10
Feb
09

More Areen for All

Rather than doing things I probably should have been doing instead, I spent a fair bit of yesterday laying out the biped skeleton for the Areen model, and had a false start at facial morphs that unfortunately had to be purged since there was a rather fatal error I’d done around the vertices for her mouth where upper and lower lip was fused at one location. So, after having fixed any latent issues I could find in the model itself, rigged it to the skeleton again.. I set out to get all the morphtargets redone. As they have been.

While it’s certainly no news that gnomes are rather short, plump and stocky in their build – it wasn’t until I tried testing with the skeleton that it really occured to me just how short their limbs are. Compared to night elves (or even humans, for that matter), there’s a world of difference comparing what poses are possible and not. It adds a great deal of personality to the way Areen’ll simply have to be moving in, but it’ll definitely take some getting used to.

In the end, she will be able to swing a sword and a shield without problem, so that much is sorted. I do think she looks highly adorable, which lends a very different impression to her compared to that of the rest of the cast so far. I actually really like the overall look of gnomes, and if there was an item like the Orb of the Sin’dorei but made you a gnome instead of a blood elf, I’d hijack some fellow Yelnenubs and beeline for it. One of my regrets in WoW so far is not having been able to stick to a gnome character consistently enough due to issues with character and class mechanics. Eventually having Areen pop up around Beyond the Tree would in the least be some consolation there.

7 Responses to “More Areen for All”


  1. 1 Arafor
    February 11, 2009 at 09:28

    Ah, the reason I never was able to play as Alliance, I go berserk whenever I see a gnome ^^

  2. 2 Muffiny
    February 11, 2009 at 11:20

    The pic with everyone on Hani is awesome.

  3. 3 Ellessar
    February 13, 2009 at 09:18

    Have to agree with Muffiny, that pic is very funny, especially Hani’s expression is brilliant.

  4. February 15, 2009 at 17:58

    Would you, by any chance, be introducing Areen into the main storyline? Just think of the comedic potential at Tiny’s expense from a gnome of all people. It’d be great! 😀

  5. 5 Nhani
    February 15, 2009 at 18:22

    Oh I’m intending to – that’s the entire point of why I’ve given some looks of her already since I mentioned somewhere in the comments that I’m adding a gnome to the cast eventually. It’ll still be something along the lines of.. uhm.. three months or so? She’s got her own part to play in diversifying the cast though, and hopefully providing a few new ideas and mindsets that we haven’t gotten much of yet.

    I have alot of hopes for what I’ll be able to get out of her, both in terms of visuals and characterization.

    Plus, it spares me some regrets about not having been able to fall for a gnome character in the actual game, in spite of a few tries.

  6. 6 BBR
    March 21, 2009 at 12:48

    Your gnome definitely looks a lot better than the ones we have ingame.

    Good expression in the first frame 😛

  7. January 2, 2011 at 07:54

    Flipping back through all your Thoughts for Food, this was a good find. Thank you for uploading these. 🙂


Leave a Reply

