06
Nov
08

More Wallpapery Goodness

With Beyond the Tree having passed 500’000 total views (521’548 at the time of writing), it’s also way surpassed my expectations of it. You always hope what you make will be appreciated of course, but well.. it’s far from the most viewed and active ones, but to be fair I expected to be shrouded in obscurity and forgotten, especially since I’ve not exactly gone out of my way to shout out its presence just about everywhere. 😉

So I decided to make the above image. With all the shadow complexity, it took somewhere between 30 and 60 minutes to render, so don’t expect that kind of environment going in the actual comic for some time. I thought it’d be nice though, and with a relaxing theme – and rather character-ish.

8 Responses to “More Wallpapery Goodness”


  1. 1 Gismokvack
    November 6, 2008 at 12:34

    Wonderful as always, I myself started reading through these comics of yours from seeing it as a link on the world of warcraft web site. Maybe to say that I read the first to the final page along with Sunrise in the first day 🙂 Keep on the jolly good work, I cannot wait until the next sunday!

  2. 2 Moltrazahn
    November 6, 2008 at 13:22

    New wallpaper = 10/10

    *YOINKS*

  3. 3 Ninta
    November 8, 2008 at 10:03

    thisone is definatly win. amazing quality

  4. 4 Kai
    November 9, 2008 at 21:54

    Very cool!

    Hey how are you doing these comics? You’re clearly not useing the normal model viwer. Your juseing max for em right? I understand that for the models but how are you getting the world around done? screenshots? map iwer don’t work anymore with the last patch.

    Do tell you’re mighty secrets!

  5. 5 Nhani
    November 9, 2008 at 22:30

    3ds Max for the renders, yes. The backdrops are usually just regular screenshots coming from a rather expansive set of them I’ve gathered together – I occasionally spend time in World of WarCraft basically location scouting, looking around and taking screenshots I think could be used as backdrops for various scenes.

    Some cases – notably the Astranaar Inn last visit or the wallpaper above – I have the backdrops rendered too through some means or another. With the above image for example, the backdrop was initially a screenshot straight down while jumping which I then used as a texture so it’d recieve shadows and angles correctly (and got bump and specular maps).

  6. 6 Kai
    November 10, 2008 at 22:24

    That is so cool. 😛 I like working in max myself (I just suck at rigging @.x, don’t help I’m useing v7). How did you extract all the characters? When I do it I get the bare model with no hair. I’ve just been wanting to do my own comic and had a simulator idea as you, useing max to pose the models instead of useing model viwer. But the issues stands, getting the characters extracted, with the gear/hair/weps they use along with rigging it so I don’t get body parts moving that shouldn’t be or deformed joints.

  7. 7 Nhani
    November 11, 2008 at 10:50

    Oh I just export them via modelviewer for most part, gives me full set textures and such too so it’s generally the easiest way I’ve found. Some things have to go a longer way, but that’s mostly just hunting around for all manner of utilities that allow it.

    Modelviewer tends to give the model in a very segmented fasion, so there’s some work generally involved in fusing it back together, however. But beyond that, it’s the easiest way I know of.

  8. 8 Kai
    November 12, 2008 at 15:05

    Hmm.. I’ll have to try that…. when a full working version of model viewer comes about. ^^;

    Although most tutorials I’ve looked at show it exporting into milkshape and then into max. That, sorta sucks in my book and the 30 day trial only lasts, well….so long >.>

    Still suck at rigging. >.>;;;;

    HEY! Maybe you could post up some ‘bare’ models that are rigged for people to play with. ^^;;;; ahe. :3


Leave a Reply

