27
Apr
10

So another Random Render post..

Been quiet lately, I know; I’ve been planning to finish reading Stormrage so I could summarize up some sort of opinion on it, but so far.. I’ve not really wanted to finish it; there’s always other things I’d much rather be doing – something that really shouldn’t come as that great a surprise, all things considered. It hasn’t helped that I’ve been rather busy with project matters the last few weeks. Still, in the meantime, here’s a Random Render post. yay.

The core idea that set these off came about while embroiled in Battleground PvP actually – a few of my Yelnenu cohorts occasionally drag my shield-swinging prot into such activities and after finding myself having held the farm against a continous wave of forces next to (among other things) a male Draenei shadowpriest. Once it was over, I swiftly concluded that I had to come up with some random render of Nhani and her love interest(tm) fighting side by side. The main question after that being fighting what.. and where. A friend of mine ended up suggesting the Pit of Saron, and.. it went from there.


(Clicky for Large)

I always liked the narrative context in the Pit of Saron – how you’re not just fighting but actually to a point mounting a sort of rescue mission. The ending to the given narrative is rather bittersweet, of course, but it does provide an entry for what if you could mount a rescue for all those people. Bring hope to those thought lost – it strikes me as a very Nhani-esque thing to set out to do.


(Clicky for Large)

I haven’t really played around with the visuals of them going into danger side by side before; I’ve pictured it in my head, but not really in renders. You’d think it’d be an obvious target, but it actually took me a whole lot longer than I expected to come up with a good set of poses for it. Another thing is that I’m spending less and less time getting caught up in how he looked better as a Paladin – there’s an amusing extra set of symbolism that seems to pop up through his retcon into shamanism, and it suggests and undercurrent of having had a change of calling somewhere down the line. I still find it somewhat amusing how I’m effectively trying to run character development on an in-game NPC, but nonetheless. I suppose one of these days I’ll have to make a post solely dedicated to codifying the pairing, rather than just making imagery of them.


(Clicky for Large)
15 Responses to “So another Random Render post..”


  1. 1 Xel
    April 28, 2010 at 06:02

    Wow, fantastic render work here. I really like Nhani’s outfit. I have to say I like the second picture best. I like all the custom poses on the prisoners; it gives the scene quite the memorable feel that such an encounter would render to both the prisoners as well as the rescuers.

    You should do more projects like this: little mini-stories contained within just a few pictures. It is quite effective with your level of skill in rendering these images. Plus, it helps put some more narrative on the real Nhani Moonfall, which I’m certainly for.

  2. 2 TC
    April 28, 2010 at 07:49

    aye good work on the renderings but I am actually not too keen on her outfit, I know the options there is in the WoW world and I know casters run around in robes and so on, but it does seem “wrong” somehow for a armed melee combatant to look like a school teacher with plate pieces on… πŸ˜‰

    • 3 Nhani
      April 28, 2010 at 09:32

      The outfit’s really been designed as one gigantic compromise between several factors; it should look recognizably Priestess-of-the-Moon-y enough that in the least her own people would recognize her station by a glance, it should look armed and armored enough to give the impression that yes, she can totally kick arse, and it should look light and flexible enough to imagine that she could flip out and go all Prince of Persia or AltaΓ―r (or perhaps I should say Ezio now?) on her surroundings at a moment’s notice.

      So far, in spite of experimenting with several ways the skirt could be cut, the knee-length one is the best compromise I’ve found. Not only that, but it also forms a sort of aesthetic link (if you will) towards warriors of ancient greece, which is otherwise a fairly major contributor to Night elven visual environments. (What with, greek-ish marble pillars, Satyr and soforth)

      I might try to add some sort of armored top flaps to the skirt at some point to increase the similarities, and put a bit more emphasis still on the warrior aspect, but we shall see. Have a few other things I need to sort out eventually anyhow.

  3. April 28, 2010 at 09:34

    The pit of Sauron is one of my favourite instances, though I only have played on the Horde side.
    Sylvanas her reaction when Sindrigosa kills the Horde slaves was a tad harsh to me, save for my gf who plays a forsaken and thus is utterly dedicated to the banshee queen.

    Personally I dont understand why none of the Horde/Alliance champions in the tournament go to the Citadel to fight the Scourge (save the Death Knight one). So this litle story you have of Nhani and Collosus is very interesting in showing the participants of the Tournament did help.

    Like Xel says, it would be a good idea to have more of these stories around if you have the time. Your giving us free entertainment allready with the comic, so some free time on your end is not a comodity we should ask to take away from you.

    Sadly, just like I did with Tyrande, I took down the dreanei last week, he was a though bugger though, kept healing >.>
    On the plus side with his emblem i could buy my epic helmet πŸ˜€

    • 5 Nhani
      April 28, 2010 at 09:53

      A friend of mine has actually been trying to not-so-subtly nudge me into trying to write a lengthier and more extensive narrative starring Nhani; obviously, there’s a whole lot of simply thinking and planning involved as to what it’d be about and where it’d take place.. whether I’d hijack an event Blizzard constructed or invent my own, how to be fair on all sides referenced or involved and so forth.

      I really haven’t had the time to work much on it, so there really doesn’t exist anything beyond an idle suggestion that I could possibly try to narrate the Argent Tournament, from arrival up to the defeat of Anub’arak – obviously with several other characters and a few twists involved. That said, I have no idea whether I actually have the time, or whether it’d still be relevant by the time I might be able to get started (not to mention by the time I might expect to be done!)

      Shorter vignettes are simpler, and I like picturing short stories like this. Might even get to a point where I make one with dialogue if I have the time and enough of an idea.

      • April 28, 2010 at 10:00

        How about some renders but in between them you have a story going as in a book?

        • 7 Nhani
          April 28, 2010 at 10:12

          Might work; would be easier to run with vignettes (again) for that purpose, seeing how longer narratives need a whole lot more prep work to actually hold together into a coherent story.

          We’ll see when next I come up with a random narrative-ish render, I think. Might try to write a short snippet to go with it.

          • April 29, 2010 at 07:03

            Plus side on Nhani’s part as a Night Elf, you got 10 000 years of history to choose from. Can range from running from the legion, to her first relationship, her rise to priestesshood to this little adventure.
            The choice is yours!

  4. 9 Yunaris
    May 2, 2010 at 11:13

    If only Blizzard had made swords that looked like Nhani’s customised dagger. The daggers are very, very cool but they simply aren’t big enough to be wielded with a proper shield and still look cool.

    Awesome renders as always. πŸ™‚

  5. 10 Nirene Feathersong
    May 2, 2010 at 12:19

    I just noticed the crescent moon shaped on Nhani’s shield. Was it always there or did you add it yourself? Anyway, looks brillint. πŸ˜‰

    It would be thrilling to see Nhani walk into Ulduar and beat up some iron dwarves. Her outfit really gives me that impression, if anything. And, to be honest, we don’t really see that much action from the Kirin Tor mages and the Explorers’ League stationed at the start, so it would be cool if they followed all the way.

    • 11 Nhani
      May 2, 2010 at 17:44

      It’s not part of the standard model I got from the game, though it’s far from the only change I did to the shield either. The emblem comes from a.. staff, I think? I felt it was necessary to un-draenei the shield somewhat.

      • 12 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        May 3, 2010 at 10:56

        Speaking of shields…Areen’s one is modified isn’t it? With that fist icon in the front of it? Because…if it’s actually a shield in-game, I want to get it for Enyon. As in, last week get it. xD

        I think I got the shield it’s based off right now, though…so yeah. Second best.

        • 13 Nhani
          May 3, 2010 at 11:20

          Areen’s shield is modified, yes; you can somewhat see the original emblem underneath the fist, but since the model is normally just mirrored, texture wise, I actually use no less than three textures to make up her shield. One for the left half, one for the right half, and finally one for the back where you can see the wooden frame the metal is set on.

  6. 14 Shadda
    May 10, 2010 at 13:14

    Not a fan of Stormrage? I’ll have to admit, this one was my favorite WoW books so far. There were fewer descriptions of strange and excruciating magical deaths, for one thing. I know that some people frequently have issues with Rhonin and Krasus as characters, and while they do technically appear in the book it’s only in passing, like Knaak felt he had to explain why two such powerful individuals were absent. It’s difficult to go into details without giving away parts of the book to those who might want to read it, but barring one scene that had Tyrande running off like an angry teenager, I can’t think of anything too outrageous about the book. I guess I’ll wait until you review the book to say more. πŸ™‚

    • May 12, 2010 at 10:43

      Agreed, though guessing of whisper chats i had with our esteemed hostess I believe it’l be difficult to not see it as a review but more as a rant.


Leave a Reply

