23
Sep
09

So some patches have holes..

With World of Warcraft patch 3.2.2 now live, it seems a rather strange bug has managed to worm its way in; I found out about it when one of my Yelnenu cronies linked me to a particular discussion thread on the MMO-Champion forums regarding it. It has some of the more fun details like how some priests managed to steal anything from Bear form swipes, to taunts, to soul shards. I kid you not, the first post has a screenshot of a priest with soul shards in his inventory!

As for what happens, it seems that to make Power Word: Shield use the spell crit rate of the casting priest(ess) rather than that of the target, there’s a split second where any ability on the target (in this case, the shield) is attributed to the priest(ess) rather than the target. It’s a very small window, but it seems during that, anything from DoTs to attacks to taunts can be attributed to the priest rather than the actual caster.

I can see why it happened, and in a way it’s an utterly hilarious bug, but I’m rather hoping they’ll hotfix the thing like yesterday, because the prospect of stealing a taunt from a tank worries me.

Edit: Forum thread seems to suggest it’s fixed since server reboot. Not in a place to try it, so I sure hope it is!

2 Responses to “So some patches have holes..”


  1. 1 Waldamar
    September 24, 2009 at 17:45

    Yup, we had this. As a tank, I figured something was wrong when my taunt killed a priest.

  2. 2 Noriam (ER)
    September 24, 2009 at 18:34

    Well, at least the priest who stole a shard can say “I have more shards than most warlocks”.

    No warlock ever seems to carry them anyway.


Leave a Reply

