02
Oct
08

Set Fail for Sail

Seemingly finally managing to pinpoint this raging problem with crashes and bluescreens I’ve been having has – unfortunately – not seemed to put an end to my problems. Running on reduced memory is bad enough, my internet connectivity has also been suspect and unreliable at best. Couple this with an unnaturally busy week and you have the gist of my slew of excuses as to why there’s been a distinct lack of updates here lately.

There’s a silver lining: I got my bandwith back on the mobile broadband with the change of months, and I’m told the housing I’m in is planning to change ISP in the coming weeks since the present one is so unreliable. So I might actually end up with a decent, responsive adn unlimited internet in the near future. Here’s to hoping!

Moving on, there’s been a few rogue changes in the latest beta build 9014), but not much that I found all that interesting, I’ll list the talent changes for you, but I think either Parry! Dodge! Spin! or Random Ravings of Warcraft might be more fit to unravel the importance of either for the more.. conventional (read: not totally out of their mind) damage rogue.

  • Focused Attacks now gives 2 energy regardless of the rank.
  • Vitality increases your Energy regeneration rate by 8/16/25%. (Up from 3/6/10%)
  • Blade Twisting changed to : Increases the damage dealt by Sinister Strike and Backstab by 5/10%, and your damaging melee attacks have a 10% chance to Daze the target for 4 sec.
  • Aggression has been moved from Tier 5 to Tier 4. Now increases the damage done by Sinister Strike, Backstab, and Eviscerate abilities by 3/6/9/12/15%. (Up from 2/4/6/8/10%)
  • Glyph of Garrote – Reduces the duration of your Garrote ability by 3 sec and increases the total damage it deals by 20%. (Old – Increases periodic damage dealt by Garrrote by 45%, but decreases the duration by 3 sec.)
  • Glyph of Preparation – Decreases the cooldown of Preparation by 2 min. (Old – Your Preparation ability also instantly resets the cooldown of Blade Flurry, Dismantle, and Kick.)

The Garrote glyph I’ll likely be using regardless, so for me that’s not a very huge thing – the noteworthy part on my end would be the damage boosts to Sinister Strike, with there being some discussion between Sapphidia and I whether it or Hemorrhage would serve me best for combo point generation and threat output. Sinister Strike can be boosted much further, much quicker; even going heavy subtlety I could stack up a +12% damage boost easilly, along with a 10% chance to daze the target using it and the Sinister Strike glyph having a 40% chance of an added combo point on a critical hit. That said. Hemorrhage costs only 75% of Sinister Strike when fully boosted by talents – 30 energy compared to 40 – which is a pretty significant fact as well, doubly so with the gradual energy regeneration; In my own observation, I think the change to Vitality is very much there to make up for the energy cost of Sinister Strike compared to Hemorrhage.

Now don’t get me wrong – I like the Combat tree, some old favourite rogue talents are there and I gladly indulge in it as much as I can with talent points I have spare but.. trying to make the tankiest rogue possible with both avoidance and threat leaves me clinging tightly to Subtlety (nevermind my much-beloved Shadowstep/Blink). There’s a whole lot of fractions to balance to see just how far I can take my favoured role and how it’ll function in 3.0 and Wrath; there will be concessions, of course, but I’m really hoping I’ll be able to pull atleast off-tanking non-raid-boss foes as I am already. If anything, with complete melee immunity no longer being possible in Wrath, I just might be one of the most absurdly specced and focused rogues in the coming expansion, heh.

I finally got around to reinstalling the PTR and giving it a short spin for some numbers. My Threat Gear – the all-purpose damage / tanking outfit – went from 49.57% dodge to something closer to 41.27% while the Avoidance gear went from 57.92% dodge to a heartbreaking 46.70%. I get 3% avoidance back from the changes to Deflection and Quickness (+2% chance for enemies to miss, +1% extra chance to parry) but it’s not quite the numbers I’m used to now. That said, for Wrath I’ll have to consider itemization differently – right now I have things that say dodge rating – in Wrath I’ll likely ignore dodge rating in favour of defense rating and parry rating whenever possible. It still won’t be the kinds of numbers I have now, but I should be able to get a gear set that atleast puts me somewhere equivalent to having 50% dodge now. That would be enough, really – I’ve tanked several bosses in heroic dungeons and Karazhan with that (though some, like the Prince, I stacked a tad more avoidance, heh).

Wrath will be interesting still, of course. I’ve already started to pre-emptively hunt for achievements before 3.0 hits (I’m told it’s about two weeks until then) though I bet I’ll have a severe achievement addiction when the system goes live. This not to mention the changes to the storytelling aspects of World of Warcraft seems huge – reading up on Wrath quests have only made me more giddy to be there and experience it all myself.

I still have plans to make posts here both defining the Starwatch and mentioning a few things about cutting out content of Beyond the Tree, but that’ll have to wait. I’ll see about getting either done when I feel less busy – like said earlier, this week is somewhat crazy.

1 Response to “Set Fail for Sail”


  1. 1 Thorengard
    October 6, 2008 at 09:04

    Heh, personally I think the most interesting thing coming in Wrath are the massive changes to the Paladin class. Its nice to see Ret paladins owning people’s faces off. Also, nice comic! If ya happen to be on the Lich King beta server, I’d be happy to help you with stuff, or, for once, take someone other than another bloody deathknight to 10 man naxx.

    -Thorengard


Leave a Reply

