27
Aug
08

The Goddess is my Shield; tank kit choices

One of the sound clips that High Priestess Tyrande Whisperwind has goes “The Goddess is My shield!”; looking at it from a purely game mechanical standpoint, the statement may be far more apt for Nhani Moonfall. As a tanking rogue, Nhani sometimes lives purely by the fickle desires of the Random Number Generator. Her entire tanking survival is very much happening under Elune’s Grace.

In my, and her, defense, she rarely ends up going faceplant.

I actually don’t have the avoidance for full melee immunity – I’m not in the position where it’s all that viable for me to reach that level. As a result, there’s plenty of times where I actually survive on a slightly reduced avoidance in order to obtain that much more threat (the stamina is nice too). Funnily enough, where I’ve found out most rogues aim for a hit rating enough to hit the cap where they no longer benefit from more, I actually have relatively low +hit. *cough*

I swap peices around a whole lot depending on the situation and what I feel is the most needed at the time. I actually spend by far the most time kitted for “allround damage / threat” with only rarely ditching the threat for avoidance and then only when the situation calls for it. So long as you keep out of 25-mans, rogues can be a whole lot more durable than some people might think.

Atleast when specced like this.

There’s some peices of gear that are just staple and remains generally constant no matter which specialization I pick at the time, several of these based around the rogue Season 2 arena gear. All in all, these peices are:

Merciless Gladiator’s Leather Helm (+58 sta, +37 agi, +25 resi, +17 crit, +44 AP, +4 resi)
With a Relentless Earthstorm Diamond (+12 agi, +3% crit damage), a Delicate Crimson Spinel (+10 agi) and Glyph of the Defender (+16 def rating, +17 dodge rating).

Merciless Gladiator’s Leather Spaulders (+45 sta, +32 agi, +24 crit, +25 resi, +24 AP, +3 resi)
With a Delicate Crimson Spinel (+10 agi), a Glistening Fire Opal (+4 agi, +5 def rating) and a Greater Inscription of Warding (+15 dodge rating, +10 defense rating).

Mericless Gladiator’s Leather Tunic (+57 sta, +37 agi, +25 resi, +13 crit, +40 AP, +4 crit)
With two Delicate Crimson Spinels (2x +10 agi), a Glinting Pyrestone (+5 hit rating, +5 agi) and an Exceptional Stats enchant.

Vindicator’s Leather Bracers (+33 sta, +25 agi, +12 crit, +15 resi, +26 AP, +2 resi)
With a Glistening Fire Opal (+4 agi, +5 def rating) and a Stats enchant.

Gloves of Dexterous Manipulation (+35 agi, +22 sta, +42 AP, +3 Crit)
With a Shifting Shadowsong Amethyst (+5 agi, +7 sta), a Shifting Nightseye (+4 agi, +6 sta) and a Superior Agility enchant.

Belt of Deep Shadow (+32 agi, +14 sta, +18 hit, +66 AP)
With two Delicate Crimson Spinels (2x +10 agi).

Trousers of the Scryer’s Retainer (+43 agi, +45 sta, +30 hit, +104 AP +3 hit)
With a Beaming Fire Opal (+5 dodge rating, +4 Resilience), a Shifting Tanzanite (+5 agi, +6 sta) and a patch of Nethercleft Leg Armor.

Angelista’s Revenge (+29 agi, +28 sta, +58 AP, 126 Armor pen)
With a Stats enchant.

Vanir’s Right Fist of Brutality (103.0 dps @ 2.50, +23 agi, +21 haste, +44 AP)
With a Mongoose enchant.

Distracting Blades (+14 agi, +10 haste, +26 AP)

The so called “Threat Gear” generally constitutes my all-purpose, does-everything outfit that I use whenever not specializing for anything in particular. I do have some options possible where I nudge in slightly more damage if I don’t expect to need survival at all and damage is absolutely, totally, one hundred percent paramount. But seriously, if damage is that important, you’re likely better off with a more normal rogue πŸ˜‰

..No, the threat gear won’t slice vedgetables or babysit children.

My total unbuffed health in threat gear is 10’194, other worthwhile statistics are in the image above. And thus without further ado, on to gear choices!

Shattered Sun Pendant of Resolve (+48 sta, +13 hit, +18 expertise rating, +100 dodge rating proc)
Stamina, hit rating and expertise rating are all handy. Being Aldor, the +100 dodge rating proc does have its uses.

Blood Knight War Cloak (+23 agi, +22 sta, +48 AP)
With a Greater Agility enchant.

Edgewalker Longboots (+29 agi, +28 sta, +13 hit, +44 AP, +3 hit)
With a Delicate Crimson Spinels (+10 agi), a Glinting Fire Opal (+5 agi, +4 hit) and a Cat’s Swiftness enchant.

Shapeshifter’s Signet (+25 agi, +18 sta, +20 expertise rating)
With a Stats enchant.

Commendation of Kael’thas (+57 sta, dodge proc)
I rely on this one heavilly whenever it isn’t critical that I use something more specialized; the added stamina and cheat death light adds a greater grace period for emergencies and is a bit nicer on healers.

Shard of Contempt (+44 expertise rating, AP proc).

Quickening Blade of the Prince (92.0 dps @ 1.50, +27 sta, +38 AP, 126 armor pen)
My trusty off-hand. It looks good and for most part is good. I use its likening as a weapon for Nhani during renders for a reason πŸ˜‰

One of the key things with threat gear is expertise – since I’m expected to stand in the front of enemies, it’s a very handy addition – doubly so due to parry mechanics affecting the swing timer. It’s a bit generalist and not always as good as it could be, but it’s mostly a gathering of the peices I found overall best or liked the most.

The avoidance kit is a tad odd – it performs better on avoidance, but I actually only rarely use all of it. Most of the time I find threat is overall more important and gear up accordingly. There’s also the small matter that the threat gear actually looks better. Avoidance gear is mostly for times when I have to dodge, parry or otherwise avoid the absolutely most possible because the enemy will Hit That Hard(tm) or I simply don’t have a healer as backup. I tend to mix in the avoidance gear partially or fully when going about doing “benchmark feats” (such as trying to solo Durn the Hungerer)

The fact that I only have 9’434 max health in full avoidance gear is also generally an argument against it. It served me well when tanking Prince Malchezaar earlier, mind you. Even if I used threat gear for all tanking prior that Karazhan run.

But I’m getting sidetracked. Thus, gear!

Necklace of the Juggernaut (+19 agi, +33 sta, +22 def rating)
My swap-in for the pendant of resolve. It has less stamina but has a steadier supply of avoidance – it isn’t proc-based. Additionally, defense rating works during mishaps such as stuns where dodge rating does not.

Slikk’s Cloak of Placation (+37 sta, +16 def rating, +25 dodge rating)

With a Greater Agility enchant.
Swaps in for the War Cloak – much less agility, but about the highest avoidance cloak I can get at my level. It also doesn’t look half bad, really.

Nimble-foot Treads (+32 agi, +24 sta, +25 dodge rating)
With a Cat’s Swiftness enchant.
Like most avoidance gear – higher avoidance, but I prefer Edgewalker where possible.

Delicate Eternium Ring (+25 agi, +15 sta, +16 dodge rating)
With a Stats enchant.
Pretty much the avoidance ring going around, if I recall correctly.

Moroes’ Lucky Pocket Watch (+38 dodge rating, +300 dodge rating on use)
I used this one heavilly for just about everything until I had the Commendation + Shard of Contempt combo, which I now tend to stick with instead. I still have an affection for the pocket watch however. It’s special, somehow. Oh and it has plenty of avoidance.

Adamantine Figurine (+32 def rating, +1280 armor on use)
It’s not quite the Pocket Watch, but it’s served me well from time to time.

Felsteel Longblade (83.4 dps @ 2.20, +26 agi, +15 sta)
With a Greater Agility enchant.
Another back-mounted one-hander, this time with 26 agility! I actually have two of these because I love how they look, even though I’ve been using the Quickening Blade as “fasion sword” since I got it instead.


For anything tanking or otherwise avoidance-related, I tend to be a major addict of Grilled Mudfish and Elixirs of Major Agility. Of course, things like Blessing of Kings, Agility totem, scrolls of agility, Mark of the Wild and whatever else that can be scrounged up is always handy to have. There’s an approach to roguetanking where you reach complete melee immunity; I admit the idea appeals to me, but I simply lack the extensive choices of gear necessary to reach that goal, atleast as far as I am aware. Instead I settle for off-tanking and sometimes tanking in regular and heroic instances and 10-man raids.

Being able to randomly off-tank or even tank at odd times when necessary is something I’ve found handy – our primary tank has expressed appreciating (hah! Got it right! Take that!) that she doesn’t have to worry when she looses aggro over an off target to me, that it gives her that much space to breathe because I’m not likely to faceplant doing it. Picking up tanking the last enemy in a pack or a boss when a freak accident kills the regular tank has been plenty useful as well.

It’s not a normal rogue thing, nowhere near it. But standing tanking the last 70-80 seconds of Nalorakk after the primary and backup warrior tanks have died, or being the primary, main and only tank for Prince Malchezaar and hardly even taking damage.. let’s just leave it at that I do, in fact, love my job.

8 Responses to “The Goddess is my Shield; tank kit choices”


  1. 2 bbr
    August 27, 2008 at 13:31

    Check : http://www.wowhead.com/?powered
    How to add popups for loot links. Could be nice to have.

  2. 3 Nhani
    August 27, 2008 at 13:43

    The offending posts have been slain. I think the first comment you did was flagged as potential spam too at first πŸ˜‰

    Also script won’t work – WordPress.com seems to automatically edit them out (with good reason I imagine) so regular clicky links will have to do.

  3. 4 bbr
    August 28, 2008 at 07:24

    * Enchant Avoidance = 8.927979559%
    * Base Dodge = 9.53%
    * Base Parry = 5%
    * Spec Avoidance = 10% (5% dodge 5% parry)
    * Boss Miss Rate = 5% (Not sure about this one)
    * Buff Avoidance = 19.1724625%
    * Sub Total Avoidance = 57,62% without gear

    101.8 – 57,62 = 44,18% that gear needs to produce.
    Shouldn’t be too hard, i’ll keep working on that list.

  4. 6 azande
    August 30, 2008 at 00:20

    In terms of rings would the Ring of the Stalwart Protector and Violet Signet of the Great Protector be a good alternative?

  5. 7 Nhani
    August 30, 2008 at 09:08

    Ring of the Stalwart Protector.. works – Ratingbuster claims about 1.48% avoidance (not counting the +4 all stats enchant). Absolutely zero threat, but the added stamina can be handy without anything better to use. For me it has slightly more avoidance than Shapeshifter’s Signet (1.44% vs 1.48%, without factoring in the ring enchant)

    I can’t see Violent Signet of the Great Protector being much of a rogue tanking ring – just 19 defense rating isn’t really all that much.

  6. 8 bbr
    September 1, 2008 at 06:50

    Here we go, as promised the giant post with gear and math:
    http://rrvs.blogspot.com/2008/09/rogue-tanking-1018.html


Leave a Reply

