24
Aug
08

Nhani vs Malchezaar – Roguetanking Royality

With our regular primary tank back up at 70 and starting to obtain gear again (as a Paladin this time) the bunch I stick around in World of Warcraft and I finally got off our hind ends to get back to (and thoroughly thrash) Karazhan again. The combination of a Paladin and a Rogue proved to be a rather solid tanking duo as the seperate strengths and weaknesses line up and cover eachother fairly well; with Paladins also having Blessing of Salvation to put on any non-tank, I had a that much greater advantage for threat generation as well.

Though I generally sit on the very definition of off tank due to threat generation issues (especailly area threat which I pretty much have none of), I was regularely passed the opportunity to actually main tank several bosses where the Paladin felt her kit wasn’t quite up to level yet, including Moroes, the Maiden of Virtue, the Big Bad Wolf and the Curator. Now this, along with my standard off-tanking during trash is awesome enough, but it doesn’t actually stop there.

Since at some point, the Paladin suddenly states that we should have me tank Prince Malchezaar.

My initial reaction was something along the lines of “Yeah, right.” until it sank in that she actually wasn’t being sarcastic. Then comes the typical “Hey.. can I actually do that?” followed by “Man.. it’d be awesome if it’s possible!”

So. I’ve tanked Prince Malchezaar. As a Rogue. We had one wipe, and it was only because my internet connection hit a severe line of breakage and eventually disconnected me. In the second try I think he hit me once, not counting the Shadow Novas and Shadowword: Pain. It was awesome.

I was told that Malchezaar is at his worst in phase two where he dual-wields axes, but also that he gains the same miss penalty players do when dual-wielding. The end result? Helloooo nigh melee immunity! I can’t push the avoidance you need to be totally immune to raid bosses, but when buffs stack up right I can get resonably close.

It’s lower without Mongoose, evidently.

On a flip note, statistics from Omen so far suggests that I actually generate more threat with Rupture than Slice and Dice. I actually didn’t expect that at all. Hum.

12 Responses to “Nhani vs Malchezaar – Roguetanking Royality”


  1. 1 Furau
    August 25, 2008 at 10:35

    That’s quite some dodging leetz there.. curse you Nhanee, you forced me to stare at my own paltry powah and weep!

    In other news, a fear innmue trinket, if such a thing exists or shall ever exist, will only add to your uberness.

  2. 2 bbr
    August 25, 2008 at 15:18

    A rogue tanking list could be nice.

  3. 3 Nhani
    August 25, 2008 at 15:49

    A fear immune trinket isn’t happening – the rammifications for PvP are just waaaaay overboard. Skill.. sorry.. Will of the Forsaken is tear-causing enough as it is. Rogues immune to fear? Imagine the Drama!

    Also, list? Define list! Enemies tanked, gear used, buffs in place, what!

  4. 4 Menerith
    August 25, 2008 at 20:19

    Hehe, I was one of the hunternubs in that raid with you 🙂 ‘t was a shame that the other hunter and I got Enfeebled, and immediately after an Infernal spawned -right- on top of us.
    2 Dead hunters…
    But yeah, you were amazing there 😀

  5. 5 Nhani
    August 25, 2008 at 23:33

    Roguetanks aim to please. /bow
    ..or was that aim to brutally annihilate? Hm. I can never remember which. Oh well!

    I had awesome people to help me. Heck, I had awesome people that actually let me try, especially with a potentially failing internet. The average player on World of Warcraft is somewhat less receptive towards the idea, I feel 😉

  6. 6 Menerith
    August 26, 2008 at 21:47

    Guess we were confident in the strenght of our raidgroup, huh 😉

  7. 7 Nhani
    August 26, 2008 at 21:59

    Well part that, part confident in our ability to overcome obstacles through unconventional means. 😉

    With a roguetank, someone who can (and will) kite with every single class she plays and an overall habit for being lenient (or downright dismissive of) conventional wisdom and still usually prevail.. I’d like to think we see possibilities more than obstacles ;>

  8. 8 bbr
    August 27, 2008 at 07:54

    Dodge, parry, defence skill, the lot.
    How do you get as high an evasion as possible?

    Obviously a moonkin druid and a hunter will help a lot in getting the last few percent

  9. 9 Nhani
    August 27, 2008 at 08:07

    Hm, well it’d mean going through quite a bit of kit. I’ll do some thinking on it, go through all the various things I use and see if I can make some sense out of it within a resonable post size.

  10. August 27, 2008 at 08:40

    I’m working on my post for it myself, so any input is welcome.
    Link to your armory may be nice too :>

    These 2 links are quite useful so far
    * http://shadowpanther.net/armor-tank.htm
    * http://www.downfallguild.org/node/2381

  11. 11 Nhani
    August 27, 2008 at 08:54

    I’m not sure if the armoury would be that helpful actually – my kit is generally in flux depending on what I’ve adjusted it for at the time. Not to mention I don’t know how the armoury will react to Nhani sometimes being logged out in her formal priestess robe (Gossamer) or something like Wild Draenish. ;o

    Still, I’ll take it under consideration. Took some screenshots of gear earlier, I’ll see about concocting something interesting out of all of it later. Think I’ll need to concentrate on getting #42 done first. ;|

    Still, we shall see.


Leave a Reply

