24
Apr
09

Random Raene Render Revised

Hopefully this’ll quell the influx of wishes and ideas for this particular image, because quite frankly – I’m running out of ideas on how to keep writing the title using only words starting with the letter R! *cough*

The conversion wasn’t as difficult as I first expected actually – all thanks to the hue and saturation layer types. The most fiddly bit was hijacking the new Darnassus tabard and making the front shield out of that emblem instead (and yet you hardly even see it!). The biggest downside is that now when I finally managed to obtain an in-game bike mount of my own (special thanks to Menerith for the assembly), I kindof wish I could have this colour scheme rather than the one available to me in the game.

For some random added context, both of the two Bike Raene renders came out of Sapphy once remarking to me her impression of Raene Wolfrunner being the Night elven equivalent of a “tough biker chick”. For some reason, it struck a chord somewhere. Additionally, where the motif of the prior one was inspired by a particular promotional image for Final Fantasy 7, this one takes inspiration from the cover of Lucasarts most excellent game Full Throttle.

5 Responses to “Random Raene Render Revised”


  1. 1 Arafor
    April 24, 2009 at 09:55

    “Oh how I love this bike, how I love the smooth metal of the steering wheel. I could stare at it all day long”

    *Dog barks loudly*

    “What do you MEAN with ‘you’re suppose to watch the road, not the bike, you know’?”

  2. 2 Ilyara
    April 24, 2009 at 11:45

    Okay. So much love. Really, *so much* ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. 3 Elveswarrior
    April 24, 2009 at 21:01

    doesnt get better now! got nothing to remark og even complain about 5 stars for that and a new wallpaper for my labtop ^^

  4. 4 Messai
    April 24, 2009 at 22:37

    Amazing job 🙂 You even managed to paint it in Darna colours 😀

  5. 5 Frostsaben
    April 26, 2009 at 14:54

    I must say both wallpapers are great, I simply love them, especially the first one because of how Raene’s face looks there.
    In this one the wolf looks scared, he probably doesn’t feel the need for speed… actually, he looks terrified, but I still like it!


Leave a Reply

