29
Aug
09

Pwetty Twinkets: Binding Light strangeness

I generally don’t talk much about game mechanics here – there’s usually a whole lot better (and a whole lot more informed!) sources for information so I don’t feel much the need – not nowadays anyhow. Images made or topics regarding Beyond the Tree tend to strike me as more interesting, and I’m no longer doing much in the ways of strange niché things like roguetanking, not since Blizzard killed that anyhow.

Then, of course, there’s moments like this.

Binding Light is a trinket from the regular ten man Trial of the Champion raid – dropping off the third encounter (faction champions) in there. It’s rather funny, because today marks the second one we get, and the going reaction was that it wasn’t.. well.. all that to put it nicely – it’s the kind of item you almost have to force on people for anyone to get it. I was suggested to pick it up for item level for vehicle encounters (I tend to love to pilot the Demolisher catapults for Flame Leviathan) and thought I’d try it out and see, since I figured Discipline priestesses can be quite spammy as far as spellcasting goes.

I noticed an interesting little detail with this trinket.

Holy Nova doesn’t stack the buff – apparently counts as a damaging spell or somesuch, which is a pity, since it’d be handy for some odd five-man encounters if it did. However.. Penance does.. and better yet. It stacks it four times. Four! See, what happens is that the initial cast when you trigger the spell counts as one helpful spell.. and then each burst/projectile penance “casts” counts as another helpful spellcast, so you can essentially stack it half-way through a single two second (well, less with haste) cast.

I’m actually not sure what that does for its overall value comparably (there’s a reason I don’t do these kinds of mentions much – I lack the head to really put it into a practical averaged value), especially considering other trinket alternatives, but it means that the first four stacks (264 spellpower) is really quick to apply for disc.. which suggests that maybe atleast one type of healer can find it rather useful. Of course, it really seems buggy that it’d stack up that fast from a single spell, but with my impressions presently that nearly no one actually wants it.. it might be a much needed feature of it.

And now when I can feel proud of myself for this random discovery, I shan’t bore you with more jabbering mechanical observations and theory, atleast not for the moment.

4 Responses to “Pwetty Twinkets: Binding Light strangeness”


  1. 1 Noriam (ER)
    September 4, 2009 at 02:04

    Sounds pretty awesome to me, remind me to recommend it to that random disc priest I was doing Trial of the Champion with a couple of days ago. If it’s an undesirable trinket, generally, I doubt it’s a bug either. Not that I’d know, I’m a warriory guy. But hey, if my healer’s got something like that up their sleeve I likey. =p.

    (Also my first ever comment. Hee.)

  2. 2 Noriam (ER)
    September 4, 2009 at 02:16

    .. Hurr, sorry for double-post, but I think the ten/twenty-five man raid’s called Trial of the Crusader ain’t it? Ahem. Pardon me, force of habit, ya’know?

    • 3 Nhani
      September 4, 2009 at 06:25

      Uhm, it’s one or the other. I was pretty sure I checked up the name against WoWhead to make sure I picked the right one, but it might not have been. My acronym-happy Yelnenu cronies tend to refer to the raid as “CC” and the 5-man dungeon as “Trial”, which I’m afraid doesn’t really help much at all in this context.

  3. September 20, 2009 at 19:59

    Shamans can stack it even faster by dropping 2x 4 totems, gaining the full 8 stacks in 2 1sec GCDs.


Leave a Reply

