhani
    August 22, 2008 at 13:29

    Alrighty, I’ll see what various options I’ll have for resolutions for future wallpapers, though most will be of a far more dressed nature (as they have been in the past!).

    Still, I make things as they come to me.


Leave a Reply

