07
Sep
08

Late Updates and Unfair Advantages

So today’s update to Beyond the Tree ended up a tad late; Nhani Moonfall the character ended up with family matters to resolve (and some clothes to sew – yes she actually can sew) which left me preoccupied until they were done with. Don’t get me wrong, it was a very fun and heartwarming peice of character interaction where a young woman who seemed utterly terrified of making Nhani disappointed slowly warming up to the realization that Nhani already considered her a part of the family. It’s rather difficult to be working on Beyond the Tree when busy doing such however.

And after that was done, my local community group assembled for Karazhan, and then I decided to sleep.

During the while, it seems Blizzard went ahead and released Build 8905 of the Wrath of the Lich King beta which you can read more in detail about on MMO-Champion. The aforementioned rogue changes are now around which makes me wish I actually was in the beta so I could try them. I was passed a link of a certain hilarious clip on youtube showing off the changes to the Unfair Advantage talent; it seems potentially quite sickly powerful – especially in the hands of a rogue with my particular focus, so to some extents I wish I could sacrifice the subtlety tree to get it. I’d really miss Shadowstep however and I have a hard time believing that the talent won’t be weakened – a mainhand strike with every dodge? Rogues pushing some 40% dodge% would be real terrors to anything melee, not to mention hitting evasion.

It would be awesome for roguetanking threat output, though. Which kindof makes me almost wish they’ll weaken it, otherwise I’ll envy the rogues who can get it for all time.

Additionally, Blizzard mentioned they’re intending to do some massive changes to racial abilities. The full list so far is in a Blizzard rep post on the US World of Warcraft forums. Some changes sound fairly resonable, others a tad strange. Then there’s this particular Night elven one: “- Quickness: reduces the chance to be hit by melee or ranged attacks by 2%”. Seeing how the old one was a 1% dodge.. this is tasty. Combine this with the rogue talent Deflection adding 6% parry% instead of 5% right now, and that’s a total of 2% passive avoidance I might get by default in Wrath.

I approve of this notion.

5 Responses to “Late Updates and Unfair Advantages”


  1. 1 Frostsaben
    September 7, 2008 at 19:19

    Cool, I like the increase at quickness for night elves. This can only be helpful to us rogues, let’s hope it stays that way. Still, some changes in the racials are weird, I don’t know how will the human feint work yet, I’ll have to see it in action.

  2. 2 Nhani
    September 7, 2008 at 23:13

    Since the new racial ideas aren’t even put into the Beta yet, there’s still huge space for possible tweaks and changes. Humans getting a Feign Death Light seems strange, but it might soothe my ego just a tad with all the human mages/warlocks that outperforms my threat quite expertly.

    Since the threat is supposed to return when the effect ends, it might be good for tank bouncing too, who knows. It might get changed completely before it even hits the Beta.

    As for Quickness, the change from dodge to miss is .. interesting. 2% is definitely better than 1%, unlike dodging, a passive miss chance still works when you’re stunned/feared/otherwise incapacitated too, and a miss won’t trigger overpower. On the flip side, +hit gear is more common than +expertise gear now, though from what I’ve seen if itemization so far.. that might change with Wrath.

    We’ll simply have to wait and see how it pans out.

  3. 3 bbr
    September 8, 2008 at 11:30

    2% avoidance instesad of 1.
    And 6% parry instead of 5% (new talent changes)

  4. 4 Nhani
    September 8, 2008 at 11:42

    Hence why I said 2% passive avoidance gained come Wrath. That said, not all forms of avoidance were created equal, so the actual end result will be interesting to observe. Less dodge% means less triggering of Setup or the (current) Unfair Advantage (but also less glee for Overpower-happy warriors), contrasted by the simple fact that miss% works when feared/stunned/incapacitated/back turned/always. Not to mention that the effect is doubled and that dodge/parry is countered by Expertise while misses are countered by Hit Rating.

    I can see the potential fighting NPCs already – how it’ll pan out in PvP might be interesting to see, depending on what the balance for +hit and expertise will be on PvP gear.

    Additionally, 1% more parry% is just grand, especially with the Wrath version of Riposte having been constructed out of pure, condensed Awesome.

    (Edit: None of this considering whatever changes Blizzard were considering to make to Lightning Reflexes to make it more awesome and more worthy its new location. I can’t see them simply adding more dodge% to it though, so I’m guessing they might add some secondary effect to it instead.)

  5. 5 Thromgar
    September 10, 2008 at 22:06

    Man I’m getting the headache as soon as people talk about increases/decreases in World Of Warcraft..I simply just play the game, damn to lazy to see any chances..But a feign death sounds great, but I must admit chances in racial is still a bit weird in my eyes. Anyway can’t wait for Wrath of The Lich King

    Thromgar – Argent Dawn


Leave a Reply

