29
Apr
09

I always wanted a Kitten like..

There’s times when Blizzard’s artistic direction very much split from what I’d personally want to see – night elven mounts, the great saber cats, certainly apply. Though I’m not entirely fond of the odd purplish colour it has, I rely heavilly on a Winterspring Frostsaber simply because it’s a night elven saber cat mount that is both swift and lacks armour. If I could simply obtain a regular striped nightsaber or striped frostsaber in swift editions, I’d likely be using either of those instead.

Which brings us to these sets of doodles – a rather hasty kitbash of what kind of swift saber cat mount I would like, just for the fun of it.

The main focus was largely along the lines of what I mentioned earlier about the bike mount – some kind of travel sensibility. Adding in a backpack, a bedroll and a quiver (other side) makes it less of a short range transporation mount and more of a travel one – a mount that carries all those things in your inventory, that has the necessary things to set up camp for the evening. A mount that isn’t just a rented vehicle that takes you from A to B, but a companion that carries your stuff around, that’s there as your mobile home on legs.

So far, the only mounts that are really like that (to my knowledge) is the Motorbikes and the Gyrocopters – both carrying backpacks, bedrolls and several other things, with the Gyrocopter having an added toolbox and the bike going so far as having a map and a compass. I really wish there were more alternatives towards that end, especially non-engineery-y ones; not just swift war mounts of massive Reth, but swift travel mounts of going somewhere.

Short version: Swift travel cat; Blizzard, gief nau!

7 Responses to “I always wanted a Kitten like..”


  1. 1 Elveswarrior
    April 29, 2009 at 19:16

    the aprils fool with “pimp my mount” in a MUCH more realistic version would be super nice since i agree with you that the mounts lack a survival kit and a more personal touch to my saber would be lovely

  2. 2 Ilyara
    April 30, 2009 at 11:38

    That looks soo good! Do want! :<

    Did you deliberately shrink her though? The mount seems a little small (maybe it’s just the cool, if different riding position: wish Blizzard would do something neat and characterful like this too.

    Moon Priestess power! \o/

  3. 3 Nhani
    April 30, 2009 at 11:45

    In theory I actually scaled her up – I think I made her some 10-20% larger than the base model size. That said.. Blizzard might very well have a model scale modifier applied to the mounts in game, and that could well be larger than the scale I applied. Simplest answer is that I actually don’t know.

    But yes, do want indeed!

  4. 4 Moltrazahn
    April 30, 2009 at 12:37

    It reminds me of the Vanilla wow mounts for the Nightelven race. They were basicly armourless mounts with nothing like glowing eyes or such, just a basic nightsabre with a blanket-saddle. However those along with the white sattion horse, the white raptor and 1 or 2 others were taken out of the game. While i agree on that it would be cool, my favorite mount of all time was the white raptor… it was taken out around 1 month after lauch or such, and is more rare then even Ashes of alar (think thats the name).

    http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-11/505847/full2.jpg found a google screeny of it.

    But back to the case at hand, the Pimp my mount idea was great, i hope that somewhen blizz have made somuch game content that they are lacking ideas, they will start makeing stuff like that (maby not with machineguns and rocket boosters) but atleast to a strech.

  5. 5 Messai
    April 30, 2009 at 18:27

    i really don’t like it that my cat is al armoured and stuff. it’s my means of travel and if i’m in a mood to harass my friends with some RP it’s also my companion :p

    i do like your render 🙂 both because it shows a night elf in a nice robe, and the tiger is like how i want it to be, i’m a hunter so i want a quiver on my tiger! and a bedroll.. cos hunters, we look down on civilised places ;p

    Please Blizzard,

    Gief us a pimp-my-mount option with stuff like backpacks,quivers and bedrolls.. maybe even a compass 😄

  6. May 2, 2009 at 16:50

    My orc hunter has wolf mounts with packbacks behind the saddle

  7. 7 Zeenaa of Arygos
    May 24, 2009 at 22:34

    I would be nice if Blizzard would allow us to buy mount accessories, or allow us to remove the armor and such. My first cat mount was the white striped Saber cat as pictured above and would have liked to have had the same cat in swift form. Maybe some day Blizzard will take the time to focus more on mount details.


Leave a Reply

