11
Aug
09

The Argent Gnome and her Charger

With Beyond the Tree having passed the two million total views recently, I’ve been wanting to come up with some image to comemorate it. This one isn’t that, but it was something I fiddled together and thought I might use as a voter image — that is, until one of my test crowd all but strong-armed me into putting it up immediately.

During her (relatively brief) time as one of my alts on Earthen Ring EU, one of the standing features of Areen was her trustworthy Palamino steed, Frank. I don’t think I ever really had a reasoning why I chose to call the horse that, except for that I thought it somehow sounded great for a gnome to ride around on a horse named Frank. One of the things that always struck out to me during that time though was that gnome mounts actually scale up – you mount a gnome on an Elekk and that Elekk will be HUGE compared to those of their larger allies; I always wanted to see what Areen would’ve looked like if Frank would’ve been a small armoured pony instead of this giant of a horse. This would pretty much be the culmination of that.

As for the actual image I wanted to make, well.. we’ll see if I take the time for it. I have a rough idea, but it’d require quite a bit of model work to finish, unfortunately.

13 Responses to “The Argent Gnome and her Charger”


  1. 1 Aries
    August 11, 2009 at 15:09

    love it nhani.

    I hadnt even noticed the scaling thing, but now that you mention it….yes…i see it.

  2. 2 TheNic
    August 12, 2009 at 10:11

    that is weird, why does those damn gnomes get bigger mounts? should be the other way around! and ban male Draeneis from riding anything but Elekks! they look riddicoulus

  3. 3 Ilyara
    August 12, 2009 at 11:13

    She’s completely adorable, as is her pony ^.^

  4. August 12, 2009 at 21:43

    As a paladin player in WoW since March of 06, I approve.

  5. August 13, 2009 at 12:00

    Hey Nhani,..

    I realy like your little Paladin Gnome.
    When we first got WOW my brother and me often discussed why gnomes can only be a Mage, Rogue, Warlock or a Warrior, it never made much sence to us

    And that little pony she is riding on is great,..
    they should realy use things like that in the game,..
    when ever i see a gnome riding a big horse or elekk i always wonder how they stay on,..
    and it must be painfull how they are forced to sit on the big mounts :S

    @ TheNic
    I know they look a little wierd on the average mount,…
    but you wont seriousely deny draenei paladins their warhorse,.. would you?
    Maybe they should scale those horses up a bit.

  6. 6 Railena
    August 13, 2009 at 12:38

    So very adorable! I’ve always been a pony girl and must exault my characters with Stormwind each time – no matter the race – just so I can have a pony 😛

    I don’t know so much about the mount actually scaling up when you put a gnome on it – it’s just that the gnome is so tiny on anything other than a mechro-strider! It would be great if they scaled the mount sizes up for the draenei… they did it for the tauren but have failed to see just how much bigger the draenei are compared to thier alliance brothern.

  7. 7 Lorthaiel
    August 13, 2009 at 22:22

    That is the sweetest yet toughest thing I have seen in a long while… I want ponies!

  8. August 13, 2009 at 23:00

    As a side note, this is now my desktop image.

  9. 9 Gwaith
    August 16, 2009 at 20:36

    That gnome looks like a giant when I look on the ground and to other horses in the picture, but it might just be the fact it is not really fit for a pony just scaling the horse down.

  10. 10 Mouse
    August 19, 2009 at 12:07

    Hope you don’t mind me yoinking this as a desktop image. I’ve been waiting so very long for an Areen splash page and you heven’t dissapointed.

    She’s beautiful, the pony is cute and both are very welcome to come and have a chat should she still be around on ER.

    • 11 Nhani
      August 19, 2009 at 14:15

      I generally save them in the widescreen resolution I personally use pretty much just for wallpaper purpose – that’s what most of my larger random renders are for, in a sense 😉

      As for Areen.. the character still exists, but I don’t exactly play her – let’s face it, the Warrior class mechanics and I don’t exactly see eye to eye and as much as I wanted to enjoy playing her, I simply couldn’t appreciate the gameplay of it. The whole reason I was suggested to put her in the comic actually was because I was frustrated with how I really wanted to enjoy the character but couldn’t – Beyond the Tree lets her be as she should be, which World of Warcraft unfortunately does not.

      I have since managed to pick up a gnome alt though, albeit one a fair bit more traditionally gnomish – a rogue this time, so mechanics I’m far more at home with. She’s quite a different sort of character from Areen (though they’re supposed to be related), though if there’s any kind of gnomish roleplayer base around I think it might be fun to atleast look by and say hello sometime!

  11. August 23, 2009 at 14:55

    Everything you do with Areen makes me want to squee at her, like a fangirl, all the more. But I continue to resist.

    It’s actually bizarre. I saw a draeni male mounted on a mechanostrider yesterday, and it was … about the same height as this pony. He looked utterly absurd. And yet, a tauren mounted on, say, a black war raptor, winds up with a HUGE mount. And my troll’s kodo is noticeably smaller than those ridden by tauren. A gnome riding an elekk would need a howdah, not a saddle.

  12. September 5, 2014 at 13:28

    I feel that is among the most important information for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to statement on some common issues, The web site taste is great, the articles is in point of fact nice : D.
    Just right process, cheers


Leave a Reply

