30
Oct
09

So, Hallow’s End..

Well seeing how I did an image for it last year around too, I figured why not. Actually, it was more that this idea just came to me really early on during Hallow’s End, and I only now felt I had time to try and make something of it. The idea did amuse me, hence why it managed to stick in my head in spite of everything. As for whether I’ll come up with something next year.. we’ll just have to wait and see!

I was rather lucky with the Hallow’s End in-game event – I’d done it with the wrong character last year around – it happened pretty much just as I swapped character class, so it was the one thing I was missing for the Long, Strange Trip – which I always felt was a fitting achievement name, because looking back.. it has, and far from only because of the events. Still, I managed to get both the pumpkin hat and the squashling really early on, so it was just hunting a few wand transformations and it was done – which I’m quite grateful for as the event coincided with having waaay too much things to do in a waaaay too short a period on my end.

15 Responses to “So, Hallow’s End..”


  1. 1 Ilyara
    October 30, 2009 at 14:36

    xD

    Funny and adorable: trying to figure what all three (four?) figures are saying is immensely entertaining ^_^

  2. 3 Iasion
    October 30, 2009 at 17:07

    Still haven’t seen a Squashling drop, at all. At least I did it on my main last year.

    Does Tee find any candy in there?

  3. 4 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    October 30, 2009 at 18:58

    Head: “Let me go! Let go of me, you cretin! Who do you even think you are?!”
    HH: “Come on~! Give me back my head~! Stop being so evil to me~!”
    Tiny: “What, this head? It’s a bit too shiny to give back, I think.”
    Hani: “Try fighting me again for it. I might reconsider if you stop begging.”

    As for my Hallow’s End event…pretty much said the long version in my rant blog, but to make it short, I’ve been after the squashling for a week and not got it. It dropped – once, and someone else needed it (and got it subsequently). Been pretty peeved about that ever since, but oh well.

  4. 5 Synchronizor
    October 30, 2009 at 19:36

    I love what the Horseman’s head says to its body in that fight when you knock it off:

    “Get over here, you idiot!”

    I’m working on that meta-acheivement too, I have everything I need from Hallow’s End except the Hallowed Helm. I’m running the HH daily every day, and trick-or-treating every hour, but still no luck, and one day to go…

    • 6 Iasion
      October 31, 2009 at 00:07

      I seriously think the event is bugged. Some people are reporting seeing the Sinister Calling drops, but a lot are having trouble getting the one they need. I was lucky enough to get it on my rogue a day ago. I was so relieved.

      Now my DK is just a squashling away. I’ve pretty much conceded that it won’t happen, but I faithfully log on with him. Still…

      Hani: “Hand over the squashling and you’ll get back your head.” ‘;..;’

      • 7 Nhani
        October 31, 2009 at 01:54

        Ah yes, the fickle hand of random loot; I look back with some amusement noting that in spite of trying, I have never, ever, seen a Skullforge Reaver drop, for example, in spite of having seen both the mount and the runeblade drop at least once each – in spite of both of the latter supposedly being much more rare than the former; nevermind that I know several people who have not one but two!. Sometimes.. it just boggles the mind.

        Of course, it’s even more frustrating when it’s That One Thing you’re missing for a meta achievement and there’s only a limited amount of time for it available. I thankfully used up all my bad luck for it the first day by consistently getting trick rather than treat bags.

        • 8 Synchronizor
          November 1, 2009 at 06:56

          Well, My luck turned around and I got the helm…

          ten minutes before Hallow’s End ended…

          Better late than never, I guess.

          • 9 Iasion
            November 2, 2009 at 18:38

            Lucky you guys. Still that squashling away. ;p

            At least I got it on my warlock and rogue last year. My deathknight is at least unholy, giving me access to the mount speed enhancement. It wasn’t as important on him, however I’ve spoken with plenty of people who were not so lucky… two years in a row now for some of them. :\

  5. October 31, 2009 at 15:41

    My girlfriend is a big Forsaken fan and asked me to run her Warlock through the event to get the ‘Hallowed’ achievement, since Hallow’s end is a Forsaken holiday.
    And it went TO well for me.
    Honestly, everything dropped.

    The Mount, the Helmet, Sword, Squashling, every achievement….

    Took me three days to get the title, and now my Gf’s is flying around in icecrown with her Demonic horse; cackling like crazy while my main is stuck with a Wyvern….

    Though i have to admit, a orc on a horse looks silly.

    • 11 Iasion
      November 3, 2009 at 06:20

      Wyverns are great mounts, man. Don’t be so down about it. 🙂

      To be honest, wyvs were made for trolls and orcs. Tauren… well, most every mount needs to be bigger for those guys.

      Undead NEED a sinister ride. Onyx netherdrakes, mean looking proto-dragons, skeletal horses with ectoplasm hoofs- you did your girlfriend a great justice. Now, run a 2v2 comp and grind a Frostwyrm with her. You know she deserves it. ;p

  6. 12 Frostsagen
    October 31, 2009 at 20:15

    Tiny: I wonder if he ever gets bored of trying to burn some villages but never really succeding…
    Hani eyes Tiny with a confused look.
    Tiny: What?
    HH: The town still burns, a cleansing fire, time is short, I’ll soon retire!
    Hani: Well let’s go ask him. Excuse me Horseman, we were wondering if you ever get bored?
    HH: Eh… soldiers arise, stand and fight, bring victory at last to th…
    Tiny: I want to see what’s inside the helm!
    Hani: Here you go… well it looks like there’s nothing inside here.
    HH: Hmpffmmff…

    Great picture Nhani, made me laugh when I saw it 🙂

    About the achivement, one of my friends got 4 squashlings, 1 from HH and 3 from Trick or Treating, I only got mine after quite a few days of HH killing, the last thing I needed for the achivement was the helm, it dropped 2 days ago. This was done all on my alt, my main has the achivement from last year, only miss something from Children’s week. On another note, I didn’t see the mount drop once this year, unlike last year when I saw it 2 times even though I went less for him…

  7. 13 Moltrazahn
    November 1, 2009 at 13:52

    I myself got the Squishling and the hat both through the “Trick or treat” innkeepers. And i got his lol-hat from him. Which was great.

    Also finished “What a long strange trip is has been” on my deathknight, since the expansion came out just after hallows end last year, so considering ive mostly stopped playing wow, im quite happy that the longest achivement there is is bagged and tagged… and i got my Gay-pink-proto-drake so yay :P.

    Also, love the poster ^^, and why am i getting the thought that it would be -SO- cool if they had the flying head in their group aswell? 😛 for the regular tale that is… i mean, i would be like Morte from Planescape torment, a flying head constantly chattering in rymes when they were fighting. And he and Tiny could have some “go scream at each other” contests 😛

    Anyways, love it ^^

  8. 14 Shadowmarth
    November 1, 2009 at 17:15

    Luckly i already had the archievement from last year on my main.
    Still a deathknight with “the hollowed” as title would have been nice.
    But too bad neither the head-piece nor the sqaushling dropped.

    About the poster, great work.

  9. 15 Ragefury
    November 7, 2009 at 13:40

    Horseman: You take my head without i clue what my body are really capable to do!
    Hani: Urgh, his poetry is really empty.
    Tiny: That’s not the only thing that’s empty. *Reach into the empty hole of the horseman’s head*

    By the way, where are the horseman’s left hand going? o.O

    To get to the hallow’s end event – I found it fairly easy to complete the core achievements for it – didn’t get the horseman mount though, which was a shame as I’ve only ever seen it drop once, which was this year – I would’ve completed the hallow’s end achievement on all my four lvl 80 characters if I’d been arsed, but I didn’t really bother. Besides, having the Flame Keeper/Warden title on four characters already has taken its toll. I’m simply aiming to get that violet proto-drake on my main character before any other, and for that i’m missing the Winter Veil, Lunar Festival and Love is in the Air achievements – it sure will be A Long, Strange Trip. 😉


Leave a Reply

