30
Aug
08

Rogue changes, or How to Run on Water


(yes I whinged that screenshot)

So, we’ve got a new build – 8885 – on the Wrath beta and MMO-Champion handily has the low-down and an additional link to some Blizzard rep quotes about rogues specifically.

I’m actually quite giddy.

We’re getting a misdirect: *New Skill* Tricks of the Trade (Level 75): “The current party or raid member becomes the target of your Tricks of the Trade. The threat caused by your next attack and all actions taken for 6 sec afterwards will be transferred to the target. In addition, all damage caused by the target is increased by 15% during this time.”. Not exactly something I’m interested in, with my specialization, of course. But it could very well be handy for the Regular Rogue(tm). More worthwhile than Feint, too.

Might mention that Mutilate no longer requires you to be behind the target – Won’t affect me any, but it might bring a whole lot of either accolates or cries about the spec no longer needing skill. Sounds like a good change to me, so /pat Assassin-rogues on head.

The blue post interests me a whole lot more, really. A few high points (aforementioned full list linked earlier is here for your convenience):

  • Wounding Poison: No longer stacks. The first application now reduces healing by 50%.
  • Relentless Strikes: Talent is too “required” and will be made more accessible. Vigor will replace its spot in the tree and a new talent will be created to fill Vigor’s spot.
  • Evasion, Sprint, Vanish: Cooldown reduced to 3 minutes. (Talents that reduce cooldown take this down to 2 minutes.)
  • Cloak of Shadows: Cooldown increased to 2 minutes. (Elusiveness now reduces this cooldown to 1 minute.)
  • Riposte: Now generates a combo point.
  • Deflection: Reduced to 3 ranks for 2/4/6% parry. This should soften the prereq for Riposte.
  • Dual Wield Specialization: Moved to tier 1. Lightning Reflexes swapped locations with it and still needs a little more “oomph”.

One more 1% parry is nice, Riposte giving a combo point is lovely with its low energy cost. Mix this in with the improved Setup, and combo point generation while roguetanking should be significant. Swapping Dual Wield spec and Lightning Reflexes around won’t mean much for me at 80 since I’ll have the points to obtain both anyway – I am curious what this more oomph they’re intending might be however.

I’m interested in the new Close Quarters Combat talent – they’re merging Dagger spec and Fist spec into one. Considering I picked up a Swift Blade of Uncertainty as a new threat off-hand (to replace the Blade of the Prince), I’m using a fist/dagger combination already. And I love the Close Quarters Combat name – sounds very Nhani-ish.

I might have to spec into Elusiveness to maintain the 1-minute cooldown on Cloak of Shadows, too. But with Deflection going down two talent points, I have two to spare!

I’m still ever curious/concerned how far they might let us push roguetanking in Wrath, but the above do sound quite nice. And with them stating that they’ve got their eyes on more changes still.. well. The future for rogues may just seem very interesting.

Oh and before I forget! New rogue glyphs!

  • Glyph of Pick Pocket — Increases the range of your Pick Pocket skill by 5 yards.
  • Glyph of Vanish — Increases your movement speed by 30% while the Vanish effect is active.
  • Glyph of Blurred Speed — You gain the ability to walk on water while your Sprint ability is active.

We get to run on water. We get to Run on Water.

And that is awesome.

Edit: I just found out there’s a title – “Champion of Elune” – for being the first Night elf to 80 on a realm. Seeing how I’ll be having university studies and other things to keep myself occupied, it’s far out of my reach. This depresses me. Oh well..

0 Responses to “Rogue changes, or How to Run on Water”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

