05
Sep
09

So we just had to press that button

Fire in the Disco! Fire in the.. Ulduar!

Yesterday offered an interesting evening/night on the Yelnenu side of things, as we’d scheduled pretty much the entirety of our raid evening to tackle the Mimiron hard mode, more commonly called Firefighter, as it’s been the last obstacle in the way of our getting started on trying to down Algalon. Now most of the people who came along (not myself, mind) had taken a night some weeks ago trying but hitting something of a brick wall, so we’d pretty much steeled ourselves for a night of wipe and rage. With that in mind, unexpectedly succeeding as early as the fifth try left us not only with most of our raid night left, as well as this immense feel good sensation about our inherent awesomeness. For me personally, that feeling jumped up a few steps further when the Shaman portion of our Restoration Shaman + Discipline Priestess healing team pointed out to me that most groups/guilds do the ten man firefighter with three healers; including ones that focus mainly on 25-man content.

So I’m feeling somewhat awesome right about now.

Of course, we’re just a small, rather casual bunch of buddies who take our time getting places and who neither are nor aspire to be in the top tier on raiding progression and rather try to have fun rather than frustration on our way. That said, I tend to maintain we’re all good people who know our thing, and I’m very much proud of the bunch we’ve somehow managed to collect.

For me personally the night left me in a strange place where I feel very much at peace with where I am – the class, role and talent set I use to pull my weight. Seeing my lengthy indecision on what class I wanted to play prior to the release of Wrath, having a sort of confirmation as to having made the right choice and that I’m essentially doing what I’m good at. While I’ll most likely actually have an alt once more before long, there’s very little doubt in my mind that my primary role, class and talent spec in Cataclysm will be healer, priestess and discipline – it’s where I seem to belong.

Of course, then there’s the matter of race, and where Blizzard have definitely said that they’re likely to limit the paid race change feature to prevent people from just entirely skipping the Worgen/Goblin starter zones, they’ve said far less about what their plans are with the new class combinations for the old races – whether they too would have to wait for the change to be unlocked or could get going right from the start of. Though the optimist in me hopes that the new combinations will be unlocked with the Pre-Cataclysm patch (rather than the expansion itself) and that the change will be unlocked at that time – I’d definitely love to be able to go into Cataclysm with a new, fresh perspective on things, the pessimist can easilly paint up scenarios where Blizzard might end up all but imprisoning me in a night elven shell for a few months before providing the freedom I crave. Without official word on the matter, either option strikes me as equally credible, so I find myself somewhat caught between both extremes and not sure to what extents I should hope for the best or prepare for the worst.

Where is my Gnome Priestess!

15 Responses to “So we just had to press that button”


  1. 1 Noriam (ER)
    September 5, 2009 at 17:03

    Grats on all the Ulduar stuff Nhan. ^^

    I think that the class combinations will be a Cataclysm release, personally, maybe because it was talked about at Blizzcon 09, but faction changes and such (which are coming out before it) weren’t. That said, that’s my logical side talking, which is exactly the same as my own pessimism most of the time, but I do dearly hope I get to roll my gnome priest before the expansion too. Talent changes on the other hand will probably come out in the pre-patch like they did with WotLK, as there’ll probably be lots of people who want to plan out their specs in advance.

    In comfort to ya, a night elven shell’s not that bad.

    • 2 Nhani
      September 5, 2009 at 17:34

      It’s not that it’s bad, it’s just that old Nhani Moonfall can be something of a heavy vehicle to carry and I’m somewhat hoping I’ll be able to jump into Cataclysm with a much different perspective and mindset than my current one. As a gnome, I can approach things differently, I could do things I normally couldn’t and I’d feel.. well.. free.

      I could leap onto my bike mount, trek into the brave new world and see everything with fresh, naive, untainted eyes. A huge difference from old Moonfall who pretty much carries ten thousand years of experiences with her no matter where she goes. It’s very much a difference in experience there that I’m after, I suppose. Just go all out and enjoy myself. No strings attached.

      Of course, I’m also curious whether or not I’ll manage to scare up some contact with whatever gnomish community there may or may not be. I think after four years, especially with night elven mages coming, I’ll have an easier time getting along with gnomes, heh.

  2. 3 Noriam (ER)
    September 5, 2009 at 17:50

    Firstly – Hi, I spy you there, on Krasus’ landing, suspiciously AFKing

    – Anyway, the Gnomish community has dwindled from all I can see, on the other hand, come Cataclysm me and Mouse are expecting a fair few Gnomish priests to come our way, and I see no reason why we’d turn you away if you asked. There are a couple of other gnome-guilds I couldn’t name off-hand, and plenty that accept them, if it’s not for you.

    Being a gnome in character is a very, very fantastic thing. All you need is a drop of seriousness to wash away the “This Is A Joke” that Blizzard annoyingly stuck on gnomes and you have a crazy, wacky and obviously, entirely free and fun character.

    Join us, for we will one day, take over the world.

    • 4 Nhani
      September 5, 2009 at 18:00

      Oh I know well the awesomeness of gnomes – I’ve had a few starts with ones, and Areen existed on Earthen Ring as Areen Fuzzybang for some time before she eventually transformed into the Areen Lightspark that appeared in Beyond the Tree – her whole appearance in the comic was largely born out of my frustrations and differences with the Warrior class, yet how I loved the character still.

      Putting her in the comic let me do away with the former, while keeping the latter.

      I’ll probably keep my gnome offering in Yelnenu really – seeing the benefits of being in a guild in Cataclysm, we’ll probably try to consolidate somewhat there. Still, actually having compatriots to talk to every so often might serve to be interesting.

      As for my suspicious AFK, I maintain I am well within my rights to hide in some foliage when I go to arrange myself some consumables. Gnomes-to-be also have to eat, after all.

  3. 5 Noriam (ER)
    September 5, 2009 at 18:07

    I have a gnomish paladin myself, actually, a recent addition I admit, but before I discovered this place. I hate levelling ‘another’ warrior seeing as it’s such a frustrating class, but the armour’s 99/100ths of looking the part. And, yeah, I pretty much love the character already – Although I have a fondness for her entire family thus far. As is the way with gnomes.

    Well, let me/us know if you change your mind about the guild. The Tinker’s direction in Cataclysm really rather depends what those city-hogging fiddlers at Blizzard do with Gnomeregan. If they give us it back, well, I’m sure if you go there on an IC basis you’ll bump into us plenty enough to talk to. And the guild levelling thing is annoying me as it’s practically forcing people into bigger guilds (we’re only tiny at the mo’ =( ) but I appreciate that it’s a decent choice.

    Everyone has to eat, I guess.
    If you’re a gnome you don’t have to eat quite as much, though.

  4. 6 Pinka
    September 6, 2009 at 01:16

    Congrats with firefighter.
    Our guild is trying to do it too. With the right setup we can probably take all the hardmodes.

    One more question. What wrong in being a Night elf. Did you lost your faith in Elune?

    • 7 Nhani
      September 6, 2009 at 07:10

      Perspective is. Don’t get me wrong, I love old Moonfall, she’s been great over the years and I’m not getting rid of her – but I do want to shift focus with her.

      A night elf – especially one a old as Nhani Moonfall is – isn’t something you just ‘pick up’; though she definitely doesn’t remember all of it, she has ten thousand years of history, of experience and of self-temperance that she carries with her every step of the way. With her, there’s generally always this permeating feeling of having to consider every action carefully, to weigh repercussions versus outcome before acting. There’s no real just cutting loose because she can’t afford herself to – neither with the harm she could cause, the station she holds or the trust vested in her. When she acts, it’s not just about her – it’s about everyone who holds trust in her, who believes in her and who depend on her to tell them not to worry, things will be fine.

      I had a bike mount crafted me some months back, I have a flying carpet, not to mention a fair chunk of other mounts and vanity pets – some of which I love for both their look and their huge personalities, that I simply feel like I can’t use because it would be misrepresentation.

      I’ve already walked into both Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King carrying all that – weighing my steps, holding back on just spazzing out because I have this responsibility not to. I want to get away from that. I want to pack my things, get on my bike and drive out into this brave new world, seeing it split open with fresh, naive eyes that can truly be in awe.

      • 8 Pinka
        September 6, 2009 at 11:00

        Ah i get this. But you should also remember that the world changes. And since the second war Night elves started to attend their worth in thechnology and evolution.

        Just think of all the old people who couldent believe computers could actually exist.
        And now lots of old people walk around with mobile phones and get their way around the internet without any problem. Night elves love their tradition but it doesnt mean they can go around with new stuff. Whith the whole alliance relying on technology and the Night elves being fully accepted into it they kinda accepted to go with it without losing their old traditions.

        I got a bike myself. Pinka loves what her sister which is an engineer made for her. She cant do it herself but it means she starts to adjust herself with the new and easyer life style.

        If you would roll a gnome it means priest Nhani leaves. What good would that bring to her friends and the people who trust on her and even with the sake of Azeroth.

        Myself i think you should look like its a collection of books. When you finish a book you start a new one. Its about the same charakter but its a whole fresh new story.
        I would say. Live on and Glory to the Night elves. And get yourself used with what technology brings and learn to get used with it. As your being a NE of old you have to understand a lot have changed in that time aswell. 🙂

      • 9 Nhani
        September 6, 2009 at 11:28

        You also have to be a safe harbor for those who do not adjust well, however, and something that they aren’t afraid of approaching. The world changes, but the past does not – you still have to carry it, and it will still affect you.

        There’s also the whole thing about presentation, again. Part of what’s made old Nhani what she is is just that – even with Wrath, most of her in-game time has been spent under the rogue class, rather than the priest one – and it worked because of how she acted, what she said and what she did.

        That’s the constraint; it’s not that she couldn’t, it’s that she wouldn’t. She could most likely jump up on a bike and ride off in the sunset if she learns how, but she wouldn’t do that because it’s counterproductive to what she is. She’s definitely not immune to change, nor oblivious to that the world can and does change – she’s even courting a Draenei over other night elves!

        But when worst comes to worst people tend to seek comfort in the familiar, and in that the Priestesses are icons for their people to invest their hopes in. She has a duty to that image, and as far as she is concerned, that duty tends to override my desire to drive a bike in public.

        Nhani isn’t going away, though – she’s simply returning to her roots, put back onto the character I thought I was going to permanently delete. It’ll fit her changing with the world, I think, and I know she can still carry herself in that form because she has done so many times before. I’m definitely not leaving her behind, I’m just giving her more time for herself without me hawking over her shoulder.

        I want to go places that for me, personally, night elves can’t take me. A gnome can. It’s really as simple as that.

  5. 10 Pinka
    September 6, 2009 at 14:24

    Alright i get what you want. It seems that you really tought long about it. I just hope it won´t affect the comic by all means tho. Im sure a fan of gnomes. But i rather like the Night elf stories, appearance and personalities.

    • 11 Nhani
      September 6, 2009 at 14:52

      Oh yes, if I’d had the option to make a gnome priestess before Wrath, I probably would be playing one already; I’ve long since been wanting to get some distance from playing old Moonfall – and some distance from night elves on Earthen Ring in general. Areen is one of the results from that.

      You won’t have to worry about Beyond the Tree, though; it was always about the duo, and both Hani and Tiny are very much connected to their people, albeit in very opposing ways. Night elves remain close to heart, Tyrande remains my favourite Warcraft character, and Beyond the Tree has key moments and events planned out very far in advance.

      The only effect my playing a gnome primarily would have, I’d think, is that there’d be more Random Gnome Renders, and that I would – hopefully – have a more cheerful and naive approach to events within Blizzards narrative.

  6. 12 Noriam (ER)
    September 6, 2009 at 17:58

    On a slightly unrelated note, if you want to level Areen, always open for a boosting session for a Gnome In Gneed, feel free to pick me up on that.

    Anyway, I think that night elves are great too, heh, in moderation if that’s appropriate phrasing. Tyrande is my favourite character as well, but that’s possibly because Gelbin and Magni weren’t all that apparent in WCIII and co. I do suspect that Tyrande having a huge amount more history played a part in it too. I like lots of lore and to see someone in action.

    … Gnome renders. Please do. Hell, I’ll give you a few ideas if you want. Teh-heh-heh. And, Blizzard’s narrative is only going to get a lot more violent and serious, so I think that it’s certainly a good time to be going Gnome.

  7. September 7, 2009 at 03:15

    Oh, yes, gnomes are delightful. Consider this journal entry I once wrote up for one of mine, a mage engineer:

  8. September 7, 2009 at 03:17

    “Thirty-first of Ripening, Second year of the exile. Having procured comestables suitable for the morning break of fast, I now turn my attention back to the problem which has vexed me for two days already.

    “As Wizbang Cranktoggle’s experiments in the distillation of spirtuous liquors has already resulted in the explosive destruction of four corncribs, two smokehouses, seven sheds and a dairy barn, the Royal Engineering Society of Gnomeregan directed him to turn his research to causing explosions deliberately. (I suspect that the real cause of Cranktoggle’s difficulties has more to do with his fondness for imbibing spirituous liquors, but that is a personal judgement, not yet demonstrated by rigorous evidence.) To that end, he has produced the Sheep-O-Matic KaBoomSter Mk VI, which he claims has approximately 3.14159265 times the explosive power of the standard explosive sheep. I have been asked to demonstrate it in the field, as it were, for Expert Engineer Lilliam Sparkspindle of the Dwarven District here in Stormwind. The Mark VI is the first to arrive without premature detonation.

    “On what may seem at first to be an unrelated note, my master of the arcane arts here in Stormwind, Maginor Dumas, has been tasked with keeping custody of the infamous Forsaken rogue, Thanatalos Sporeblade, until SI:7 can properly interrogate him. Master Maginor has developed a long-term polymorph spell to prevent Sporeblade from repeating his previous exploits of escape, which have typically left large numbers of corpses in their wake.

    “Added to these challenges, my dear, sweet, mother-in-law, Batzi Shearbolts, has asked me to tend her favorite sheep, Woolworth — the first to survive her self-guided shearing and dipping apparatus unmaimed. She has formed an inexplicable yet powerful attachment to the creature, though given its astonishing stupidity and general malodorousness, I cannot for the life of me imagine why. Perhaps, and perhaps justifiably, she feels a kinship to it. Should she visit upon me even a third of the things she threatened, were Woolworth to come to harm, I would be the most unfortunate of gnomes.

    “These things, taken individually or even together, would not cause such distress as I now experience, but for one thing: Master Maginor’s addle-pated human apprentice, Wuntvole, herded all three of them into the same pen, and now we are unable to differentiate between the dangerous and unstable explosive, the legendary and murderous rogue, and the beloved pet. And the consequences of sending any of them to the wrong place are too dire to contemplate.”

  9. 15 anhari
    September 21, 2009 at 14:08

    (Belated) Congratulations on Firefighter! 🙂

    We’re working our way through Ulduar and Trial hard modes right now, and they’re pretty much the most fun I’ve ever had in WoW.


Leave a Reply

