25
Sep
08

Hani Foonmall revision (Wallpaper)

I’ve long been wanting to do another major revision of the 3D mesh I use for Hani Foonmall – in the time since the last revision I’ve made some progression in both model and texture editing and came up with a few new ideas on how certain problems could be solved better. With the as of writing this current issue of Beyond the Tree being #50 – a nicely even number – as it was approaching I decided it’d be an excellent time to try to sneak in said revision; especially with the characters being at an inn rather than in the middle of the wilderness.

I like to give a fully poseable mesh a trial run before I start using them significantly, so I did some toying around with the idea of what would be a very iconic Hani Foonmall pose and made a wallpaper out of it. A bit simplistic perhaps, but I think it serves well for a “sweet, I hit page #50!” thing.

I’m thinking about making a post later that goes over the actual differences between the two mesh revisions more in detail if I can come up with a good idea how to do so and what kind of differences to explicitly show. Failing that, this should show most of the obvious differences quite visibly ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 Responses to “Hani Foonmall revision (Wallpaper)”


  1. 1 Thrashalot
    September 25, 2008 at 11:05

    Very nice, as usual.

    To show the differences, perhaps you can show two wire frame renders?

    Did you start out with an exported model, or did you start from scratch?

  2. 2 Frostsaben
    September 26, 2008 at 15:17

    This is a great wallpaper, thank you for it and Happy 50th Beyond the Tree page!

  3. September 27, 2008 at 16:02

    i know it wil be annoying i even think you would skip my comment,but can you make a little guide about the hands i keep getting even worser then before ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. 4 Nhani
    September 28, 2008 at 00:06

    To be fair, I don’t think I could make a guide about how to make hands – mostly because there’s no definitive way I approach it or any particular method I use to edit them. I simply go by past experiences and try to build on that and it’s ever a work in progress that’s evolving as I go.

    There’s plenty of tutorials written by really skilled people about that describe how to model up human or humanoid characters – hands included. If you’re having a whole lot of difficulty that’s probably the easiest place to look, that’s how I caught up most of the ideas I base what I do on.

    I don’t think there’s any particular right way to do the hands – no matter what way you look at it, you’re going to try to take the low polygon hands Blizzard have in-game and try to add polygons so they’re more detailed, like taking them from a triangle shape to a quad shape or potentially more edges still. I think my latest revision has the fingers being six-edged, for example.

    And I always start from exported models so far, I couldn’t hope to match Blizzard’s ability in modelling and texturing at this point ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. 5 Raukangren
    September 28, 2008 at 11:50

    Jeesh, i wish the game itself had those models!!! =)
    Well done on half an epic run a.k.a 50 page ding! W00t! =D


Leave a Reply

