28
Jul
09

Hani rev 4 – a different look on

I’ve not made much progress on modelling as of late – finding myself finally having the time to get things done, I’ve spent said time not getting anything done really; just relishing in actually having the time to do things. All that said, with having had some time to acclimate myself to Hanis’ rev 4 model, I’ve spent some time just fiddling around with it and see what kind of poses and visuals I can swing with it.

Which brings us to this set – Hani is generally portrayed as very plain and practical; she’s meant to come across more as unsettling and intimidating than pretty, sexy or cute. So.. trying to come up with a look that both properly show off her rev 4 physique and provide her with an impression that could be considered sexy that still maintained the feeling of practicality and the sense that it wasn’t something deliberate on her part eventually led to this result.

I set my mind early on something that looked rather sporty, creating the impression that it isn’t something she wears for looks but for practicality – something she can move and train in and feel comfortable wearing that isn’t as warm or heavy as her tunic is. While the visual intention is, of course, to show off her physique, I wanted that to seem mostly like an unintentional side effect; as Hani put practicality first and didn’t put much thought in appearance beyond her own personal colour aesthetics.

The initial tests actually had the top being black, but I changed it to match the orange/brown-ish colour scheme most of her clothing is – it simply struck me as more fitting. It’s not a new texture per se – just a heavilly altered one; there’s enough of the base look left that I think people can make educated guesses as to its origin.

I actually don’t know whether I’ll ever end up using this particular alternate texture or not – I really like how it came out in the end, but Hani’d still need a reason why she’d chose to wear it at a particular time. WIth the group spending most of their time travelling, the armour is usually the most convenient thing to wear. Still, sometimes it’s fun just to play around with alternate appearances and test around with how characters can be expressed.

9 Responses to “Hani rev 4 – a different look on”


  1. 1 Arafor
    July 28, 2009 at 10:52

    She could always use it for sleeping in or something. Armour usually is uncomfortable for those not use to it and uncomfortable for anyone to try and sleep in.

  2. 2 Ilyara
    July 28, 2009 at 11:28

    I think it’s a good backup for anytime she may want to cool off after lifting logs, bathe under a waterfall, go swimming, arm wrestle, that kind of thing ^_-

    Sleeping too, though I recall she prefers to take her top off for that anyway.

  3. 3 Aries
    July 28, 2009 at 13:06

    you said it yourself, “something she can move and train in and feel comfortable wearing that isn’t as warm or heavy as her tunic is.” Being the warrior type that she is, i am certain she practices during some down time. Perhaps late at night before sleep, or early in the morning before the others are awake.

  4. 4 Illidan
    July 28, 2009 at 18:33

    I love this look, it looks a bit like my jogging outfit(only difference is that I’m male… :D)

  5. 5 Maiev
    July 28, 2009 at 23:03

    I can vouch for the fact: I have a similar top myself as well. For jogging.

  6. 6 TheNic
    July 29, 2009 at 18:50

    indeed it is fitting for her as a training outfit, also as a relaxing outfit, just a note, the way I see it in the last pic, it looks quite “loose” on her ((the top)) and in the rest it is like a sports bra, and in the last pic it is hanging, might be my eye sight, but just a point out, otherwise nice work

  7. 7 TheNic
    July 29, 2009 at 18:52

    by the way, I like the facts that in these pictures you can see Hani somewhat careless, in the series we always see her stressed out with something to do, but here she can be abit peaceful and it is nice to see her that way

  8. 8 Razah
    July 29, 2009 at 20:57

    Is it me,the lighting or is her skin like ALOT more purplier in the top 2 images?

    • 9 Nhani
      July 30, 2009 at 16:23

      I’d say it’s more fair to say that it’s alot more orange in the bottom one, but it’s entirely lighting, yes. The top two have a generic Ashenvale/Darnassus-ish light setting where half the lights have a blue or purplish tint while the bottom one has several lights with an orange tint to go with the setting sun.

      Nevermind the lower also has atleast one light with a seriously ramped up intensity just to create that warm, glowing kind of outline.


Leave a Reply

