23
Feb
09

Hani and Tiny: Origins

So i randomly stumbled on this particular idea today and liked it enough to give it a try. Both images are at 2048×1536 resolution (click on them for the large version!), so you’ll have to scale or crop them to whatever you want yourselves at preent (though Windows should be able to scale it properly itself for any true 4:3 aspect resolution). I’ll elaborate a little after the actual images themselves, though right now I’d like to state already – since I know I try to keep my reader base highly trained for sniffing out any shred of hint I offer – that in spite of some model and texture reuse, the only characters we’ve actually encountered in these images are Hani and Tiny themselves; that includes the woman in the Tiny picture that blatantly stole most of Raene’s model and textures wholesale.

Right! With that out of the way, on to teh Pickshuars.


One of things I like about working with the duo is that I actually have their characters and pasts are rather well defined, in spite of gaps and how little I tend to mention openly. There’s a whole lot of space there to elaborate on, and I am hoping to find more excuses to dwelve into it because I find it interesting to trace who they were and how they grew up into who they are now. Though the ways it happened might not always be readilly apparent, I do try to structure it so the characters – Hani and Tiny in particular – are largely the result of the path they’ve travelled thus far.

To give atleast some things away, the characters in the pictures are (for Hani) Hani Foonmall followed by her slightly older and less adventurous sister, and (for Tiny) Rei Tiny and her mother; it’s worthwhile to note that she hasn’t always carried the name “Tiny”. The motives themselves aren’t any ground-shattering events, but rather just a glimpse to show the contrast between their origins and to give some idea of what they’ve been like, once.

As for the backdrop for Hani – yes, she’s from Nighthaven. I do have a reasoning for it – back with the first Warcraft RPG sourcebook, before they added Teldrassil, Nighthaven was listed as the main Night elven city (essentially what Darnassus is now). Of course, that sourcebook had some other rather peculiar statements like how it assumed the Eastern Kingdoms were completely overrun with scourge, but I’ve always taken it as a suggestion that up until recently, Nighthaven was a major Night elven city until most were relocated to the safety of Teldrassil and Nighthaven instead became majorly a druid settlement. I’m not sure how canonicall valid it is for WarCraft in gneeral, but it’s always seemed like a sensical approach to me, so I felt it sounded like a fitting home city for her.

As for the image scale, that’s simply the size I use for rendering images I use for wallpapers. If there’s a demand, I might play with cutting and resizing to create the regular range of 4:3 and widescreen resolutions for wallpaper usage.

14 Responses to “Hani and Tiny: Origins”


  1. 1 Arafor
    February 23, 2009 at 09:10

    Aww, tiny was so cute when she was… erm, I guess technically… bigger.

  2. 2 Illidan
    February 23, 2009 at 16:52

    Wow, great job on the child models of Tiny and Hani’s sister, but I don’t really like the child model of Hani, looks a bit like a boy.
    So, are we going to encounter Hani’s sister soon?

  3. 3 Raz
    February 23, 2009 at 20:02

    Tiny looks so alone. I kind of feel pity for her.

  4. 4 Nhani
    February 24, 2009 at 00:27

    The interesting thing here is that for all intents and purposes, all three use the same model except for hairstyles and the fact that Hani has pants. Of course.. they’re all based on the human boy model in game, so there’s only so much space for gender differences.

    As for meeting any of them.. it’ll be awhile, unfortunately. Though they might have the odd passing mention, I don’t think we’ll have time to see the family of either of the primary cast until sometime in Arc Two. It doesn’t help that neither Hani nor Tiny tend to speak much of the past. Part of why I wanted to get this done now – I like working with the space, even when the current going situation doesn’t provide much opening for it.

  5. 5 Moltrazahn
    February 24, 2009 at 22:40

    Woah, not only did you grant me 2 wishes but you also made it look good.

    Wish 1: Nightelf children

    wish 2: bit more background on the two

    Both, im very pleased at… Woah i really cant say much, the pitures talk so much for themselves.

    Thanks for makeing these, i really really like them!

  6. March 5, 2009 at 23:20

    Very nice pictures,..
    They look so cute as kids 🙂

    But Tiny looks so sad and alone 😦
    She needs a hug

    i hope you`ll show us some more glimpses of their past.

  7. 7 Nhani
    March 6, 2009 at 08:27

    I do hope to sneak some into the continuity of the actual comic itself, though I might fiddle in more things here if ideas come to me. I do like the depth of the characters, so getting space to express it tends to be interesting.

  8. 8 WoWplayer
    March 11, 2009 at 22:07

    you could use the female BE kid model for them as children to make them look more like girls

  9. 9 Nhani
    March 11, 2009 at 22:27

    Well appart from noting where the skirt comes from (actually human female children in this case, but regardless) – I actually don’t think it’d help. The models between the male and the female children have very few differences and the only real reason we think of the boys as boys and girls as girls is due to hair, clothing and facial textures; in this case the facial textures are identical, so I’m inclined to believe that the reason we percieve the child version of Hani as boyish is because she’s dressed in what we generally consider a boyish fasion, and has short hair.

    Interestingly eonugh, the first time I used the child model I made (oh some months back, results should be in the blog history), I recall someone refered to the child (with shorts rather than trousers, in that case) as a girl, while in that case I’d actually intended it as a boy. So I think it’s largely about context and expected appearances.

  10. 10 Xelios Morningsun
    April 10, 2009 at 06:59

    Night elf children! *cheers at the brilliant artist that is Nhani*

    Blizzard, take note!

    That’s awesome, Nhani! With each new comic you never cease to amaze no matter how many times we see roughly the same thing. You always add bits and pieces that always manage to catch my attention. ^_^

  11. 11 saila
    April 12, 2009 at 14:12

    only me or dose i ge an small legend of Zelda Kokori forest kid fealing from Hani
    and how come that tiny got smaller/shorter by ago.. unknown potions.

  12. April 15, 2009 at 15:40

    Hi !

    I just found out about your blog and loved it ! Read the whole comics.

    I love those little night elf models. That’s why I comment this subject an not the last one you posted… It’s funny because a few weeks ago, I wrote a little story for an RP game on my guild’s forum. I just put it on my new blog now that the contest is over. It was a story about my two main characters childhood, my night elf twin sisters. (You can have a look if you can read French…)

    Those little night elf are exactly how I imagine my characters as children. Hani and her sister especially ring a bell. Nefernet my hunter is the adventurous one, always running in the wild, observinf animals and the timid and albinos and fragile Neferna follows her everywhere, because she’s so curious about everything. She ended up a healing druid.
    And take Hani’s picture, change the wooden sword to a bow, put her darker green hair and you got Nefernet. Put white skin and white hair to the little sister and you got Neferna.
    And they’re just so cute…

    I’m not used on RPing and I’m not on a RP server at all but I like having a story for my characters. And I love Night Elves. Thank you so much for this story, I will go on following Hani and Rei adventures. And what you can do with models is amazing !

    Grats and thanks again,
    Nef

  13. 13 Nex
    April 16, 2009 at 15:19

    hey, i’m actualy a high school student sending you this from within one of my classes. I must say, i Really enjoy your story, such an amazing story, i cant keep from reading, and these character models are amazingly done, Great job

  14. September 10, 2011 at 04:48

    Hey!,I love the photo’s of Rei. And I do believe that’s her mother in the door way(It took me a while to notice her cause I thought it was Hani with purple hair) :3.rei is my favorite character ever!


Leave a Reply

