07
Sep
09

I has Pretty Dress

Games like World of Warcraft are very visual experiences – sure, sound definitely plays a part, mechanics are the vital skeleton that it’s all built on and the social aspect it what keeps many of us still interested, but there’s also the simple fact that you need to see the fire to move out of it. On that tangent, then, I’ve always felt the visual look and feel of my character(s) is a very important part of my experience; and where I can acknowledge that sometimes the Neon Pink Skullflower Chestpeice of Extreme Awesome might be numerically far superior to what I currently have, I find I enjoy myself far more when I have a somewhat matching and proper-looking gear set than those times where I have a character looking like she came straight from the Clown University of Colourblindia.

In that context, I never understood the World of Warcraft-based webcomics that have the option to pick decent-looking, matched sets and simply don’t – unless you’re going to make a joke of it or somehow try to weave in arbitrary, game-mechanical mathematics into a seperate narrative, it doesn’t really accomplish anything other than calling to question whether the cast actually can see colours or are simply descendants of Dracula and can’t be seen in mirrors.

Playing a cloth class is quite handy in this regard – so long as your footwear is a resonably dull/neutral colour, you just need the robe, the shoulders, the gloves and the belt and you’ll look absolutely smashing. So picking up the Alliance Priestess Tier 9 robe last night was a great gain: Shoulderpads? Check. Gloves? Check. Belt…?

..yeah.. I’ll have to work on that. Or rather, I’ll have to flay ten-man normal Anub’arak alive repeatedly until he gives me the one missing peice, but you get my point.

I rather like the look of the priestess Tier 9 – the colours are nice, the style – albeit heavy and cumbersome – looks sturdy and awe-inspiring. It has a nice look and feel to it, and though I defintely also have some great affection to the Tier 8 set (especially the 10-man version – it’s blueish!), having passed the shoulderpads time and time again to fellow nubs in greater need, it’s nice to have obtained an almost full look to use. With the only matching belt being a drop, too, I can focus triumph emblems from now on to less visible elements such as rings and whatnot.

Helmets, of course, are usually best kept hidden.

6 Responses to “I has Pretty Dress”


  1. 1 Noriam (ER)
    September 7, 2009 at 10:56

    This has always been a dilemma for me, especially on characters like Nori and Itharian, mainly because I can’t just stick a dress on and hope for the best(unless Ith gets to Ulduar). And as much as the stats improve, mismatched colouring just… Rubs me the wrong way. I never really knew which to prioritise.

    At any rate Nhani does look pretty sweet in that gear, and the belt’s always a bit of a pain in the butt, so hang in there and bash that giant spider!

    Helmets… Urh. Due to how &”@!-tarded some of mine look… No comment. 8D

    I like goggles.

  2. 2 Pinka
    September 7, 2009 at 15:52

    This is true. Mostly when you already got the shoulders and robe your already look full geared 😛
    Another thing about why i rolled a warrior was becouse i could wear cloth till plate items. My bank is full of all different outfits 😛
    Im collecting every seasons pvp gear. I got full t7.5, t8 and im hoping to collect the full t9 set becouse that mostly represents the Alliance.
    And graphically the legs look different then any other plate leg parts.

    I hated the plate boots from Ulduar. They were good but i passed on them becouse of the ugly bulkish look on them. But then i got saved by the boots which dropped in TOC heroic which is near the best boots in game aswell 🙂

  3. 3 Partiya
    September 10, 2009 at 05:39

    I rarely understand the motivation for hiding your helmet- especially if a plate-wearing class. They may not be the most aesthetically pleasing, and people rather like the looks of their pretty characters- but it doesn’t make sense to me from an in-character perspective. Your character is a hardened warrior, Death Knight, Paladin, heck- even Ranger, Shaman- what have you! You’d imagine that going into some of the most dangerous and deadly places in all of Azeroth would be best done with a bit of head-gear to keep your brains from becoming mush, or keeping your pretty face intact and without cliche scars!

    Just my little two cents.

    • 4 Nhani
      September 10, 2009 at 06:20

      It’s a visual, narrative thing – in reality, wearing a helmet is often a sound idea, but in a visual narrative.. it’s often near suicidal because it robs you of a very important thing – visual identity. And you can see that repeatedly in a whole lot of settings, from movies to games to whatever; redshirts are nameless, faceless and ultimately replaceable. A character must generally have a distinct visual aesthetic as well as be recognizeable to be a hero.

      Of course, if we’d rather cite reality, then the fact remains that a great deal of helmets in World of Warcraft actually don’t really acomplish what they’re supposed to – with all the ornamental bits on them, especially horns and whatnot, they actually strike me as a potentially greater danger because hitting some of the exposed bits will actually transfer more force to the neck than simply hitting the head would. And I would still maintain that wearing too mismatched armor risks being just as fatal because the peices wouldn’t interact properly and risk opening up all kinds of weak spots, or simply not being all that protective at all.

  4. 5 Noriam (ER)
    September 10, 2009 at 10:46

    I wear goggles as a platewearer.

    Nuff said. 8D

  5. 6 Pinka
    September 14, 2009 at 04:28

    Lore wise Night elves rely on agility rather then armor to overpower their opponents. So not wearing a helmet means that you have more secure sight and less weight. And it would only reduce their chance to pick up sounds from a distance becouse it covers the base of their ears aswell.


Leave a Reply

