29
Sep
09

I has Pretty Dress pt.2

So while I ended up missing Yelnenu’s first triumph over 10-man heroic Anub’arak (we do have other healers than me, after all, and I do like to be able to kick back and take it easy every so often) the Coliseum has been good to me lately – or rather, good to my sense of dress, bad to my economy. Adding the missing belt and the utterly gorgeous Enlightenment staff, I’ve ended up with a healing outfit that not only works, but looks very stylish and uniform, not to mention that it strikes me as suitably night elven for old priestess Moonfall to wear.

While I’m still very much set on my whole character swapperoo to take place in due time, it’s still quite some time away; Nhani Moonfall still retains her priestess class until Cataclysm comes around, so I’m not exactly intent on dressing her up as a gnome just yet. (though I’ve been known to overdose on pygmy oil on some raids) As such – her looking presentable still feels like an important goal, and I’ll admit to really liking how the Alliance priestess Tier 9 set looks. It leaves me with one less goal as such – from this point on it’s mostly just tweaking stats around and deciding which parts to get where from set gear and offset gear, taking stats and set bonuses into account. Of course.. then in time will come the Icecrown Citadel raid which will likely undo all my work towards looking presentable by offering yet another gear style. Here’s to hoping their offering for that will look suitably good!

In the meantime, we have the other Nhani – her past form that I’m slowly bringing around to a solid enough place for when Cataclysm hits.. seeing how she’ll recover her old role of being the Nhani Moonfall in due time. I have less of a focus towards her yet – and too many loose ends to really have a good sense of direction. I have decided, however, that once more the Alliance Tier 9 set looks suitably gorgeous – though in this case I’m mostly concerned with getting the leggings, having already obtained the chestpeice and matching boots. There’s an ulterior motive for getting it, though – that of consistency.

Namely: with my swapping character classes around a little, I’ve been considering a few new approaches to my poseable Nhani Moonfall model – getting rid of the skirt and letting her go back to a more combat-centric look, while still trying to inject a significant night elven look to the end result. Though I tend to dislike using tiered gear too much because it tends to be very recognizeable and I want character equipment to set a theme, to tell you something about the character rather than just being “oh she did this and that raid.”. In this case.. I gave in, since the Alliance rogue Tier 9 set just looks that good. That said, I couldn’t let it go without atleast a few tweaks and a recolour..

It’s all work in progress, of course – I’m not entirely sure of how to handle the hood or what to do with it, likewise I want to decide on a few convenient knives she can carry both to fight with and to throw, but I haven’t quite decided where a convenient location would be yet. Still, even at this early stage, this look has given me a greater Nhani-vibe than her old knee-length skirt one did, which is a rather good sign.

20 Responses to “I has Pretty Dress pt.2”


  1. 1 Ilyara
    September 29, 2009 at 13:38

    I’d go with a thigh sheath or an upside-down holster on the back of her waist level belt. You could stick a knife in a boot too, but it’s not a very good place for a throwing one.

    Gorgeous pictures 🙂

    • 2 Nhani
      September 29, 2009 at 13:59

      Good suggestions all, really; I think part of the problem is that I’ve yet to decide on a dagger/knife design to use, so I don’t know how large they will be yet. World of Warcraft has a tendency towards weapons of size huge, so finding a knife that is large enough to look like it’d be good in a fight, stylish or ornate enough to fit the look, yet small enough to actually fit anywhere is going to be a challenge, I feel!

      • 3 Ragefury
        October 20, 2009 at 22:50

        Just take any random throwing weapon design – Blizzard tend to keep throwing weapons at a medium minimal size – if you ask me, I’ve never seen any throwing weapon design that’s been too big to fit in a belt at the very least. Also try aiming for some old-school dagger design if you’re looking for some good hand-to-hand combat weapon. There’s a handful of designs to choose at, I know, but I have confidence in you. 😉

  2. 4 Lungus Kingsfield
    September 29, 2009 at 18:32

    So… How come Blizzard hasn’t offered you a job? 😉
    Amazing work as always Nahni!

  3. 5 Messai
    September 29, 2009 at 19:55

    Your priest looks awesome in that robe 😮

    about the Nhani “scout” idea, it looks good, kinda reminds me of a Ranger/Rogue about the throwing knives thing; how about placing a small satchel with some knives in it on her upper-arm, a little below the shoulder? or attach some on that belt that spans across her chest.

    (Sorry for crappy description. it’s a part in english that i’m not very good at (yet) ^^ )

  4. 6 Arafor
    September 30, 2009 at 06:26

    The classic places for throwing knives are 1)around the hip 2) hidden in clothing just above the hand so that the right twitch can cause the knife to slide down into the waiting hand 3) right behind the neck, where she currently have a lot of hair to hide them in 4) the boots (typically somewhat larger knives since these are the last resort knives) and 5) on the lower part of you back.

    With careful planning and some expertise you can hide all of these from plain sight and yet nearly always end up with your hand on a new knife after throwing one (for as many knives as 3 or so in a row depending on how many you hide at each place.)

    • 7 Nhani
      September 30, 2009 at 08:05

      Then I just need to figure out a knife that’s small enough to do that, yet large enough to not seem too small for combat, yet ornamental enough to fit the theme.. xD

      Yes. Also considering I planned to sneak in a sword along her back, much like Hani. It’s going to be quite cluttered, I think!

      • 8 Arafor
        October 1, 2009 at 17:06

        Not speaking of the problem of finding one that actually looks like a throwing knife. If memory serves me right blizzards throwing knives are simply bad. A throwing knife should have a blade that is just slightly heavier then the shaft, and a shaft that isn’t the opposite of aerodynamic (big, essentially).

        I might remember wrong though.

  5. 9 Tere
    September 30, 2009 at 07:50

    This new expansion may well provide me with all the justification and motivation for a Tere revival. Having Astranaar burnt down will have a fair impact on her, espcially as that’s where she and her family live now.

    In terms of clothes, I always felt that leather stuff looked the best, and so combat Nhani would have a good range, although Wrath has produced several very nice cloth pieces. Still a bit unsure about plate, but that’s more of a Furau thing, and he doesn’t fight in battles that require it so much these days.

    • 10 Nhani
      September 30, 2009 at 08:34

      I’m actually a tad concerned over where Cataclysm might lead in a sense – it might turn out for the better, of course, but between all the upheaval, the world breaking and the night elven mages.. I’m thinking it might be a very good time for me to not play a night elf as a main, if only for the sake of my mental health.

      Of course, everything happening will affect Nhani; it must. Especially since she’s seen the world breaking before. It’s just a question of how, and where to take her from there.

      I definitely agree with leather generally having the best looks though – the others have the occasional peice that looks great, but I find leather tends to be the one that most consistently looks good. Picking up the old rogue Nhani again reminded me of just how many of her casual outfits actually had peices of leather in them, and how good they actually looked. Then again, for much of wrath Blizzard apparently had this obcession with turning nearly all good leather boots into socks..

      Plate does have some good examples – a fair bit of Wrath plate hasn’t been all that bad, though plate in general often tends to suffer from a design approach that can best be described as “More skulls! More sharp things!”, and mail.. well.. the less we say about some mail armour, the better.

      I’d say for Alliance Tier 9, rogues and druids are the big winners, though the cloth set has also really grown on me.

  6. 11 Moltrazahn
    October 1, 2009 at 20:56

    that is just beautifully made… i mean seriously, thats beyond epic, LOVE the hood detail with the hole the for hair… just love the vest thing… goosh 😛 please, make an addon pack that makes the game look like it does in your world 😀

    • 12 Nhani
      October 1, 2009 at 21:13

      Well the textures are all the game per se – I just recoloured them (along with some other tweaks) – the chestpeice and leggings are the actual Alliance rogue Tier 9 gear, just recoloured in a more Darnassian colour scheme.

      The hood is actually a priest hood, though with with some degree of editing, notably so there’s hair under it. I’m actually trying to fiddle with a version where the hood is pulled back from her head and more just holding her hair in place, too.

  7. 13 Iasion
    October 2, 2009 at 01:39

    I really like your rogue gear for Nhani. I think more subdued gear fits rogues better, but so much gear in WoW has glowing orbs, burning skulls, or floating fragments of earth hovering around it after a certain point.

    I did check out the Alliance and Horde rogue 9 sets. Both are good, but again, the shoulders and head gear is too flashy in my opinion. Your iteration is much better. 🙂

  8. 14 saila aka wester
    October 2, 2009 at 06:40

    am never collected the T-set cos i have not seen anything that can be used functionality on the hunter side. yes they might be good at the sermony or something but not out on the field.

  9. 15 Thalis
    October 2, 2009 at 17:44

    Daggers? Throwing knives? I though you play (better: are going to play) Nhani as rogue with relatively “good” alignment (“good” in case of rogues is debatable, personally I think of all of them as thieves or hired assasins, who value life just slightly more than warlocks; that’s why I don’t play them) and imho for this reason, some more “honorable” weapons like swords may be better. Like that one you have used on your previous interpretations, although one big 2h sword is not exactly rogue-like.

    • 16 Nhani
      October 2, 2009 at 18:13

      To be fair, I play her as a former Sentinel who has served the sisterhood for some good ten thousand years before she left their service following mount Hyjal and then eventually ended up joining the clergy. The rogue class simply served (and will once more serve) me as the most fitting abstraction for the night elven way of war.

      She will have a sword – it’s in the scene, just not included in these renders. However, a sword is not ideal for all ranges or all purposes, and a knife is easier to both draw and conceal than a shortbow complete with quiver would be.

      Options are good, and even young Hani Foonmall, who generally has the subtlety of a landslide, carries a knife because sometimes it’s more practical than a sword is. Besides, Fan of Knives used to be the signature ability of the Night elven Wardens; I always felt that Nhani had more than a few things in common with their way of combat.

  10. 17 Isita
    October 2, 2009 at 17:49

    I think you shouldn’t wear that belt, in RP perspective that is…it makes your elf look, fat! 😛

    • 18 Iasion
      October 4, 2009 at 17:12

      Fat? Are you kidding? Nhani has the build of a pro athlete! The only stronger rogue would be an orc rogue.

      • 19 Ragefury
        October 20, 2009 at 23:05

        I think Isita is reffering to the first pictures of Nhani Moonfall in a dress – I must aggree though, that belt kind of makes her look like she’s gained some weight. The Coliseum belts in general is a little superfluous to my liking.

        I do, however, like the idea oh Nhani going rogue. In fact, I’d recommend Hani to wear that outfit, or at least something similar, in a distant part of her big adventure.

  11. 20 iPotato
    October 18, 2009 at 08:28

    Call me unoriginal, but I think that the places Assassins Creed used for knives work really well. Sadly, I can’t remember where all these places are, but there’s at least five on the belt and five on the shoulder. As for the combat knife, I’d say across the lower back. It just seems a neat place, unless it’s a bit too small.


Leave a Reply

