16
Mar
10

Looking the Part

One of the interesting things on roleplaying servers is how it adds an additional dimension in character representation in terms of appearances; while game mechanics are very distinctly tied to the quality, item level and stat distribution of your gear, item appearances are certainly not, and if you keep an eye out there’s a great deal of very creative combinations of gear to compose some distinct character looks. One of the unfortunate losses with me recently having swapped old Nhani Moonfall over to the warrior class is the loss of a large amount of random drops and quest rewards I’ve collected for the simple reason that they look good.

Wrath of the Lich King has been odd in a way because most of the various gear in it has had a very specific design – items from one set or look rarely match with anything but the rest of their set, so there’s very little space to combine freely. Burning Crusade had some of this already, but it wasn’t until Wrath that it felt like it was a real significant issue to me. It isn’t helped by how with few people prowling low level enemies, low level items are far less available and often for far higher prices. Some of the more famous “pretty” items aren’t only rare but also tend to be sold for somewhat rediculous prices.

Most often these days you’ll see Nhani in some combination of alliance Tier 9 and Tier 10; I rather like the look of it, and it’s pretty much the only appropriately massive-looking armor I have. Since my love for Quel’delar endures both through looks and game mechanics, it’ll usually be firmly set to her hip at all times; except for the rare attempts that I decide I want to pretend I can actually do damage in my secondary Arms spec (ps. I really can’t). The one thing that bothers me the most is really the shield.. which I use mostly because it’s resonably sized and looks imposing enough. I would actually prefer to be using the Titansteel Shield Wall if not for one significant detail – it has a very visible Dalaran logo on it. If not for that, I could totally have sold it as a Draenei or elven (or even combined) design and ran with it, but alas.

Nhani’s casual, leisure outfit is an overall look that has been enduring for some four years at least – I always liked the combination of orange and brown-ish colours to her skin and hair colour, and it’s no incident that Hani Foonmall tend to maintain the same colours. I actually managed to get lucky with getting the Gossamer Tunic (two leftmost pictures) off the auction house fairly cheaply; as an interesting note about how item level and quality doesn’t necessarily need to match appearances, you might recognize the skirt as the Orc Shaman starter kilt, and the shirt under the tunic as the human/dwarf/gnome warrior starter shirt.

Nhani’s old priestess robe – amusingly enough the Gossamer Robe – was another lucky find. Though she uses it fairly rarely these days, it’s a design she’s relied on far more than the more famous Mooncloth robe; I always felt the Mooncloth robe looked strange on her with her pale skin, while the gossamer robe was a little more dull gray and didn’t have the same problem. It was also more covering and matched up with her typical headdress better, so I simply relied on it a great deal more. It just seemed more fitting.

Then.. there’s this. There’s actually an interesting story behind it; the Yelnenu channel randomly spoke up and decided that I should get a Mooncloth robe, a bow and go up stand next to Tyrande and just look alike for the sake of amusement. I had some resistance to the idea at first, part because as stated I never felt the Mooncloth robe fit Nhani that well, part because both prior Nhani incarnations had their Mooncloth robe made by one-time Lights of Elune member Arthena, and she stopped playing years ago. Still, with enough prodding I had a robe, a bow and on it went.. and it wasn’t quite right. So I started thinking about it, and asked whether anyone remembered there being an orange-ish Mooncloth robe lookalike; turns out there was – Elegant Robes. Splendid. Were they on the Auction House? No, of course not. Curses!

What began was essentially a multi-day hunt with one of my more fashion-oriented fellow nubs pitching in and getting a lucky drop of one; never let it be said that the former Lights of Elune aren’t willing to sacrifice for appearances!

And so Nhani ended up with her own Tyrande lookalike outfit, matching with how a few other of the upper tier Priestesses have their own colour variations. Whether I’ll extensively use it I haven’t quite decided yet, but I do like the look of it – especially with how it matches her headdress. As for the headdress itself, it’s probably the most enduring piece of any outfit Nhani has ever worn; though there’s several colour variations and she’s made use of several, the orange one is the most common. I’m not entirely sure why it ended up that one, but it always seemed to fit her. It was the one thing I made sure to hunt down before I took the leap and made the warrior into Nhani; all other articles of clothing could be found later, but before she could even presume to play the role of Nhani Moonfall, she needed the headdress.

26 Responses to “Looking the Part”


  1. 1 Moltrazahn
    March 16, 2010 at 17:55

    *grins* On Argent Dawn on my Nightelf Warrior, i too have a good load of mixmatching rp sets… My favorite though, is Deathbone Boots, belt and gloves (scholo), Paired with Siperfang Carpase (BRD area) and fianlly Sentinel’s Plate Legguards (Silverwing Supply Officer). You get the old look of Sylvanis from UC (without the skirt), and being a nightelf, its quite fancy looking.

    However, being a bard, its about the tale of your items appearance, not the “omg i look like sylvanis” 😉

    But yes, RP outfits are great, i hope that we get to see more interesting design in Cata which one can mixmatch with again… instead of the same basic model/skin with afew nugs and tweaks.

    and speaking of tyrande, the new mosiac from blizzard with her in it was orgasmicly great!

    • 2 Nhani
      March 17, 2010 at 07:43

      That image is great, yes. We want more of that Tyrande in the game! Gief!

      • 3 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        March 17, 2010 at 10:06

        I got the non-mosaic image as my wallpaper now. I have to agree, Tyrande looks better in that than I’ve ever seen her before. I hope it’s a good sign of things to come for her – and think about this as well, Nhani: If Tyrande gets updated before the world goes mad, you’ll have a new one to play around with for the comic.

        And frankly, a Tyrande that looks THAT good can’t be frowned upon at all.

        • March 17, 2010 at 13:56

          It’s easy to say she looks VERY good ifyouknowwhatimsaying mhm?!

          Right.

          I also have that picture as my desktop and i’m very glad some racial leaders who almost get nothing of new lore anymore ( such as Vol’jin, Cairne, Lor’themar, Mekkatorque, sadly Tyrande, Magni and Velen) get nice new art.

          It’s a bit odd to see Lor’themar and Sylvanas surrounded by ‘Monsters’ but i really like a gathering of all the leaders.

          i wonder if the Leaders sometimes come together for a party or something…like a hiking trip.

          • 5 Gordrake Thunderhoof
            March 17, 2010 at 14:16

            It is a nice gathering there, and if it weren’t for the divisions between them all I think they’d make a good hiking team. But I can’t help looking at Thrall’s hammer and thinking “Damn…wish I had one like that.”

            Admittedly, though, I don’t know what to think of the gnome. He looks like a mobile rechargeable battery pack.

            …and while I do know what you’re saying, I have enough respect for the High Priestess to not think of her like that. Besides, I don’t want Nhani drilling that respect into me either…you remember last time you spoke of Tyrande?

            • March 17, 2010 at 15:02

              You think she’s still mad about that?
              i said I was sorry…sort of. Enjoying the warbear though.

              Personally i imagine Thrall and Vol’jin taking a break wedsday, why not? , and go fishing while Varian and Magni play chess. Tyrande, Velen and Jaina probebly have a book club. Sylvanas and Lor’themar…i dont know, discussing tactics maybe?

              It’s sad that some weapons or gear the leaders have are not obtainible for us. I understand from a lore pov i cant get the Doomhammer or the sunstrider bow, but a look alike would be nice.

              Same goes with a grunt armor set, i think all lv 1’s should start of with a grunt-sentinel-footman like set.

  2. March 16, 2010 at 20:05

    The noly reason i still wear my lv 68 blue Headress of inner rage is because it fits my Beast-master persona. Screw what other people say, a Beast-master has a Wolf/Bear helmet and that’s final!

  3. March 17, 2010 at 00:45

    So are you actually on a RP server. I’ve always wondered what they are like but not really knowing anything about them it kinda leaves me thinking I don’t want to get involved and look stupid.

    I like the idea of RP as it can probably make you some really good friends but with all the RP, when do you level/quest etc? How does it work?

    If you are not on a RP server then many apologies, it’s late and maybe I misread what you wrote. Great post b.t.w.

    • 9 Nhani
      March 17, 2010 at 07:34

      The first thing about roleplaying servers compared to regular ones is that they really aren’t that different – in fact, a very large portion of their player base aren’t in the least interested in roleplaying (a matter Blizzard has never cared to acknowledge) so you’ll still have the same mixed language, random out of character blather in places like Dalaran and so forth; just as you’ll run across people who sometimes run up to you, stare at you and then run off – or possibly drop a comment about why are you wearing that item, it sucks, before running off.

      I know there’s been plenty of people who went to create their first character on a roleplaying server expecting it to be this hugely different experience only to be grossly disappointed from the get go because there was no roleplaying whatsoever in sight.

      In theory, roleplaying servers mean that you essentially play as your character, rather than you; you give them an identity, past, goals and act along it; trying to envision the game world as a living, breathing place rather than just a game world. It’s all improv acting in a sense; sometimes with props, sometimes without. You pick a character and you act. In practice, it’s still a game, and roleplayers quest, instance and raid the same way any other player might; and to some extent, the continuity of it becomes naturally wonky because game reality and world reality are two very separate entities, seeing how most NPCs are blissfully ignorant of a whole lot of game mechanics, except for when they directly need to speak about your own.

      Some people treat every single action and event as in character; I could make an analogy to theater with an audience: some actors never leave character and if the audience yells up they might go “what was that?!” and react – and interact with it. Some other actors keep character only on stage and try to ignore events that are out of context in favor of keeping with the matter at hand.

      Personally, I always valued the flow of continuity, so I tend to by large avoid being in character for quests, instances and raids because repeating narratives over and over doesn’t really make that much sense. Still, I try to make sure I have some sort of fallback in character excuse for everywhere I am if confronted.

  4. 10 Mouse
    March 17, 2010 at 00:48

    I still mourn the day the look of the Drillborer Disk was changed. Just as I’d gotten my grubby paws on it, bam! it turns from the ultimate Gnome shield something overly shiny. For those that don’t know or remember it originally looked like the shields the Holdout Warriors have in Gnomeregan.

    I suppose I’m lucky we had things like the Force Reactive Disk to fall back on, even more lucky that in my desperation to get the Drillborer that I’d picked up the schematic for the FRD along the way.

    I’m a hoarder when it comes to RP gear, a downfall of playing the ever-so slightly frustrated girlie-girl in plate means that RP gear on top of the old tier sets I can’t bear to part with and the current duel spec gear sets (like you, I like to think I can play arms but can’t). I tend to have only a handful of bag slots free and I may as well forget vault space.

    • 11 Nhani
      March 17, 2010 at 07:42

      I’m actually somewhat annoyed about the Force Reactive Disk; I spent a great deal of resources getting it for in-game Areen because it was gnomish and fit her armor.. and when I finally have it I get to enjoy it for a week or two before I suddenly suffer some sort of mental breakdown and Areen end up transformed into the latest incarnation of Nhani. Blargh.

      At least I expect her to possibly make a comeback in Cataclysm as a Priestess..

      And I know exactly what you mean; on my two older characters (rogue and priest, respectively) I’ve had to go over “spring cleaning” to clear out bank space, murdering any item I never really used and could replace with some degree of ease. Warrior haven’t really had time to amass the same amount of gear just yet – especially with Wrath gear not really matching anything but itself – so I actually have bank space available! Incredible, amazing, etcetera!

      I don’t expect it to last, especially since I was convinced to temporarily swap out my arms spec for a prot/bloodthirst spec so I play invincible in outland heroic dungeons. I fully expect the game to taunt me by throwing fashionable pieces of gear at me as a result..

  5. 12 saila aka wester
    March 17, 2010 at 08:15

    dang it you should see my bank all my 16 slots bags there are filled whit RP cloth gear.
    and i still think that i could get my hand on more.
    but been an RP combat that saila is she unsaly isent seen whit it.
    well maybe her RP engineer set and as said dang that some item is like the love in the air gas-mask as i think it would fit perfect on saila but she newer saw it even drop and i was there 10-13 times i think.

    • 13 saila aka wester
      March 17, 2010 at 08:22

      forgot to add. but i see if i cant get some screen-shot of my different gear.
      put them together to one big picture and post it so you all can see it.

  6. March 17, 2010 at 08:47

    Hey thanks for giving that update it most certainly helps.

    I may create a char on a RP and see how it goes. I would be nice to maybe find some people who are into the RP and it will make a change tobecome your char as opposed to just playing it.

    More food for thought

    • 15 saila aka wester
      March 17, 2010 at 09:30

      hay Dvotee an tip read http://www.wowwiki.com/RP .
      and play warcraft 3 or read one of the books/novels if you can.
      and do us all RP an server no vampire or lost son of arthas we are feed up whit that for the next 150 years or so.
      and this might be an poor/av-full tip, aim low so don´t start your caretaker as an nobble higher up person start him as common man/woman you know no one special.
      of coarse you can lie i think i actually pulled out one time that i was an diplomatic just to get away from trouble all in full RP.
      and Dvotee if you need an name for your caretakers here´s an descent name generator.
      http://www.seventhsanctum.com/index-name.php

      and drop me an /wisper if you join EU Shatar server alright?

    • 16 Gordrake Thunderhoof
      March 17, 2010 at 10:13

      Heh…I’ve actually been taking a stab at this sort of thing myself and, when I’ve finished reading up here, will be writing my own version of an RP guide starting today for about 10 weeks. It’s stuff most RPers will know, but those just getting into it will find the going easier, I think, with a few notes and such.

      Apologies to Nhani for the pluggage, but…this is the sort of thing I’m aiming to help with.

  7. March 17, 2010 at 10:52

    Thanks for the link Saila, I’ll head over now and have a look. I may just get into the RP when I eventually decide on a realm and what chat to start…More decisions.

  8. March 17, 2010 at 10:55

    Ohhh sorry for the multiple posts but i just re-read you post properly. I saw the link and went there. Caretaker wtf….ok I need some help haha and ok I’ll look at starting one on that server, as good as any I suppose (when I get around to it – tonight is a possibility)

    • 19 saila aka wester
      March 17, 2010 at 11:39

      probably an typo. caretaker should be character/avatar. and if your typing/spelling isent the best then eloquencer an wow addon will save your life.

  9. March 17, 2010 at 23:45

    Well I started a RP char on Earthern Ring realm (EU) so just need to understand thr add ons, create a story for her to post and then earn some gold. Not that muh to do them hahaha!!

    I hope for useful advise from all you RP folks out there

    Her name is Lyllyana Moonfall and is a night elf priest. I’ve posted a pic on my site if you wanna check her out 😉

  10. March 18, 2010 at 11:04

    Ok having been advised that Nhani is Moonfall I’ve decided to change her surname so as not to annoy anyone or step on your toes. Many apologies Nahni and once I’ve decided I’ll update my site when her new name.

  11. 22 saila aka wester
    March 21, 2010 at 16:26

    oh i think i said somewhere that i would post the link whit an picture of all the sets saila have and here it is

    the top left is her engineer outfit and the one top right is her formal.
    middle bottom RP combat set.
    bottom right and left is just everyday casual suits.

  12. May 23, 2010 at 12:10

    Interesting head-dress

    • 24 Nhani
      May 23, 2010 at 12:28

      The headdress (Nimar’s Tribal Headdress/Chieftain’s Headdress) has been the most enduring aspect of the overall visuals of priestess Nhani Moonfall; I’m not sure when I first picked one up.. mid 2005 or early 2006 sometime, but it’s the one persistent element. She’s worn light armor, heavy armor, robes and casual wear all.. but that style of headdress has been there throughout all of it.

      A character can’t be Nhani until they have one; all other choices of outfits are optional, but that headdress is essentially what makes it her. Obviously I can’t use it for occasions where I require top of the line gear, but it’s fairly common to see me keep it on even when doing daily quests and the like.

  13. September 8, 2013 at 13:48

    Hi, I can’t understand how to include your website in my rss reader.
    Can you assist me, please. Much appreciated info!

  14. November 15, 2016 at 17:06

    Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog
    and I’m impressed! Very helpful information specifically the last phase 🙂 I take care of such information a
    lot. I was looking for this certain information for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck.


Leave a Reply

