03
Aug
10

Cataclysm and the Night elves: Regarding the Highborne

Like I’ve mentioned earlier, I do try to keep an ear to the ground regarding Cataclysm – while I’m largely in favour of most of the mechanical changes so far (they sound both interesting and like they have the potential to fix a great many pet peeves I have with the game at present), the narrative ones.. not always quite as much. I’ve been hearing a few random tidbits about the Highbornes getting integrated into the Night elves lately, so I thought I’d mumble a few thoughts on that note.


One notable thing I keep hearing mentions of every so often is that Blizzard apparently decided to add/update/retcon some of the Highborne Lore so that the Highborne who end up joining the Night elves in Cataclysm were apparently a good faction of the Highborne who thought Azshara was off her rocker and were thus shunned and weren’t welcome at Azshara’s court because they were all restrained and the like. The main question I have then is why – why this change? Unless they’ve also retconned the exile itself, any prior association to Azshara wasn’t at all why the Highborne were exiled – it was because they refused to give up magic, to the point where they unleashed a great magical storm on the Night elves in protest. This change doesn’t make the dangers of magic any less real, or make them any less guilty of the action that saw them exiled. If they’d given up on magic as decreed, then they wouldn’t have been exiled.

Of course, since I’ve heard none of that mentioned, it really strikes me as Blizzard swinging things that association with Azshara was the main reason the Highborne were put in exile, and this is all to paint the new additions as shining beacons of virtue to downplay them traditionally being shunned and resented, with the side effect of making the remaining Night elves narrow-minded and foolish. And while I could easily make another rant about Blizzard continously undermining Tyrande, I’ll spare you that rant and instead just wonder where Blizzard are taking all this. Did we really need for the new, added Highborne to be the virtue of righteousness who can do no wrong, as opposed to a people having to come to face with what they are and working to redeem themselves for past actions?

Of course, I’m not in the Cataclysm beta, so anything here is purely conjecture based on mostly second hand (or even third or more) information, so there could very well be a wealth of moments and events that I’m missing, but it really seems like there’s a whole lot that simply doesn’t add up. So the NPCs currently in the game implied to reintroduce the Highborne are from Eldre’thalas, the same place which have been leeching energy from a demon to keep themselves alive this long, and whose emissary in the Temple of the Moon has such an air of superiority and arrogance that it’s obvious ten thousand years of exile haven’t taught him the slightest bit of modesty and humility.. and still I’m told there’s implications that these are our good guys and the people who shun them are in the wrong?

I know there are people looking in who poke around the beta in some form or another, so I’ll end this with a question: if the Highborne are already available and interwoven with the narrative in the Cataclysm beta – is the above in any way representative of their portrayal, or does the narrative actually point out they have been/are shunned and with good reason? I actually wouldn’t mind being wrong about this, because it’s one of those things I hear from Cataclysm that really seem to rub me the wrong way, and I actually wouldn’t mind it if I’m wrong and it’s actually implied the Highborne have to carry their weight to redeem themselves, rather than just be accepted by default because they’re the new poster children.

40 Responses to “Cataclysm and the Night elves: Regarding the Highborne”


  1. 1 Eduvudd
    August 4, 2010 at 06:55

    I’d love to hear a bit more about the Highbornes. Like when some of them left to the Azeroth, and when the others became corrupt and turned into Naga and etc. Elven lore is very rich with events and such, even the Sytars, Naga, and Blood Elves have their own branches off the same tree.

  2. 2 Tialin
    August 4, 2010 at 07:16

    Yup, and the night elves are all but too happy about that. Now this particular change.. I don’t know. I do share Nhani’s opinion. A lot of the night elven lore that is going to be added seems a bit, well, not so good. And I guess that when you have been playing a Night elf for a long time and know the way they were depicted in Warcraft 3 in almost sheer contrast to WoW it just gnaws at you.

  3. August 4, 2010 at 08:21

    In my opinion the Night elves have been given not so good lore ever since WoW started. Dont get me wrong some additions were quite awesome, Like Tyrande freeing Ysera’s consort from the Nightmare or Maeive’s come back and her goal of killing Illidan, but most of it wasn’t that great, the Highborne lore here counts as that.

    I think the reason why Blizzard does this is to appease their new players.

    Cataclysm is supposed to make the game more enjoyable for new players and thus want to give them some background to their classes. New players still think in the lines of humans-elves-dwarves= Good while Orc-undead-troll= Evil.

    Blizzard knows that and wants to give their ‘Good side’ these benevolent factions in spite of what questionable things they did in the past.

    Somehow I cant help but point at Rhonin. For some reason this ‘maverick mage’ who killed some of his allies in a mission and kept punishing himself for it is suddenly elevated to be head of the Kirin Tor and has a hot elf wife to boot.

    When we look at Sylvanas however come Cataclysm, she’s gone completely toward the ‘evil’ side with her attacks on Gilneas and going against Garrosh’ orders (using th new plague and Val’kyr), along with other Horde characters of the Western Horde who willingly kill innocents to get the job done.

    They are taking the more questionable aspects of characters and factions to further cement the ‘Good’ and ‘Evil’ between the two factions which I do not like.

    To come back to your question, Blizzard tells us a story, but they keep their target audience in mind while telling it. By making these Highborne not as evil as they first were they hope players will roll more night elf mages because they seem to be more like ‘redeemers’ in the eyes of the new players, and thus ‘cool’.

    That’s my two cents anyway.

  4. 4 Aerdoan
    August 4, 2010 at 11:28

    Having run around the new version of Feralas (SPOILERS you have been warned) this was the first zone I actually came across real mention of the Highborne. I’ve gone through Darkshore, Ashenvale, Stone Talon, Desolace, and Feralas thusfar but they really don’t show up until Feralas as quest givng NPCs.

    First: they are from Eldre’thalas as you surmised. Dire Maul West has actually been lowered to be a lvl 42ish instance with Highborne quest givers inside asking you to free a couple of their once brethren (kill some ghosts) as well.

    Second: they are every bit as arrogant as the representative in Darnassus, and they are not treated with flowers and candy and tiny stuffed furbolgs. The lead Sentinal in the new fortress on the coast (primary quest hub upon entering from Desolace) does not like them and barely trusts them, but given the circumstances…

  5. 5 Eduvudd
    August 4, 2010 at 20:23

    So whats it going to be like in game? Cause when I saw Night Elf mages I was like wtf is Blizzard doing. I remember the night elves abandoned alot of arcane magic after the demon invasion, also why the Highbornes were banished and NE wanted nothing to do with them. So if I roll a NE mage, is it actually going to be a Night Elf, or will it be a Highborne? Blizzard is crashing down on their own lore and its starting to loose it

    • 6 Nhani
      August 4, 2010 at 20:45

      To be honest, Metzen even came out and said that the main reason that Night elves are getting mages in Cataclysm was because he/Blizzard Lore team felt that it would be “cool” for them to get something they shouldn’t, and such.

      As for where it leads, I’m not sure, yet. I think I heard something that the player mages would either be highborne or new ones trained by them, but I’m not entirely sure how exactly they will solve it with starting zones and such.

      That said, the old highborne are Night elves – the only ones that are specifically highborne in terms of race are the actual High elves (and the blood elves, which are High elves that use(d) fel magic to sate their addiction.

      As for their lore.. Blizzard are pretty much doing what they’ve always done – they go with what they think sounds cool and interesting and don’t pay too much attention to continuity while doing it. Usually enough it’s not that bad, but Warcraft as a narrative and franchise both has been around for quite awhile, and all the small tweaks, changes and retcons are part starting to catch up.

      • August 4, 2010 at 21:40

        I heard the players would be night elves who decided to become mages because of the novelty of it. As shown with Illidan he had druidic skills but preferred the arcane path. Disgrunteld Priests and Druids perhaps?

        Metzen did a lot of retcons for Warcraft’s history, and Starcraft to in some points, and because he is main ‘writer’ for this universe, he can change whatever he want when he wants it. He does care about his fans though.

        However to Night elves have been taking ‘one for the team’ for ages now….

  6. 8 Frostsaben
    August 5, 2010 at 10:23

    Speaking of which, not really the highbourne thing, but did you see the new Malfurion and Ysera models?
    I think Malfurion looks good, but Ysera looks like a purple blood elf.
    Since Blizzard said they want to bring new player textures, I fear for the day they might turn the females night elves into those blood elves only with different colours.

    Also people support the new model on the basis that it looks like blood elf and if night elves would get that model they could play Alliance blood elves so to say, or they could even take the lighter skins and say they’re high elves… I fear for the day that could happen.

    • 9 Nhani
      August 5, 2010 at 11:05

      Upon seeing the Malfurion model, I burst out laughing. He just looks hilarious, and I think the blue hair colour he had back in WarCraft III better framed his face – the green just looks so out of place, somehow; it doesn’t matc him.

      As for Ysera, her model looks painfully reused – it’s pretty much Alexstrasza with a few texture changes, some very slight model tweaks and druid shoulders – the new segments look rather out of place compared to the old ones since they have different styles across them. Alexstrasza was at least a little more of an edit than that from the Sylvanas model she’s based on (or maybe was based on her – I’m not sure which one Blizzard made first)

      At any rate, I don’t know what the otherwise responses have been – the Ysera model looks somewhat lazy, especially in places like the ears, and I’m not sure I’m too keen on the growing habit of using Blood elven models for more Night elven ones, see Maiev and now Ysera. I rather prefer the Night elves having a larger, more feral frame compared to the willow-thin blood elves who look like they’d be carried away by any amount of wind stronger than a summer breeze.

      That said, I do envy several of the Blood elven animations which were in many cases given a dignity that Blizzard have repeatedly denied the Night elves. I know several people who would kill for Night elves to have the Blood elven female stealth animation.

      • 10 LolDrood
        August 5, 2010 at 15:11

        Random thoughts on various posts are as follows:
        The new Malfurion is a slap in the face; I thought it was a joke when wow.com posted it. Dear god.

        Nelf magi inherently makes no sense. I suspect there will be a shoehorn of, “we’re losing Ashenvale, we need the help” woven in there somewhere, possibly also something like Highborne magi helped stabilize the Gilneans. One could make the argument that, after the Third War, the damage regarding flagrant magic usage has already been done.
        The reality of course is just that someone at Blizz wants to roll a nelf mage, so lore be damned. Tauren paladin make no damned sense, either, but hey, might as well give them total dominance of every horde tanking class.

        I worry about what’s going to happen with certain members of the Alliance leadership. Color me wrong if I am, but have they done ANYTHING with Tyrande (or night elves as a whole) in almost 6 years? Well, that’s not true, there are those asinine Nelf encampments in the Blood Elf starter areas, because apparently the Night Elves have nothing better to do then sail around the world and dick with things. Couldn’t even give them a Northrend port, despite being the closest Alliance base to the continent.
        And maybe it’s just me, but what is up with Jaina these days? One of the most powerful mages in the world, and she’s been Wrynn’s gopher the entire expansion, building up to her crying for “her king” in ICC, which always makes me give a Tom Servo level, “He’s not your King!!”

        I’m not sure who this Metzen guy is, but he can feel free to leave his high school male empowerment fantasy novels at the door. We got two steroided-up frat boys growling at each other, a mewling domestic-abuse-victim-in-training handmaiden, and the only other major player in the last 6 years dresses like a sex kitten. Graaaaah nerd rage!

        Wow, that turned into a rant real fast. Sorry, all. >_>

        • 11 LolDrood
          August 5, 2010 at 15:12

          Whoop, that wasn’t supposed to be a reply. >< Smooth.

        • 12 Nhani
          August 5, 2010 at 15:52

          I admit, this part — “Nelf magi inherently makes no sense. I suspect there will be a shoehorn of, “we’re losing Ashenvale, we need the help” woven in there somewhere, possibly also something like Highborne magi helped stabilize the Gilneans.” — is among my standing concerns with Cataclysm, and part of why this is the second Cataclysm and the Night elves post I’ve made.

          Interestingly, Jaina I didn’t have that much of a problem with – or wouldn’t if not for all the other bits. If anything, she’d be the one major person in the Warcraft setting I would expect that sort of reactions out of. The problem is that thanks to Knaak, we’ve seen Tyrande (and others) act exactly the same way lately, which starts making it seem rather.. off.

          Additionally, if you want to un-reply it, just post a non-reply and I’ll push the text in this one into it and delete the reply.

        • 13 Frostsaben
          August 8, 2010 at 10:53

          To be honest I do agree that he looked tons better with blue hair(Malfurion) but I still belive the current model is beeing ruined mainly by the mustache since I saw a picture of someone who cut it out and it looked really like the “old Maulfurion”. The feathers are a bit weird, but I won’t judge on that since night elves are supposed to look weird to human eyes.

          About Ysera, yes, I was really unhappy to see her model as that of a blood elf, I’d rather keep the bounce and applaud emotions then to be a blood elf.

          Also I saw recently all females in WoW are starting to be portrayed as damsels in distress. The only exception I see is Sylvannas, except that Tyrande will be shadowed by Malfurion(excluding the events of the novel which make her look like a wimp), the supposed goblin female leader is gone, Jaina is “I’m so proud of you my king *cry*”, even Maghda Grimtotem will dissapear from lore since she’ll be killed, and Rhonin’s wife, forgat her name even. No matter what people said before and what blizzard promoted in regards to equality, in these terms I feel female characters are treated like crap and shadowed by males. I am happy that Malfurion is making his return and he’s in Darnassus, but if that means that Tyrande will just sit there another 100 years doing nothing, not even end quests since Malfurion can end them now, I’d have rather have not gotten Malfurion back at all.

  7. 14 Árcfélonas
    August 5, 2010 at 12:34

    Well having seen and heard what I have done regarding the high-borne I will be sceptical to say the least. My RP character on my realm who is a NE DK probably won’t even give them the time of day simple reason is he was around as a child during the War of Ancients and has little time for the people amongst his people who caused it or Azshara any of her followers he will probably treat them with complete contempt if not down right hostility and it will be hard for anyone who plays one to gain his trust.

    I don’t like what I am hearing with Cata in some ways but in others it would a nice change from the status quo. The other thing that annoyed me with the beta was the fact it would not allow me to go to my native rez on my screen so I had to take it off a pity because it frankly looked bloody cool but hey will ill just have to wait for the real thing. I guess reserving judgement is probably best for now I just hope Blizzard is not going to let us down at the last hurdle.

  8. 15 Aldrius
    August 5, 2010 at 12:41

    Yes, I’m not sure how I feel about the existence of Highborne in the Night Elves. A somewhat necessary evil I suppose, the Night Elves almost require a new race/class combo based on the fact that everybody else is getting one. (And some of the others are about as silly as Night Elf mages… Tauren Paladins for example…) And Night Elf mages I guess are preferable to Night Elf Paladins, Shaman or Warlocks.

    Actually, you might somewhat appreciate this, the Night Elf I’m playing in the beta servers is an old-school Night Elven Priestess. Basically a surly, sarcastic, rough around the edges veteran of the War of the Ancients, who pretty much embodies Night Elven conservatism. She hates the Horde, hates the Alliance (“push out one alien invader and then invite the other over for tea…”), hates the Draenei, hates the existence of Highborne in her forests, and thinks that male Night Elven priests and female Night Elven druids are insane. (Thinks the Female druids are weak and feminine, while the male priests are foolish and ill-equipped for the pressures of being a priest of elune.)

    I’m still really hoping Tyrande manages to do something, though. After seeing all Sylvanas is doing in Lordaeron, and all the involvement that Garrosh, Vol’jin, Furion, the council of Ironforge amongst other things makes me really hope Tyrande’s gonna get in on that somewhere as well. (Maybe Silithus, Winterspring or Felwood.) Just because Furion’s doing a lot doesn’t mean that translates over to Tyrande. =\

    • 16 Nhani
      August 5, 2010 at 15:45

      Actually, I find it rather interesting how people chose to associate Night elves and tradition – far more often than not, it always becomes insular and xenophobic with a dash of violence.. and I never quite agreed with that. While I can definitely see some being like that, ‘ol Priestess Nhani Moonfall has never been that way.

      Nhani, rather, can be slow to trust, but still tries to treat even temporary allies with dignity and respect, and once she accept someone as trustworthy and dependable, she’ll stick up for them. While she can sometimes fall into the trap of viewing much of the rest of the Alliance as children, she does her best to respect the Night elves being part of it – part because she’s grown to accept them, part because High Priestess Tyrande Whisperwind has declared them allies – Nhani’s not about to contradict the High Priestess without a very good reason.

      It goes further, too – Nhani was suspicious of the Draenei until she realized that Eredar are effectively to Draenei what Satyr are to Night elves, at which point she developed a sense of kinship with them, she innately mistrusts Highborne and arcanists, but will give them a chance if they are considered allies.

      While I take issue with Night elven mages, I expect Nhani’ll have an easier time of it – if Tyrande tells her to accept them, she’ll accept them. She might not like it, but she’ll accept them, and she’ll tell any of her kin to do the same out of responsibility. As a Priestess, she has a duty to her people that go beyond her own personal feelings and judgment.

      It all plays into what Nhani is like, of course – I always figured her not only old enough to remember the Sundering, but old enough to remember that the society the Night elves adapted post Sundering was once new and revolutionary. As a result.. it always struck me that in these troubled nights, she understands the world is changing, and that once more the Night elves must adapt, lest they get trampled by the change.

      As a random aside, “feminine” is likely the last word Nhani would use to describe female druids, considering I’d expect Nhani to associate the word more with the Night elven Priestesses and Sentinels. It does create a funny sort of reversal where I think it’d be fair to say that ‘ol Nhani Moonfall to some degree associates the term “masculine” with “stay at home and tend the garden”, heh.

      • 17 Aldrius
        August 5, 2010 at 18:43

        Ah! Well of course I don’t think ALL night elves are that way, though I think a lot of them would be, I just thought the idea of this old ill-tempered night elven priestess who’s old enough to remember the sundering and hates all the changes to her sacred forest, and has the personality and disposition of Clint Eastwood was an interesting idea for a character.

        Plus it was a nice outlet for all my displeasures with the changes in the Night Elves’ flavour and themes. (I haven’t really liked the direction Blizzard’s taken them in for most of WoW, giving them a second chance in Cataclysm.) So far I haven’t made my decision on the Night Elves… Teldrassil is mostly unchanged, but that’s not such a bad thing. (Lots of stream-lining of quests, and the actual ‘purifying’ of Teldrassil is more apparent, phasing is used pretty extensively like I’m sure with most Cataclysm zones.) The plot also moves a lot more briskly, and it doesn’t meander quite as much as it used to.

        Balonda (as I’ve called her) just pretty much doesn’t like anybody. Though I think she may grow to respect the Tauren in time. (or perhaps already has.) I think in general she finds the idea of ‘the light’ distasteful, and she doesn’t want to share her forest with those who don’t understand it. I’m not sure how she’ll feel about the Worgen yet. Need more information. (Actually I don’t even think SHE knows enough about the worgen to make a judgement yet, she’s not stupid.)

        • 18 Frostsaben
          August 8, 2010 at 11:03

          About night elven mages, I doubt they’d get treated like friends, but more like human warlocks.

          Also I disagree with the fact no other class would have fitted the night elves. Night elf shamans fitted them perfectly.

          The night elves lived on the same continent with tauren, some great shamans to whom they tought druidism, so the tauren must have given something in return.

          Also before the Warcraft 3 events the night elves lived close to some other shaman races like furbolgs with whom we knew they were really good friends and Cenarians, which are known to pick up some form of shamanism too besides the druidic nature.

          And now new allies have joined them, the draenei, a race who respects nature and tried to undo the harm they have caused and they have a shamanic part too.

          Also shamanism is different from druidism by the fact the shamans talk to their ancestors… but we already know the wisps are friendly spirits of said ancestors who have remained to help their still living loved ones, so the night elves already do talk with their ancestors.

          The only other significant difference is seeing the life in other places then in forests, like shamans say, even in the deserts one can find life if they look for it.

          So all in all I don’t think the night elves would have passed the opportunity to learn something new, maybe not at a great scale, but a few at least sure. And a few are more then enough to start a revolution.

    • 19 wowplayer
      August 7, 2010 at 15:53

      I would rather tyrande do nothing than she embodies the whole damsel in distress thing in the books… if she does I will race change my nightelves or delete them

  9. August 6, 2010 at 14:36

    The Worgen-Night elf thing is kind of weird in my opinion.
    What is Blizzard trying to say, are the Night elves and the Worgen the new Orcs-Trolls or Human-dwarves?
    If Darnasus has a district devoted to the Worgen, where does that come from?

    I thought the Night elves and the Draenei were close, how do they react to the Worgen?

    • 21 Nhani
      August 6, 2010 at 15:33

      I think it was just a patch fix to hand the Alliance more druids, really – like Ties into Scythe of Elune: Check. Lets Worgen be Druids: Check. Okay, go. A convenient solution, basically. And then drum the narrative out from there.

      As for the Draenei, I’d love to see Cata doing something with them, but they almost seem like they’ll be largely forgotten in favour of the new golden boys in Worgen. Same way I’d be surprised if there’s much of anything about Death Knights in Cata beyond that they exist and that’s it.

      • August 8, 2010 at 09:06

        Koltira and Thassarian are fighting over Andorhal in Cataclysm, other then that there is little DK storyline as far as I could find out so far from my sources aka Youtube or WoW.com.

        Same goes with Draenei, nothing new about their starter zones. I’m kinda sad about that since I think the Draenei need a lore injection asap, they’re supposed to be the night elves closest allies really.

        • 23 Frostsaben
          August 8, 2010 at 11:06

          Indeed, the draenei really have nothing, at least blood elves got a new class, they got some lore in Wrath(along with their almost extinct but not really extinct since they’re everywhere high elf brothers) while draenei just got 2 quests. Well should be thankful they were not fully forgatten, but still, in Cataclysm they could do something about Forest Song at least, from the screenshots there I saw they didn’t even finished building those tents there… and Ashenvale is already done…

          • August 8, 2010 at 15:51

            Forest Song is a disappointment, if anything it would be a perfect place for a war zone.

            Hell you could make it a Alliance questing hub where at the end you have to pull it from the overwhelming Horde forces, distracting them from Astranaar.

  10. 25 Tomah
    August 6, 2010 at 21:54

    I rolled a Night Elf mage quickly and took notes on the class-specific starting area stuff. Going to head to Darnassus next and poke around to see where the trainers are hiding. An interesting side-note is that when you’re on your way up the ramp along the outside of Aldrassil, stepping near a certain room triggers a conversation:

    Doranel Amberleaf says: Don’t get me wrong… I’m grateful to have Malfurion back, but this is all really suspicious. What happened to Fandral?
    Moriana Dawnlight says: Shh! Someone’s here.

    On to the mage notes. I’ll refrain from commenting, you can draw your own conclusions from the text.

    The Night Elf mage “go see your trainer” quest text reads:
    “This sigil was given to me by a messenger from our mage trainer, Rhyanda. It seems Rhyanda would have words with you when you have a moment. Read it and bring it to her afterwards.”

    It gives you an item called “Forbidden Sigil”.
    “I hope this sigil finds you well, (name). The Archmage told me of your coming and I sent word immediately.

    With all that has happened in the past years to bring arcane magic back to our race, you may find struggles and trials ahead. I can help with such things. When you are ready, find me inside Aldrassil, on the second level.

    -Rhyanda, Mage Trainer”

    Rhyanda says:
    “Choosing the path of a mage is to choose a path of great difficulty. Many do not understand us. Our own people struggle to accept our arts.”

    The quest turn-in text reads:
    “I’m glad that you’ve come, (name).

    I will be your mentor and guide for now. It is my duty to teach you the arcane arts and how you might best fit in among our people.

    As you learn and grow in power, you will learn an immense variety of spells that should allow you to deal with nearly any situation. But until then, return to me as often as you like and I will teach you what I can in the ways of our kind.”

    She then offers a quest to learn and use Arcane Missiles. The quest text reads:
    “We are the heirs to a legacy of arcane magic and your path will not be an easy one. Many still hold us responsible for the actions of our forebears, but our talents are needed.

    (And some other unrelated stuff about how Arcane Missiles works now.)”

    The completion text reads:
    “I knew you would master this lesson quickly. You are a credit to the highborne and to all our kin. Remember, as you grow in power, return to me and I will instruct you further.”

    • 26 Tomah
      August 6, 2010 at 22:05

      It looks like they haven’t updated Darnassus to include mage trainers that aren’t draenei just yet. The only thing that seems to be updated is Malfurion’s presence. He stands next to Tyrande, looming and generally looking like a guy who hasn’t quite realized just how ridiculous his beard is yet, but she remains leader of the Darnassus faction, her spot in the center of her balcony, and has a whopping 103 million health (roughly equal to 25-man hard mode Lich King).

      • 27 Aldrius
        August 7, 2010 at 05:32

        I don’t even think Furion is supposed to be there. They act in Darkshore as if he’s JUST showing up now.

      • 30 Frostsaben
        August 8, 2010 at 11:11

        I think I saw a screenshot of a worgen-druid like tree in the north, should be around where the little pool with nightsabers around it was. North-east of the cenarion enclave.

      • 31 Krikkett
        August 8, 2010 at 15:06

        Is she even looking at him yet? The last time I was there he was standing there like a goof and she actually had her back turned like she was a little embarrassed to be seen with him in his new getups.

    • 36 Frostsaben
      August 8, 2010 at 11:10

      Thank you for that info, very interesting.

      “but our talents are needed.”

      Well, you hate us but you know you need us so we’re laughing in your face now since you can’t handle stuff without us. <= this is the exact feeling that quote gives me.

  11. 37 gryffyn
    August 22, 2010 at 17:17

    Those who have trouble with the various races alliances need only crack open a few history books to see how things can change so rapidly. The enemy of my enemy is my ally. Look at France vs England and Prussia (Germany)and then the turnaround in WW 1 and 2. Now they are all one big happy family even though they have been slaughtering each other by the millions for the past 200 years give or take.

    Funny thing is, mages make a LOT of sense for the Nelfs. Think about what has gone on in their history and recent history. They are really not the power they used to be. The humans and dwarves have surpassed them. The cream of their race has been pulled away from the forests to fight in Outland and Northrend and the constant contact with not only other alliance races but Horde races in the neutral cities has got to affect them. They see that mages are not feared by humans but even have their own city and are almost revered.

    I think about my night elf warrior. He is in elf terms the same age as I am, middle 50s making him pretty ancient in human terms. Gryffyn has been around the block so many times he has worn a deep groove. Having fought his way with the other alliance races right to the very heart of the frozen throne, I can bet that when he is trying to hold back all the nastys from his party he isn’t gonna care if it is a mage that AOEs them into a puddle. Despite what he has had hammered into his head you can bet he starts to question if the mages really were the only cause of the Sundering or if it was the leadership.

    Hey, he is just a grunt sitting on the point of the spear trying to live long enough to go back to Ashenvale to one of those houses and just let others pick up some of the slack.

    Very young Nelf Warrior: “Gryffyn, Sir, you have been asked by the Council to come to Darnassus and join the others to look into the rumblings coming out of the maelstrom!”

    Gryffyn: “Son, don’t call me Sir, I work for a living” “Besides as the humans say, I already gave at the office” He then goes back to tending his herb patch.

    Nope exposure to the alliance is sure to change the attitudes of the night elves.

    • 38 Aidyla of Sentinels Realm
      November 15, 2010 at 15:49

      I love the role-play of the second half of your comment XD and yes, exposure to the alliance definitely shows the night elves that not all use of arcane magic will lead to destruction. So it makes sense that they will be more likely to accept the highborne back into society and end the exile now, and a good thing to because it is going to take more than hunters, warriors, nature magic and healing prowess to defeat deathwing – and the highborne know it.

  12. 39 Aidyla of Sentinels Realm
    November 15, 2010 at 15:46

    OK, alot of interesting info. First, about the highborne’s return. Yes, their exile was because of their raw, uninhibited use of magic being a danger to all around them. But their return as “virtuous good”? they are NOT throwing the reason for their exile into the dirt. That is the reason for their only being a couple of them out so far, trying to convince the people of Azeroth that they have changed for the better, and that they will be needed in the coming destruction of Cataclysm. I’m happy to see someone not saying that the highborne were completely gone, as my friend does, though… he says that ALL the highborne become bloodelves or the scattering of high elves left on the alliance side as quest givers. As one who played in cataclysm beta, the highborne have returned, are trying to get back into the good graces of the kaldorei so that they can help stem the tide of evil approaching azeroth in the form of Deathwing.

    • 40 Nhani
      November 15, 2010 at 16:07

      At the end of the day, you sort of made my point for me, though; to quote your prior comment: “because it is going to take more than hunters, warriors, nature magic and healing prowess to defeat deathwing – and the highborne know it. (emphasis mine)

      I haven’t poked around the Cataclysm beta, but that emphasized bit is the key element of their presentation in pre-Cataclysm events, and also why this post exists to begin with. So long as their approach is “You need us”, nothing will have changed. The key word is humility – action is important, but with what the Highborne have done in the past, humility is even more so.


Leave a Reply

