03
Nov
08

Redesigning Raene – a Wallpaper

WIth a new model revision usually comes a new wallpaper – a large render is often my ‘final test’ of whether a model is good enough for use or not – as a result I’ve been holding on to this wallpaper and just waiting until Raene was completely revealed in Beyond the Tree.

I actually made a direct decision to include Dagri – Raene’s wolf pet – in the wallpaper, seeing how I tend to forget his/her presence far too often in Beyond the Tree. I’m hoping to give Dagri more of a show in due time, but for now this’ll have to be enough.

Also, I’m aware the wallpaper might look a little odd on standard aspect (4:3) resolutions – it was actually designed to be wide due to the motif, so the standard aspect images are basically just cropped down horizontally. This contrasting to most of my wide screen wallpapers being vertically cropped down versions of the standard aspect images.. has to be one or the other.

4 Responses to “Redesigning Raene – a Wallpaper”


  1. 1 bbr
    November 3, 2008 at 09:48

    Nice outfit, though it does seem a tad blurry.

  2. 2 Nhani
    November 3, 2008 at 10:00

    If you mean the background, then I think I had to upscale it by.. eh.. alot, especially seeing how I run the game only at 1280×960 myself, and I think I only used part of a screenshot as backdrop. There’s unfortunately quite specific physical limits on how good backdrops I can get with limits on how powerful my graphics card is and what resolutions my monitor can handle.

    While I’d love to incorporate the backdrop into the actual render at some point so they’re all at the same resolution and working with the same light and shadow setting, it’s not something I know quite how to do, yet.

  3. 3 bbr
    November 3, 2008 at 12:44

    The background is to be expected, and not even t hat noticeable since the characters in the front are the main thing that will draw attention. But for example her ears, the weapon, the wolf’s foot, they seem to glow quite a bit. I know you’re trying to add a bit of glow to simulate the darnassus effect, but I wonder how it’d look if you didn’t.

  4. 4 Nhani
    November 3, 2008 at 14:12

    A little sharp and flat, probably. Not to mention the fact that the base textures I use are a limited resolution, and I don’t quite have the skill to scale them up while maintaining a level of detail. The whole Bloom layer helps in that sense too in that it hides that certain parts of the model are actually fairly low quality – especially things like the feet or the lower legs which have a rediculously low amount of pixels dedicated to them.

    If I actually had the ability to, the end result would likely stand to gain a great deal if I’d increased texture resolution some 2x or 4x, but that’s a quite a bit beyond my meager texturing skills.

    I’m still fiddling with how to best make the bloom effect to create some level of contrast and a gentle glow to things (like Bloom in games does) without making it too blurry, but I think blurry is the immediate result at the moment.


Leave a Reply

