11
Sep
08

Does this mean I’ll Shadowfeign?

Right, so. New Beta build, new beta changes and new beta loot.

Most of the listed documented changes seems to be things we’ve told about were happening in advance already – if there’s anything I missed in the list that’s new then feel free to say, though it seems to be fairly settled. There’s an undocumented change for Hunger for Blood. Not going to use it, won’t affect me.

Still no changes to Lightning Reflexes. We’ll simply have to wait and see.

I’ve got a friend going puppy-eyed at some of the new items added so I’m sure there’s things of interesting there. My head for numbers is a tad limited to try to work out itemization before it’s actually here, so I won’t bore you with an attempt. 😉

There’s a pretty huge change planned to human and night elven racials however, quoted from a Blizzard representative post here, namely:

Don’t get too used to it though, this is beta! The next build will feature three significant changes to racials.

“The Fall of Humanity”: removed

We’ll be trying out a new Human racial in its place…

“Every Man for Himself”: Removes all movement impairing effects and all effects which cause loss of control of your character. This effect shares a cooldown with other similar effects.

also, a significant change to Shadowmeld…

“Shadowmeld: Activate to slip into the shadows, reducing the chance for enemies to detect your presence. Lasts until cancelled or upon moving. Any threat is restored versus enemies still in combat upon cancellation of this effect.”

Yes, it can be used in combat. Yes, the effect is very similar to what was previously “The Fall of Humanity”. The cooldown is 3 min.

So.. I’ll loose shadowmeld and gain shadow..feign? That’s.. interesting, I suppose? I do use shadowmeld on occasion even as a rogue, just to maintain some form of stealth while stealth cools down (yes, those terrible five seconds that will become the horrible four seconds with Wrath), but since stealth will be innate.. the loss won’t be that significant for me. Instead I get a form of feign death (vanish light?).. well I guess that’s useful for.. something. That said, it still says reducing the chance for enemies to detect your presence.. so it might still be stealth. ..just a more powerful stealth?

Hmm.. we’ll see what it’s like when it shows up. Still sounds like it might fluctuate alot no matter what.

As for the human racial, weeeeelll.. it’s not like it’ll affect me. But I can’t help but get a feeling of “Hah! Take That, Forsaken!”. No I’m not at all bitter from my brief stint as a Priest in PvP. What makes you think that?

Finally, a quote that I doubt people have missed but still worth mentioning:

The next major content patch is coming, and it’s big. In order to smooth the way, we will shortly enable background downloading of most of the data for this patch. People who use the Launcher and have background downloading enabled will automatically start getting the data. The Downloader downloads faster in general now, so you may want to adjust your background download settings. You can adjust these settings in the Laucher, by visiting the Options page. If you want the fastest possible download, check the “Don’t throttle background download”. However, note that this can affect the performance of other programs running at the same time.

Now if you’ll excuse me I need to go stare in a desiring manner at various peices of itemized delicacy that I’m being continously linked to 😉

1 Response to “Does this mean I’ll Shadowfeign?”


  1. 1 Thromgar
    September 11, 2008 at 09:46

    Hmmm..It seems that I have to stop playing for a little time in order to download…What a disaster! And my brain just exploded about the racial passives.


Leave a Reply

