03
Nov
08

Wallpaper: Bringing Light (to dark places)

No widescreen alternative this time around – I actually have a source render large enough that I could resample the thing for it, but until I actually have a machine with widescreen myself it seems a little wasted effort. I’ll look about putting one together if there’s a demand for one.

As the above may or may not suggest, I’ve been fiddling with another character model – this time of Nhani Moonfall, Hani Foonmalls’ significantly different namesake. With the Wowmodelviewer – though still quite buggy – reaching a point where it can export things, I’ve been playing around with it to see whether I could make something fitting for Nhani the character with Northrend gear – ultimately I didn’t manage to put together something that felt definitive: there’s plenty of things that look good, sure, but it’s too much bulky snow gear.

Not exactly fitting when trying to find an iconic appearance for a former Sentinel with a Priestess title.

So I decided to go the other way – focus on the Priestess of the Moon aspect a bit more and just knit in some bits of Sentinel, with the above result. She doesn’t look as warrior-esque as she usually does, but personally.. I think the outfit looks several forms of awesome.

I might make a model rundown later, though there’ll probably be more shows of it even if I don’t seeing how it’ll likely end up being the official out-of-game appearance for priestess Nhani Moonfall, so there’ll likely be the odd random render or contextual pose or whatnot.

The interesting thing to note is the skirt – it’s not perfect, but it’s poseable. This helps plow the way for figuring out how to do with Te’len’s skirt later, when I get to that model redesign.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go sulk over the fact that World of WarCraft has no Priestess of the Moon class.. and that in their absence, they don’t have gear looking like the above example.

6 Responses to “Wallpaper: Bringing Light (to dark places)”


  1. 1 Moltrazahn
    November 6, 2008 at 17:22

    Stop sultking! There are options for stuff like that! This may sound silly but go on a roleplaying server then! You can “pretend” to be something else then a chosen class, say instead of a paladin your a Harbringer if your a Draenei, or your an Assassin instead of a rogue or Merc instead of warrior, Many options that are only limited by the class “gear” really. So in your case, id say that.. hmm well follow Warcraft 3, either priest in wow for the healing stuff.. Or.. Druid balance for the end talent. And find some fancy looking stuff to wear… ANYWAYS i might be getting ahead of myself, you might be a “omg rp r nubs” person 😛 still id say never give up on ideas you like ^^

    The wallpaper itself is good, gives you that “adventure in a fantasy world” idea.. Rain/tunder outside, shelter in a crypt.. (feeling the shiver down your spine allready). Or as the title says, “im about to banish some souls nigga!” … *coughs* well.. maby.. or im just takeing it too far (again). AT ANY RATE, it does leave a certian impression on you, the shadow being dragged along the wall haveing a good impression. So yea good one id say ^^

  2. 2 Nhani
    November 6, 2008 at 17:37

    Oh I know I can pretend alright – it’s not without reason that Nhani Moonfall the character has been described (by others) as being the very epitome of Night elven priesthood.. while being the rogue class. I’ve done my best to live up to that role for almost four years now, with Nhani Moonfall first appearing on Earthen Ring EU – one of the two roleplaying servers available upon release in Europe – pretty much on release day. The problem isn’t about imagination or the act itself – it never was.

    The problem is that somewhere along the way, I want to feel like I have an in character hook even when not just “acting”, so to speak – when I just play the game, I want to feel like I can relate the way my character acts, looks and feels gameplay-wise to how I envision them acting as individuals. Ultimately, there isn’t any class that’ve made me feel very much like a Priestess of the Moon – resulting in that Nhani’s way of fighting is normally more aproximated by Sentinel or Warden mannerisms than what her title among the clergy would suggest.

    Nevermind that the above appearance is simply impossible to get in game.

    I have pushed the Priestess role already, and for Wrath I’ll keep pushing it – every so often there comes along a time when her role amongst the clergy just comes flowing out and there’s this great feeling of her having a place in the world and belonging just as much as any NPC does.

    I just wish I could actually maintain that angle while “just playing the game”, too – that the mental image I gave life in the picture above could be represented somewhat accurately in the actual game. Because the mechanics do matter, and if I can’t feel a character through their fighting in the game, then ultimately that character will fail for me. Nhani can still manage being more wardenesque, of course. But I kindof fell in love with the idea this particular character design gave, and now feel a distinct wish that I could bring it into use more than just in speech and art, but also in action.

  3. 3 Moltrazahn
    November 6, 2008 at 23:35

    Simply Awesome 🙂 pardon if i offended you then! you certianly speak your case well i do say, and to be accepted as a priestess while even playing a rogue. I must say its admireable, most people would just say “”your a rogue you cant be a priest”” so kodos for that 😀 And i can agree that the ability to create your char as one would say in a DnD world aint really present. So its great to see that some people are still doing a great job realiseing their ideas ^^

    Prehaps you will sometime illustrate this with your craft of animation and models. Im sure the fan-base would welcome it with open arms, i know i would ^^

  4. 4 Nhani
    November 7, 2008 at 06:15

    Oh I’ve heard quite a few variations on the whole “I see your class” malarky in all various forms, right down to people who shove a lockbox in your face without taking even a second to consider the present context. It certainly takes effort to try to ‘counter’ your class, Nhani having spent most of her life being a Sentinel before becoming a Priestess has given me some leeway there.

    There’s still a whole lot of people who don’t really seem to understand the line between Human and Night Elven clergies (nevermind them trying to understand either faith) – it’s occasionally been a source of annoyance for me personally how people with the Priest or Paladin classes are often universally accepted as their title no matter how contrary to their faith they are while people like I have to work twice as hard to even be acknowledged being the same.

    I’ve had people tell me they were suprised when they actually noticed my class said rogue though, so I’ll take that as a point of pride, heh.

    I’m not sure what I’ll be doing with the new Nhani Moonfall model yet – I’d love to revisit her in some graphical work like I did with Sunrise, but I’m not sure what kind of tales to tell with it. Nhani is far more ‘complete’ a character – and far more internal – than Hani is, finding an angle that’s interesting and just not self-indulgent is quite a bit harder.

    Oh and don’t worry, I’m not that easilly offended. 😉

  5. 5 Iasion
    November 7, 2008 at 08:23

    Well, the only suggestions I have that could help you achieve any sort of priestess thematic would be some of the new Argent Dawn trinkets available with the recent invasion. You can get a book that causes a holy nova, though I don’t know how practical replacing one of your current trinkets with that is.

  6. December 5, 2014 at 06:23

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a quick
    visit this webpage on regular basis to get updated from most up-to-date news.


Leave a Reply

