01
Jan
09

Wallpaper: Hani, Tiny and a Cat

When Tiny was comenting on the duo’s lack of a riding cat, the above was probably not what she meant.

I’ve been spending a fair bit of time lately looking at revising the models for the Beyond the Tree primary cast, incorporating the most recent model and skeleton upgrades and whatnot. I still have a few more left I’m hoping to do before I need to focus on other tasks, but we’ll see how far I can get there. Te’len Nila in particular I’m hoping to have done before we encounter her again, which will be awhile of course, but it’s nice not to have it while occupied with a whole ton of other things on my mind.

In this particular case, I decided to give Rei Tiny a much belated revision, both changing her outfit around to get rid of a few pet peeves, as well as upgrading her face, hands and overall skeleton with the tweaks I’ve been introducing with revision 3 of Hani Foonmalls’ model. Deciding I wanted to give it a test run, I more or less spitballed the above idea and it built up into a whole scene with background and all.

Overall, I wanted Tiny’s new look to seem a tad simpler and more in tune with her size, specially to the point where one might imagine that her clothes were made to size rather than having shrunk with her. Beyond that, I wanted to get rid of any combat emphasis; while we rarely see Tiny in close up enough detail to notice, the old outfit she had based on the Assassination armour due to her namesake character, which has become less and less appropriate as Tiny’s been developing off on her own path. The presence of really tiny throwing knives on her old outfit was completely off and didn’t really fit the character or her past at all, so one of the main areas of focus with her redesign was to get rid of that.

I really like her new look a whole lot, it both makes her more distinct compared to Hani due to bare shoulders, while maintaining the rather dark colours to contrast with Hani’s usually brighter palette. Same way, I tried to spend some extra time looking so Tiny could sit properly – since she spends nearly all her time sitting on Hani’s shoulder, she needs to be able to sit somewhat properly.

2 Responses to “Wallpaper: Hani, Tiny and a Cat”


  1. 1 Moltrazahn
    January 3, 2009 at 04:22

    Would be amuseing if Tiny got a kitten/cat while Hani got a nightsaber *chuckles* Also i like Hanis look at Tiny. I could see the two in a situation like this really πŸ˜›

    Very nice work πŸ™‚

  2. 2 BBR
    January 11, 2009 at 22:32

    Ha thats cool, mini saber.


Leave a Reply

