06
Jan
09

Dragon Poking and Story Telling

Onyxia is hardly the challenge she once was intended to be – there were people soloing her in Burning Crusade already, so annihilating her solo at level 80 isn’t a very ground-breaking feat. Still, it’s one of those acomplishments that put me at ease with my class choice, since I sometimes really wish I was more durable. I rather envy Paladins in that regard, which can tank and heal, and who seem to have slightly wider options in combat than “hide behind someone else or die.”

I like healing, mind you, but every so often, something – often either elites or pvp – will remind me that my ability to soak or otherwise avoid damage is somewhat limited – and dispellable. I was actually ambushed by a troll enhancement Shaman while briefly beign Pvp-toggled due to doing an initial Silithyst quest for the Loremaster achievement. I was actually suprised to realize that when the dust settled, it was actually her and not me that was warming the sandy desert floor.

That said, I find most battlegrounds are simply a game of hiding behind the front line or die horribly.

So, Onyxia. On suggestion that she should be killable for me too, I gave it a try. In the end there was no real problem except for the time taken – roughly 42 minutes, with my describing phase two as Onyxia “trying to bore me to death”. I played it very safely and defensively, taking as few risks as possible. WIth the lair resetting overnight, I’ll likely make another attempt tomorrow and this this time burning loose with cooldowns and everything. I’m hoping to cut the time taken down significantly. It’s nice, in the end, to be able to do things like that, especially with the knowledge that I couldn’t as a rogue due to no healing. Though I’ll still envy paladins, it’s nice to get a feeling that sometimes, I can, too.

If one thing, I’m rather happy about the gear issue – the ten man Faith set is absolutely gorgeous, and I simularely have a love for the Moonshroud-ish look. If the speculated sets for Ulduar end up being the ones actually in use, i’m quite hoping to be able to amass that too once Ulduar is released, as I very much love the look of it.

Last few days have been.. interesting.. as far as Beyond the Tree goes – I’ve had a rather wide and diverse series of input on; some reasonable, some not. More than before, I’ve really gotten to see the huge difference in how people read it – some taking everything at face value and then blaming the story and context for how that conclusion deviates from their own view of Warcraft in general, while others read the differences as character points and use that to take in the various hints, nudges and subtext that is thrown around just about everywhere.

I had a great moment earlier where I was shown one particular interpretation someone’d made and while it wasn’t what I had I’d intended, I absolutely loved reading it since it made me think – what if this was the case, what’d be the potential – or the repercussions – of that and if that’s a possible interpretation.. should it be endorsed or not, should I put effort into trying to keep it possible or just let it go. Ultimately, the great thing about it is that very few things are really set in stone – unless something is spelled out in clear text, much is open for interpretation.

And I really do enjoy seeing people trying to figure it out and coming to conclusions, even if it’s not always the conclusion I intended. Which also expresses why it’s somewhat depressing to see some people not read beyond what’s blatantly obvious and not reading the characters themselves – I do like to think that atleast a sizeable chunk of my reader base is up to catch what’s going on and what that might mean.

Ultimately, I think Beyond the Tree is the kind of story you need to go places with yourself as you read it for it to come to its full right – just taking it word for word at face value will leave half of it – or more – hidden and ignored. I’d like to think it challenges a reader to try to figure it out, to find the hints and nudges, to try to predict where it’s going and why. You can’t just sit down and have it serve you, you have to go into its world yourself to truly experience it.

2 Responses to “Dragon Poking and Story Telling”


  1. 1 Iasion
    January 8, 2009 at 08:18

    Several points… *puts nerd glasses on*

    Shaman are at the bottom of the barrel right now as far as pvp goes, almost as far down as hunters, warlocks, and s. priests. Poor thing probably thought she could have the upper hand by getting the jump. And pvp right now is nuts anyway. A lot of it right now is all about who can burst quickly and who has the best forms of mitigation. Try to take refuge near your local pally and DK and pray a rogue doesn’t find you. ;p

    As for your envy for the paladin, it does seem like it would be more appropriate for the character you seem to gravitate towards. But NE will likely never see such a thing (unless another expansion introduces it). If you like the tall beautiful races, then Draenei will probably be your best bet.

    Not to sound like I’m encroaching on your creative processes or anything, but a Draenei pally might be a fun character to see in the comic every now and then. With your personal interest in the class, it might be an interesting way to surface Nhani and T’s apparent displeasure with them, which I’m still curious about.

  2. 2 Moltrazahn
    January 8, 2009 at 10:09

    I find both your battle with Ony and “Realiseation” of how the comic brings interesting topics/minds into play with fans great! Its allways fun to see the artist grow with the comic and the comic with the artist. I know i might to takeing it to a higher level then what you ment, however the point is there to be spotted, and its a fair one.

    As for in the comic… Id love to see a Paladin and Deathknight constantly being together and nagging eatch other even more then Hani and Tiny 😛 just so they could look at each other after the encounter and go “we’re not like…” – “no… No were not” – “good, just checking”

    At any rate, Good work on ony! try Zul’Gerub now! 🙂


Leave a Reply

