11
Dec
08

a Penance for your Thoughts

I’ve really come into the Priestess class over time; looking at the only rogue the group has now – both in terms of fasion and avoidance.. I can’t help but think that I really made the right decision. I haven’t tried myself, of course, but rogue avoidance really seems to have gone utterly out the window.

I can’t see myself having been anything but outraged at the added squishyness. Priestesses are, of course, hardly the icon of durability, but between the rather powerfully specced shield and self healing, I’m managing well enough soloing along the way. And I can feel rather assured that I bring something useful to a group whenever I’m in one.

I do envy the awesome soloing melee prowess of Death Knights every so often, but I am where I’m supposed to be, I think. Atleast for the very present. With the hunt for achievements and the way the storytelling in Wrath happens.. I don’t think I want to do it all over again with a new character really. Nhani’s gone through all those challenges now, faced all the great foes and gone on to greater obstacles. Going through it all again would be.. well.. silly.

I haven’t quite figured out what to do about Burning Crusade reputation achievements yet – what’s the most convenient way of approaching them. It’s not very high on my list of priorities, but it’s somewhere on there eventually. While I’m aware that, for example, it’d be much easier to dig up my old rogue – which I now refer by her new name, Thanea, rather than as Nhani – to hunt hibiscus for Sporeggar reputation, I’d prefer it if I could just use Nhani. I don’t want to log on to other characters at all – it’s a very strong compulsion to stick with just one.

Having had my Moonshroud robe for awhile, Nhani’s gained a very impressive appearance. She seems to be far less holding back now – there’s just this radiant quality to her that she’s always had, but only really started nurturing now. I haven’t had much character interaction since Northrend, mind you, but I’m sortof interested in what it’ll end up being like. I expect now with my Northrend questing spree done with (finally got the last Northrend quests over with just yesterday) I might actually declare Nhani’s initial purpose in Northrend over, with her going back to her mobile, ever travelling position. Then again, I’m not sure where High Priestess Whisperwind might have the most use of her.

It’d be somewhat presemptuous to have Nhani stand on duty in the Temple next to Tyrande, no matter how suitable I may or may not think it’d be.

There’s still plenty of things left to do, of course – reputation grinds for one thing: the Sons of Hodir being the most lengthy one due to the multitude of daily quests and their comparably low reputation yield. The naming of said quests could, however, be considered somewhat questionable: to endear ourselves to the Sons of Hodir we Thrust Hodir’s Spear, Blow Hodir’s Horn and Polish Hodir’s Helm. I feel sullened.

Atleast the Oracles are nice, though I can’t decide whether I prefer Lafoo or Jaloot.

In closing, I was just told that MMO-Champion made a post about the 3.0.8 PTR patch. It has a few interesting notes to it – Levitate and Slow Fall can be cast on other people now, with some interesting implications. Mana Burn operates on a percentage of max mana – which makes me curious how exactly they’ve balanced it against NPCs with some of them having over a hundred thousand mana.

Some other helpful points would be “Tapping: All player spells which cause a creature to become aggressive to you will now also immediately cause the creature to be tapped.” – no more need to wait for first tick when pulling with Shadow Word: Pain and such things, and then there’s this one: “Racial restrictions on mounts have now been lifted. Night elves on mechanostrider? Tauren on raptor? You’re not seeing things.”. Night elves on mechanostriders? Hilarious!

Oh and this: “Increased the critical strike rating granted by ranks 5 and 6 of Master of Anatomy.”. More crit, I wants it.

3 Responses to “a Penance for your Thoughts”


  1. December 12, 2008 at 08:51

    I found this picture on your blog, I was wondering if I caould use it to illustrate a post of my own. http://beyondthetree.files.wordpress.com/2008/05/gnome-death-knight.jpg

    I like your blog as well. You write well and good. I’ll be following it.

  2. 2 Nhani
    December 12, 2008 at 09:11

    Sure, by all means, go right ahead. As I recall, with that particular image another webpage already put it to use once anyhow – without asking (though they did link back with it, so I can’t complain too much!), so asking first is appreciated!


Leave a Reply

