27
Nov
08

Beyond Level 80 – Catching Up

Due to my having gone from playing primarily a rogue in the latter parts of Burning Crusade to playing a priest(ess) in Wrath of the Lich King and being a fairly dedicated leveller, I found myself in rather great demand as a healer for heroic instances. Clinging very tightly to the Discipline talent tree, healing is by default my place in instances so I don’t mind it per se – but there’s been a few moments where things have been feeling rather hectic and there’s been times when I’ve felt like there’s been question when exactly I’m going to have time to catch up on everything.

It has been nice, though, to actually feel useful. I can’t just be swapped out for bugger all source of damage or feel awkward about how everyone and their pet Baby Blizzard Bear have more area range damage than I. I can even unholster the Holy Nova if I feel so inclined.

I’ve actually done a complete swap for characters – I went as far as having Nhani the Rogue temporarily deleted so I could get a name change for Nhani the Priestess to keep the Nhani name. I got the rogue reinstated the day after, but I had her renamed to something completely different and changed her appearance fairly radically to keep the character herself consolidated down into a single avatar.

I don’t want anything to keep me anchored in the past – I want to embrace this development completely and not feel like I have to return because of some random, inane reason. I have the option to return if I ever feel the want, or need, to. But I don’t have to. It’s been a rather organic change as the character has developed up to this point, and at the moment it really does feel rlght.

It brings problems, of course – the rogue was where I’d consolidated resources pre-Wrath and thus is the one with all the achievements, the acomplishments and the maxed professions. Catching up on things and reclaiming things like the Hippogryph, the Winterspring Frostsaber and other such details will take time – I’m fine with the loss really, but I realize I’ll need time and effort to assemble what I’ve lost – to the extents possible in the very least. I have plans for it, mind you, if loose ones – a rough idea of priority and soforth.

I’ve found that the resource requirements for tailoring – for one – are rather zany. Trying to obtain the Moonshroud robe – for appearance if not for look – also means I’m lacking 9 skill points to get one (as it requires 440 skill). I’ve noted with some amusement that the Naxxramas 10-man Faith robe is far more easy to obtain via Emblems of Heroism than the tailoring robe is – and I believe the faith one is actually superior for pure numbers. (and doesn’t look half bad, either)

Mounts and Loremaster achievements can wait – I’ll prioritize looking decent while doing it first.

1 Response to “Beyond Level 80 – Catching Up”


  1. 1 Arthlol
    November 30, 2008 at 12:32

    Good choice. Priest has always been the superior class – simply because of the sheer awesomeness of our robes / shoulder pads ❤


Leave a Reply

