22
Aug
08

Rogues and Glyphs; are we Keepers yet?

So, MMO-Champion had made a newspost about the changes in the Wrath of the Lich King beta build 8820 which contains a slew of more items, some candy that might make Hunters and Warriors more happy (wouldn’t know, haven’t looked that closely) and – at last – Rogue glyphs.

My initial reaction so far isn’t so much underwhelming as pretty much what I expected, though not quite what I’d hoped for. But I’d admit my hopes are a tad skewed in places, considering I’m running the whole roguetank schtick rather than sticking to traditional, intended roles. But I digress.

Here’s a list copied directly from MMO-Champion:

  • Glyph – Sap – Increases the duration of Sap by 10 sec.
  • Glyph – Evasion – Increases the duration of Evasion by 5 sec.
  • Glyph – Backstab – Increases the damage dealt by Backstab to stunned and incapacitated targets by 20%.
  • Glyph – Rupture – Increases the duration of Rupture by 5 sec.
  • Glyph – Eviscerate – Increases the critical strike chance of Eviscerate by 10%.
  • Glyph – Expose Armor – Increases the duration of Expose Armor by 10 sec.
  • Glyph – Feint – Reduces the energy cost of Feint by -10.
  • Glyph – Shiv – Reduces the energy cost of Shiv by -5.
  • Glyph – Deadly Throw – Increases the range on Deadly Throw by 5 yards.
  • Glyph – Hemorrhage – Increases the damage bonus against targets afflicted by Hemorrhage by 40%.
  • Glyph – Adrenaline Rush – Decreases the cooldown of Adrenaline Rush by 60 sec.
  • Glyph – Gouge – Reduces the power cost of Gouge by -10.
  • Glyph – Slice and Dice – Increases the duration of Slice and Dice by 3 sec.
  • Glyph – Sprint – Decreases the cooldown of Sprint by 60 sec.
  • Glyph – Garrote – Increases periodic damage dealt by Garrrote by 45%, but decreases the duration by 3 sec.
  • Glyph – Ambush – Increases the range on Ambush by 5 yards.
  • Glyph – Ghostly Strike – Increases the damage dealt by Ghostly Strike by 50% and the duration of its effect by 4 sec., but increases its cooldown by 10 sec.

I’m not going to go through the whole list one by one since, to be fair, I’m not all that qualified to do so. There’s a few that look useful to me, though the only one that looks potentially interesting would be the Ghostly Strike one. Starting at the top, Sap may be handy, especially with the expanded target type list for it. I don’t really use evasion all that much (yes, even when tanking. I try not to need it), but when using evasion more is better is pretty much the rule of thumb. Expose Armor and Rupture kindof get grouped together as what use I’ll get out of those depends on how well the new and improved Setup talent will deliver; 100% limited at once per second is much more reliable than the mere 45% that it as right now. If i can more reliably make rotations while tanking, I might get use out of one, or even both, of them. Improved range on deadly throw might be handy but not something I’ll write home about.

The Hemorrhage change however looks potentially useful. Sure, like cleave the bonus damage isn’t exactly super-significant, but number crunchers might consider it more viable with that glyph. Seeing how I use the ability as my key combo point generator, I’m all for improving it, myself.

The cooldown reducers of Adrenaline Rush and Sprint look fairly nice, though I’ll only be having access to the latter. Already being able to reduce the spring cooldown by 90 seconds via talents, another 60 sounds fairly handy if I actually specced for it (I don’t). The reduce in energy cost for Gouge, combined with that Gouge no longer rewards a combo point as of 8820 makes it more potentially useful as a short, off-target incapacitate, which I seem to recall hearing people ask for somewhere. I might have to mouseover-macro it with that kind of change.

Extra duration on Slice and Dice is always nice, my heavy use of Garrote (that 3 second silence is grand) might make the glyph handy (Should be 16% extra damage if I’m thinking it right?) at the cost of duration, but I’m not too fussed there.

So down to Ghostly Strike, which has an interesting glyph. Increasing damage by 50% and adding 10 seconds to the cooldown pretty much just ensures the damage is the same, as 10 seconds added to 20 seconds is a 50% increase as well, so it’s more the duration of its effect that’s in mind. Normally, the effect lasts 7 seconds out of 20, with the glyph it’d last 11 seconds out of 30 – meaning it goes from a 35% uptime to a 36.7% uptime – not a huge change by any stretch, but every bit helps. On the flip side, it means that the wait period where you need that much more luck is increased from 13 to 19 seconds. While over a wide scope, you gain more avoidance percentually, luck streaks theoretically have to be 6 seconds longer. It makes Ghostly Strike more useful as an oh crap! function, but I’m not sure if the glyph actually improves its extended duration tanking reliance; the Random Number Generator isn’t always all that impressed by projected over-time statistics.

Still hoping to see some changes towards fun and tankiness, but I won’t be holding my breath. So far I’m still likely to go 0 / 29 / 42 in Wrath. Still aiming for tanking and overall Warden-ness rather than top damage.

3 Responses to “Rogues and Glyphs; are we Keepers yet?”


  1. 1 bbr
    August 22, 2008 at 11:44

    Working on a post on this regard as well, it should hopefully be up later today. (@work now)
    I had a small list with preductions / hopes for glyphs up some time ago : http://rrvs.blogspot.com/2008/07/wotlk-beta-update.html
    But with the actual glyphs being released now (hopefully we’ll still see more added though) I can look at how accurate that was. (only 1 correct… 2 close)

    Looking at the warrior talent changes, I sincerely hope rogues are going to receive a similar loving.
    The warriors will be quite happy with their new talents.

  2. 2 Nhani
    August 22, 2008 at 12:13

    There were a few more posted in a thread here, numerical variables aren’t interpreted though so they look suspiciously datamined, these:
    Glyph – Blade Flurry 01 (Rogue) Reduces the energy cost of Blade Flurry by $56818s1%.
    Glyph – Preparation 01 (Rogue) Decreases the cooldown of Preparation by ${$56819m1/-60000} min.
    Glyph – Crippling Poison 01 (Rogue) Increases the chance to trigger Crippling Poison by $56820s1%.
    Glyph – Sinister Strike 01 (Rogue) Your Sinister Strike critical strikes have a $h% chance to add an additional combo point.
    Depending on what the numbers actually say, some (the Sinister Strike one in particular, I’d imagine) may catch some interest. Personally I’m mostly interested in whatever gives me more avoidance and more threat. 😉

  3. 3 bbr
    August 22, 2008 at 12:40

    Those look quite interestsing, especially the SS one, since you get to use that a lot as a combat rogue.


Leave a Reply

