22
Aug
08

More Wallpaper Madness

I’ve spent much of the evening not doing what I should be doing – things like registering my new address so I’m eligeble for housing support, finding a new outgoing mail server so I can actually send e-mails again (this’d be why I haven’t been able to respond to any yet, for the record), ordering study books for university, working on Beyond the Tree issue #41 and all.. I haven’t been doing that. At all.

Instead I’ve been fiddling around with potentially adapting a story snippet out of the life of Nhani Moonfall that in the end came to be called Sunrise. The name is a tad ironic (unless you think of it in night elven terms) since it signifies the end of something rather than the start – specifically, Sunrise tells about the outcome of the epic(?) confrontation between Nhani Moonfall and Reiki Moonfall and the following death of the latter.

There’s a whole lot of work that’d be involved to make a full adaptation, from transforming a short story into a comic script and storyboards to gathering backdrops and doing model prep. Deciding that the latter was the most fun to be starting with, I got about to creating a model for Reiki built out of the model for Nhani, scaled down to 90% size and then having a significantly tweaked texture set built out of that for Rei Tiny (who is lightly based on / a caricature of Reiki).

And then I made two wallpapers, one for each character, just to emphasize the differences between them.

I chose to call the Nhani one “Homelands” seeing where it resides; it’s fairly typical, so the main emphasis of it is simply to provide a stark contrast to the Reiki wallpaper. I actually did some fiddling to try and make the background scale up to the highest resolutions better however without too much loss of precision or seeming too jagged. It’s far from perfect, but it’ll have to do. Actually have some options for resolutions this time too, heh.

So, the Reiki picture titled “Fel Rage” – the name speaks fairly well for itself. Though she was never anywhere near that far gone while she was still being played, at the point when Sunrise took place (and Reiki’s player hadn’t touched the character for months), Reiki had fallen quite far to the lure of Fel corruption. The story described her physical appearance as quite monstrous – quite beyond my meager modelling talents. So rather than trying and failing at that, I went the other way – kept her regular small stature but just added very visible signs of her falling: the eye, the arm, the ragged and torn hair (stolen from not one but two different Undead female hair models, actually).

As might be apparent, Reiki was fairly gone in the head too at the time of Sunrise (until pacified sufficiently) – Nhani has very good reasons to exclaim that Fel is Bad(tm).

No promises I’ll get around to adapting the actual story to Beyond the Tree format, but failing that, there’s always decent images coming out of the idea.

14 Responses to “More Wallpaper Madness”


  1. 1 bbr
    August 23, 2008 at 08:32

    Going to have to start thinking about making a wallpaper quicklink for all these soon :p

  2. 2 Nhani
    August 23, 2008 at 08:45

    Uh-huh. I don’t think WordPress (or atleast, the theme I’m using of it) allows such a thing to be created dynamically, so I’ll have to experiment with pages and subpages soon enough. Been wanting to see how well it looks and works for if I revise the Cast page on Beyond the Tree too anyhow, as well as somewhere to put all the random special issues I make and everything.

    Atleast WordPress.com means I don’t have to be too worried about image hosting, heh.

  3. 3 bbr
    August 23, 2008 at 12:23

    Doesn’t wordpress have some form of tag system, or categories?

  4. 4 Nhani
    August 23, 2008 at 12:31

    It does, but not something you can just show in a quick summary. Not in a way I’d consider looking good enough anyway. I’ll poke around with it when I have the time/will to think of something. I’ve been curious how the whole page/subpage thing works for some time anyhow.

  5. August 23, 2008 at 21:29

    hey me again i’m asking again do you use a meshsmoother,becouse when i use it,on the edges have some spots where it’s like torn away.

  6. 6 Nhani
    August 23, 2008 at 23:15

    Well, to link back to an earlier entry: Yes I do.

    The thing is that the models that you get out of modelviewer aren’t always welded entirely (ie: some vertices aren’t one but multiple points), so you have to weld those together first if you want meshsmooth (or regular lighting, not to mention specular lighting) to work properly with the model.

    Two important things to mind when welding a model is that in some places vertices might end up accidentally welded “too much” (there’s a few spots with hair and lips that can end up buggered due to this) as well as that some portions of a model (notably skirts and sleeves) have both inwards- and outwards-facing faces – you need to remove the inwards-facing ones before those subpeices can be welded properly or they’ll just end up looking broken, with Meshsmooth just making it all the more obvious.

  7. August 24, 2008 at 19:21

    huh 10x for pointing me that wmv splited the character,so i used mywarcraftstudio and did deleting of some parts and there weren’t any spots like before.10x

  8. August 24, 2008 at 20:59

    heres my try,still not riged and i don’t think to make it becouse i tested things on it only

  9. 9 Nhani
    August 25, 2008 at 16:04

    The lighting looks a bit odd – I can’t tell where the lightsource is. Light and dark interacts in really odd ways in that image. ..Of course, it might just be running ambient lighting, which’d probably explain it. (Ambient sometimes looks really strange)

    I realize it’s just a quick and dirty test too, but just for nitpickings’s sake, you’ll need to extract the alpha channel from the hair texture into its own map and use that as an opacity map for it to make it not end in big black blocks 😉

  10. August 25, 2008 at 16:08

    10x.made another one alittle more complex for me the last was just quick and most of the places are uhm streched under the point the shot was taken 😀
    this is todays try

  11. 11 Nhani
    August 25, 2008 at 17:57

    It’s better definitely, though I still say stick some light sources in it – highlight and shadow really enhances (or breaks, depending on placement) the shape and form of a character.

    With a background like that, one or two really strong lights (2.5x or 5x multiplier) casting shadow to give the edges of the character a sort of bright highlight while just having a weak light in front would make a world of difference, really.

  12. August 25, 2008 at 18:39

    here the las one i will post

  13. 13 Nhani
    August 25, 2008 at 19:25

    Getting there 😉
    I think you’re in a good place to figure out all the various intricacies from there, really. Much of it is just style and practice, I’d think. And well.. experimenting.

    I’m hardly in a position to tell how specular and bump maps work because I actually don’t know, I’m just theorizing and trying my way, heh.

  14. August 25, 2008 at 20:16

    i’m going to rigit tommorow


Leave a Reply

