30
Jul
10

Random Render: Colosos Smash

Like I suspect most people who play World of Warcraft, I’ve kept a fairly close eye on all the various scraps of information Blizzard throw our way to get a feeling of where it’s all headed. I haven’t really posted much about it here since – let’s face it – I’m not exactly your typical go-to person in terms of theorycraft; plot and narrative, sure, but there are far more competent people and places to judge where all the mechanical changes will take us. While some changes sound quite interesting (and others not so much), at the end of the day I can mostly just idly note that I won’t really know what it’ll be like until I can try the finalized result.

Hence why this is a Random Render post and not a theorycrafting one.

While ‘ol Nhani Moonfall’s main talent specialization is and remains Protection.. I tend to have Arms as the backup secondary – I’m not very good at it, but it’s nice to have for the times when I’d rather just swing a two-hander, and conceptually it matches her far better than Fury ever will. As a result, I keep an eye on it, and today I found out that Blizzard came up with a new ability attached to the arms tab named “Colossus Smash”. While I’m sure the ability itself will have its uses.. I found its name quite amusing in the context of Priestess Moonfall, seeing her choice in.. well.. company.

Sooo.. my mind did as it’s wont to do and took the concept down an interesting turn. Enjoy.


(Clicky for Large)

22 Responses to “Random Render: Colosos Smash”


  1. July 30, 2010 at 13:18

    Hey, what else are Draenei lovers for? They have tails for a reason y’know.
    Brings a new meaning to the term ‘Law Giver’ perhaps?

  2. 2 Piastol
    July 30, 2010 at 13:27

    Fatal inpact incomming!

    DUCK, LITTLE NAGA BOY! DUUUUCK!

  3. 3 Noriam
    July 30, 2010 at 16:07

    Eh, just to be picky your ‘it’s’ in the last line doesn’t need an apostrophe.

    … Aaaanyway, interesting work of randomness there. He must be pretty light or miss Moonfall needs some muscle edited in. Then again, shamans can walk on water, maybe he’s trying a similar trick.

    .. But did he ‘consent’ to being used as a club?

    • 4 Nhani
      July 30, 2010 at 16:16

      I thought the statement was “as it is wont to do”, wont being an action rather than a possessed attribute?

      As for his approval – perhaps he should’ve put that up for consideration before asking her to kiss frogs! Or some such! He could always feign injury after and get coddled.

      • 5 Noriam
        July 31, 2010 at 04:36

        Eh, true on that first point, I think it works both ways, although I don’t use ‘wont’ that much myself.

        He’s a shaman, man. Reincarnation.

        • 6 Nhani
          July 31, 2010 at 07:26

          I’ll admit, I’m actually not entirely sure how the statement is in essence, though I’m fairly certain you need an is there – possibly you could make it “as is its wont” but I’m not sure. To me it feels like there needs to be an is, no matter how I twist it.

          (I personally blame Legacy of Kain for permanently weirdifying my usage of the English language)

          • 7 Tomah
            August 3, 2010 at 18:50

            So, “Wont” and “Its”.

            Wont is an adjective, noun, or verb depending on context. By the usage in “wont to do”, we can assume it is not intended as a noun. You cannot possess “wont” in the non-noun form, because an adjective or verb are not actually objects. “Its” is the possessive form of the pronoun “it”, “it’s” is the contraction for “it is”.

            To make the sentence work using “Its”, we have to do a little fumbling with word-changing and reordering.

            “Sooo.. my mind has as its wont to take the concept down an interesting turn.”

            It could probably be rewritten more elegantly than that, but for a quick example, it’ll do.

            Simplified: If “It Is” is proper, it would be “It’s”. If you can replace it with “Mine”, “Yours”, “Hers”, or “His”, you want “Its”.

            As permanently weirdified as your English may be due to the nefarious wiles of video games, you did manage to navigate one of the most common stumbling blocks of the language adeptly. That “Its/It’s” thing manages to throw off quite a few people!

            Next week on needless and over thought grammar lessons: Am I using “who” when I should be using “whom”? It’s more likely than you think!

            • 8 Nhani
              August 3, 2010 at 19:10

              Interestingly enough, I’ve found that in my experience.. the its/it’s trap (along with your/you’re and even examples such as no/know) is often a greater issue for native english speakers than non-native ones. The reasoning behind this being that native speakers will often learn a language through speech first and will think it more in sound, while non-native speakers will learn the text and meaning relative to their own language first.

              So for a native speaker, its and it’s can often appear identical because there’s little to no vocal difference, while to non-native speakers the difference might be blatantly obvious in their own native language and it might seem a mystery why anyone’d ever confuse the two of them.

              Interestingly enough, as I’ve grown more and more naturalized towards the English language, I’ve found myself occasionally doing slips like that myself without thinking, which is somewhat embarassing. For the record, I hate writing in my native language because I’m rather horrible at it.

              As for who versus whom.. I think I have habit of actually using the latter far too much at times. Not sure where that came from. Then again, I generally hold the Legacy of Kain series up for permanently warping my use of the English language..

  4. 9 Gordrake Thunderhoof
    July 30, 2010 at 17:53

    I lol’d so hard when I got to the bottom of this one. Amazing job there at doing that – I needed it after recent RP misery.

    Another thing I made an avid note of is that you did the same thing as I did: Decided on a main Protection spec while having Arms spec as a back-up. I have noticed the main benefit of Arms is the primary focus on unremovable DoT’s and Criticals – two concepts that are relatively nonexistent for Fury, from personal insight into it – and having a focus on having a two-handed weapon as your choice for killing things with (I went for an axe…yeah.) to give a bonus towards heavy-hitting, rapid strikes that hit just as hard.

    Now…some people might not realise, but there is a benefit to a DoT-focused Warrior. Yes, you get other specs with DoT’s and other foul effects, but they are almost always dispellable: Diseases, Poisons, Curses and Magical effects. All are one healer away from going “poof!” and ruining your DPS. Warrior-based Arms DoT’s are essentially bleeding effects which, to my present knowledge, have no means of being removed at this time. Prevented, perhaps, but not erased like it never happened. You’ll appreciate it when you’re in for the long grind against some enemy that refuses to go down without a heal every two minutes.

    Outside the mechanical aspect, it fits Gordrake rather fittingly himself: He is a protector of his people first and foremost, as much as he is a protector of his ways and his race’s way of life and living. But he will gladly give everything he’s got to take down a threat, and will care little for his own safety for the sake of bringing down a foe that poses a greater threat to him in his mind. If he was fully recreated on a roleplaying server, he would utterly be devoted to preserving the peace and tranquility that their people have long revered but have only recently (in WoW timelines, at least) been able to have a chance of securing. Even if it meant going into a thunderous rampage and slicing apart swathes of the enemy.

    But yeah…going off on a tangent here. And I’m still laughing at that image that you formed for my eyes, an image I now will never get out of my head. Thank you for that, now my mother and guild members will think me insane for the next day or three. 😄

    • 10 Frostsaben
      July 31, 2010 at 10:19

      Weird, my warrior is protection/arms too… maybe it’s a thing of tank warriors, they can’t get the fury spec as off-spec!

      And at the picture, just too funny for words! New 2-handed weapon: a draenei!
      Is he used as a mace or as some other type of weapon?

      • 11 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        July 31, 2010 at 12:30

        Two-handed Mace, I’m certain of that. I should think the Armor Penetration bonus has skyrocketed, though, on that choice. Not to mention it’s a Legendary Weapon being used.

        As for Prot/Arms warriors…I am certain they can off-spec as Fury if they want to – I did it once, but I completely did not get the whole point of it. I feel a lot more comfortable in Arms…though I might try Fury again on another char. We’ll see.

        • 12 Nhani
          July 31, 2010 at 12:43

          I think in general, most off-spec into Fury actually, on account that – as far as I know – Fury outperforms Arms for damage output unless you have absolutely obcene gear, not to mention that I got the impression that Fury is much easier to play. Personally, I use Arms mainly for conceptual reasons – ‘ol Nhani Moonfall can be (and has been) a lot of things, but she’s not a mindless berserker. And while Arms generally tend to rule Pvp due to Mortal Strike and such.. I actually don’t use it for that.

          My own arms spec is a – to my knowledge – slightly unconventional one that makes it a little more freeform that I use for the few times I just do damage and nothing else. Otherwise, I’ll drag Prot into both tanking and pvp alike – people who think shields are just another suit of armor you hide behind haven’t realized just how much that “suit of armor” hurts when you hit someone in the face with it!

          Plus, I love the utility and mobility both. Protection Warriors have gone far from the “slow and ponderous” they once were.

          • 13 Frostsaben
            August 5, 2010 at 10:16

            Yes, I think Fury is more easy to play, which makes it in my view rather boring. I like to have a challange, not just click 2-3 buttons over and over. That’s why I tank most… think I only used Arms for leveling even, I should respec into a second Prot spec.

  5. 14 LolDrood
    July 30, 2010 at 21:00

    Ahhh, to read the though process of that naga.
    “Alllright, got me some heads to clobber! I show these feet-walkers not to mess with OH SWEET ZOMBIE JESUS WTF!!!”

  6. 15 Ilyara
    July 30, 2010 at 23:45

    I like the swish of her skirt and the sense of motion here ^^ Very funny too 😀

  7. 16 saila AKS Wester
    July 31, 2010 at 19:17

    well I got an arms warrior and I play arms becous as far as I found they can do an bit of tanking in that spec fury will go down way to fast in that if they end up as an emergency tank situation… believe it have happens in an pug that the tank died and I got to tank still whit twohand the mobs until the healer could bring the tank back up, afther some one said that I must had been arms becous I did survive that fury will to easy fall. It was an 5man thing BTW.
    oh btw soulde´t Draenei female thats fighting unarmed whit only there fist do slash damage and not blunt damage. I men look on how they use theres nails.

    • 17 Nhani
      July 31, 2010 at 19:44

      Uh, what? I’m sorry, but as much as I might be missing something here.. I don’t really see the “Arms more durable than Fury” bit – Arms specs have a greater tendency towards being pvp-centered which means they might have a bit more talent points invested in survival, I’d wager that gets part offset by the fact that Fury has a consistent self heal.

      In fact, due to that the currently best Warrior spec for soloing Burning Crusade heroics (as level 80) is a Fury/Protection mix build where you go Fury down to Bloodthirst and then the rest in Protection survival talents – it can’t really do anything but be this slow, steady, self-healing PvE wall, but it works for that one role.

      In my experience, Arms and Fury in PvE both tend to topple over the moment anything stronger than a gust of wind hits them – especially for a plate-wearing class.

      Additionally, there is no slashing or blunt damage types – both count as physical damage, unless imbued by another element. (though I suppose the sound effect could be different)

  8. August 1, 2010 at 04:43

    Let’s just hope she doesn’t swing so hard the poor guy loses his tail. :/

  9. 19 saila AKS Wester
    August 1, 2010 at 10:46

    well thats at the higer levels Im still around at the lower ones 30-45 somewhere there and that happen even earlier and I do have some stamina gear arms is supposed use something different.
    *shrugs* newer mind, Might be that I just got them down fast enough so that they diden´t course that mush damage on me, and It wasen´t like that I it was all mobs just the leftovers and an small grupe think it was 2 NPC that came in at the end I might had been tanking 3-4 NPC what we got was hunters in our team and half healer/DPS specked guys I men the tank was part DPS specked took him some time to find his shield to begin whit.((wrong bag from where he store his tank gear)) well it was an grupe where non had the right gear or talents for theres job.
    exept that DPS hunter.

  10. 20 kunkka
    August 2, 2010 at 06:34

    poor colloso, i dont even have a tail and that makes me wince.

  11. 21 Fokker
    August 2, 2010 at 23:06

    Just a side note, was her gear anyhow inspired by stuff worn by Moon Priestess Amara?
    (http://www.wowhead.com/npc=2151#.)

    • 22 Nhani
      August 3, 2010 at 19:20

      Not directly; it’d be fair to say that Moon Priestess Amara probably figured in to some degree, but I never thought of her as a direct source to mimic – especially seeing how Blizzard haven’t really tried to merge the styles with her so her outfit looks very patchwork.

      I think it’d be more correct to put it as both her outfit and that of ‘ol Nhani Moonfall has the same general intention – combine the Mooncloth-like dresses of the upper tier Priestesses of the Temple of the Moon with some Sentinel style and armor. Of course, Nhani’s outfit had some additional priorities beside that, such as mobility – while I wanted it to be Moon Priestess-esque enough to make that connection, I also wanted it to be something that allowed her to burst out running, jumping, climbing or fighting at a moments’ notice.


Leave a Reply

