22
Nov
09

So it seems I’ll need a section for fan.. cakes?

I’ve got to show you this. A few weeks back, a friend and fellow Yelnenuite of mine, Lepida, gave me one of the strangest questions I can recall recieving: she asked me whether I would mind if she tried to put Hani Foonmall on a cake. A CAKE! Apparently as part of some course or whatnot she’s in, they were going to make a cake with a motif out of marzipan on it, and she wanted to use Hani for hers.

After picking up my jaw from the floor and properly dusting it off, I gave her the go-ahead and told her if she wanted a particular pose rendered to help I’d be glad to provide. Today.. I got the result:

I’m still not entirely sure what to say; on one end my mind is going all “okay.. how should I judge this from an artistic point of view..” considering we’re talking marzipan – hardly the most malleable material in the world – and there’s distinct limits on what you can do with shapes and colours – especially for a first try at it. On the other hand.. It’s Hani Foonmall. On a Cake. Yeah. Consider me in awe and my mind sufficiently blown. I mean sure, Beyond the Tree isn’t the most famous World of Warcraft-based webcomic out there – it’s different, it’s a tad unusual, I think it’s probably a bit hard to get into for some.. it’s not all jokes and hand-drawn art.. you have to want to get involved with the characters for it to work, and in that regard it’ll likely never be anywhere near as large as the really big names out there. On the other hand? Someone made a Hani cake. Take that!

So, I’d like to give a big thank you to Lepida for making a Hani Cake and – since there’s far too great a distance for me to find out myself – I hope it made for nummy eats! Now I’ll probably going to spend the rest of the evening going between laughing and grinning widely due to the fact that the first official Beyond the Tree fan art I recieve is in fact a photo of a cake. xD

17 Responses to “So it seems I’ll need a section for fan.. cakes?”


  1. 1 Dreddlox
    November 22, 2009 at 22:13

    i so want this cake!! :O

  2. November 22, 2009 at 22:44

    Hanicaaaake ā¤

    Send me a slice, won't you? šŸ˜‰

  3. 3 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    November 23, 2009 at 03:02

    How’s that for having your cake and eating it!!

    XD Sorry, just had to say it. That’s awesome though.

  4. November 24, 2009 at 02:05

    Holy crap….cru never gets this from his fans.
    Consider yourself special.

    • 5 Nhani
      November 24, 2009 at 07:19

      In his defense, I only actually got picture of it; I’ll have to pester Lepida and her family to speak up and say how it tasted. xD

      Still, I consider it quite special as it’s a rather unique example of the first sort of fan art I get!

  5. 6 Moltrazahn
    November 24, 2009 at 06:48

    …. will i get severely misunderstood if i said “Hani, i want to eat you” ?

    Causs, really… i really really do want to eat her as of this moment *stares at cake*

  6. 8 Moltrazahn
    November 24, 2009 at 06:49

    … extra note: “come to think of it, this thread is called thoughts of food after all” šŸ˜›

    • November 25, 2009 at 19:34

      You gotta love the puns!

      • 10 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        November 27, 2009 at 13:02

        Think about it: For the oddness/coolness that this cake divulges to everyone, how can you NOT make puns about it?

        I also think Hani would only take offence to it if she didn’t realise that Molt meant HaniCake. Then again…for the toughness that Hani represents, do you really think she’d completely understand the pun interpreted by the so-called “eating”? I honestly think she’d have the “WTF?!” face until explained to her that it’s a cake.

        I wouldn’t envy the guy that meant that line in the other context though… *covers neck*

  7. 12 Ishy
    November 26, 2009 at 13:08

    Ooh nice! I didn’t know Lep had l33t cake-making skillz! šŸ˜€ Very impressive and looks yummy!

  8. 13 Ragefury
    November 29, 2009 at 02:21

    Hmm eating Hani … no thx, but I might kiss her though … the cake I mean … uhm, yea … this is “thoughts for food” … and it’s a cake … makes sense, doesn’t it? *shivers* =S

  9. 15 Gwaith
    December 9, 2009 at 09:16

    Hanicake is just awesome, really.

    And Ragefury you for some reasons made me think cake related oddities… And what popped into my mind… I’ll just say warm applepie. I am sure someone out there know what movie that is from xD.
    Not that I in any way feel that way it just popped into my mind and I could not stop chuckling and the people at work is looking at me oddly due to it.

    But really… Hanicake xD it is just so cool xD

  10. 16 Moltrazahn
    December 10, 2009 at 11:53

    So! when do we get a Nhani-cake? ;P

  11. 17 WoWplayer
    December 14, 2009 at 23:29

    THE CAKE IS A LIE!!!! TIME TO EAT CAKE! *thinks about eating cake* lol


Leave a Reply

