20
Aug
10

If Earthen Ring is Home, then I have some strange neighbors

There are times when playing on the EU Earthen Ring server is one of my standing frustrations, when all the various plots, madness and self-promoting of some people just become so overwhelming that I don’t want to have to deal with it; the latent frustration and wearyness that I built up prior to taking my first real break from World of Warcraft some 2-3 years into playing is still present, and still can be very strong at times. Then, of course.. there are times like last night.. and I start remembering why I don’t think I could ever move ‘ol Moonfall away from there.

To provide some context.. I’ve – very slowly, very carefully – been daring to have ‘ol priestess Nhani Moonfall swing by Stormwind lately; it started as a combination of two things – one being that a human friend of hers, Coragon Havencrest (Beyond the Tree fans may be familiar with his caricaturized incarnation Horace Cravenrest), have reopened his Stormwind tavern recently after much time, and Nhani had promised him some time back that if he did, she’d come visit. Secondly, I’ve been hearing more and more about this typical Stormwind Elf guild and the sort of fail they’ve been up to, and somewhere I ended up with this lingering thought that maybe, just maybe, I should try to have ‘ol Nhani walk around Stormwind from time to time – provided I could figure enough of an excuse – just to let people see a “proper” night elf, as opposed to all these Stormwind incarnations they’re saddled with on a daily basis.

I did visit the Tavern some weeks back.. and managed to run into several friends of Nhanis’ by chance, which led to an evening of great fun, and I’ve made a few more stops by the Haven (said tavern) since, just to look in and have a talk.

Part due to that however, I’ve also been hearing more of “that” elven guild, called “The Elven Hand”, and let’s be honest – not a single thing of it has been good; it’s to the point that someone I by chance ended up in a raid with asked me for advice on elven characterization due to there being several people wanting to create proper elves just to counterweight what that guild was doing.. and you don’t need to look far to realize why – I’ve been almost assaulted with all manner of tidbits of what they’ve been up to. It’s to the point where if even only half of it is true, they’re still beyond salvaging – I’ve heard enough to be seriously considering looking up a complete list of their members and taking note of the names so I know who’s responsible and to be avoided for when the guild most likely eventually dismantles.

But I digress, and this was supposed to be about good things that happened.

So, what happened last night started with bad things – I was passed a particular piece of information/rumor about that guild, which if true have officially demoted the entire guild from Stormwind Elves to Goldshire Elves in my mind, and was enough for me to – in spite of travel-induced tiredness – log on to World of Warcraft in a flurry of mind-boggling confusion and annoyance – I have a tendency to resent hearing the Night elves dragged in the dirt. It did spur me on to do something I’ve been thinking of doing – since I’ve put Nhanis’ current task as organizing the recall of Night elven forces from Northrend, seeing how the Lich King is technically dead and all (it’s actually a task she asked for due to the chance for travel and getting to see a certain Draenei friend of hers, but shh), I’ve been thinking of this idea of utilizing that as an excuse to swing by some of the more resonable higherups in the Stormwind roleplaying scene, almost as a public service to give them some variety in which types of Night elves they interact with. It was a simple enough idea, I figured – shipping being delayed due to materiel held for standard inspection, which was taking a great deal longer than usual due to the port being overworked, and ‘ol Nhani being given a paper and told if someone “important enough” would sign off on it and assure it was all in working order, they could skip that phase entirely.

So I went to do just that, and where I expected it may take me awhile to locate any of said “important” people.. with some pointers from Coragon, Nhani ended up stumbling upon a significant gathering of some of the top members of the ER Order of the Silver Hand; some of the people who – to my knowledge – have had the most conflicts with that elven guild. I half expected there’d be some in character resistance towards Nhani asking them to sign said paper, much due to certain troubles caused by certain Night elves recently, which ensured I ended up rather surprised how polite and forthcoming they were – they genuinely seemed happy to help, not to mention glad to have Nhani there.

The thing that utterly blew my mind though, was when I was told, OOC, from something like four or five different sources nearly all at once.. how the Silver Hand OOC chat apparently had all but exploded in response to Nhanis’ presence. Seeing how I normally tend to think that Earthen Ring has by large – save for a select few individuals – forgotten me by now seeing all the new people and everything.. being told the reaction to my passing by was, effectively, “Omg it’s -the- Priestess Moonfall! ;OO” is.. humbling, to say the least. I’m quite sure I spent last night having a wide grin on my face, and it wouldn’t surprise me if it still persists. So, like my preamble above started.. there are some days when having kept around on Earthen Ring proves to be truly rewarding.

Of course, this means I’m finding myself trying to figure more reasons to be around, be accessible and just talk to people.. try to be a little more active and offer something back, I suppose. I’ve said many times that as far as my World of Warcraft experience is concerned “Earthen Ring is home” – granted, it’s a home where sometimes some neighbors will try to steal your stuff or stick fireworks in your mail, or spend entire nights playing loud noise at intolerable levels. But there’s still all the nostalgic memories, and every so often some other neighbors still show by and offer you a cake. And you find yourself glad that you’ve stayed, in spite of everything.

29 Responses to “If Earthen Ring is Home, then I have some strange neighbors”


  1. August 20, 2010 at 15:56

    Glad you had a fun time!
    It does help your Rp experience of the game if you made plenty of friends from other ‘walks of life’. I mean what’s a tavern party without a drunk dwarf, a serious elf, a curious gnome and a Draenei…..doing draenei things.
    Dont ask me about worgen yet, so far I only have stuck up british stiff upper lip jokes.

  2. August 20, 2010 at 17:04

    When I first read the title I thought “woa awesome! She is on my server!” Then I saw EU… dangit! Why does there have to be an ER “US” and “EU”?

    I’ve never heard of some of these “Elven Guilds”. They sound interesting. (One, I play an elf, and two- I have my “Silver Covenant RP set” complete with the “Orb of the Sin’dorei” to look like a high elf. (to which most people give me strange looks/comments… most people STILL don’t think that high elves even EXIST! Calling me “one of those Alliance blood elves”)

    • 4 Nhani
      August 21, 2010 at 13:01

      I find “Elven guilds” a concept that, without fail, befalls one of three fates. Either they start picking up a significant amount of other Alliance races to make up the numbers, end up grossly underpopulated and fall apart.. or become one of the Stormwind elf guilds that tend to overflow with non-elves (which is to say, Night elves that are other things, such as half-demons, half-dragons, highborne and tall humans with ears).

      There’s a few exceptions, but in general they tend to eventually end up befalling one of those three over time anyhow.

      • August 22, 2010 at 13:18

        Yeah, I can understand that…. Unless you play horde, where 90% of the population are blood elves…under level 20. *rolls eyes* As much as I’ve tried, I just can’t play horde. Sure, I LOOK more or less what I want to look like, but I just can’t get used to having crazy dwarves, technobabble gnomes and stormwind humans as my enemies; and Orcs, Trolls, and Undead be my allies. (I like the tauren though) I just miss being part of the Alliance.

        There really isn’t any safe haven. *sighs*

  3. August 20, 2010 at 21:11

    Hence I wish they did skins.

    Like Orcs could pick Orc or Mag’har
    Tauren could be Tauren or Taunka
    Dwarves could be Ironforge, Wildhammer or Dark Iron
    And so on and so forth…

    • August 20, 2010 at 23:10

      I agree completely. I’ve wanted the same thing myself.

      It makes me wonder though, how many people actually READ some of the stuff in-game. Like quest lore, faction descriptions (Silver Covenant: A militant group of HIGH ELVES…), etc… While most people happily expand NPC’s (like High Overlord Sourfang), they don’t know the background or awesomeness of that mage standing next to the shiny big thing in Shattrath. (Its called a Naaru, and he’s KHADGAR! Medivh’s apprentice? Second war? Statue in Stormwind? Anyone?)

      • 9 Gordrake Thunderhoof
        August 21, 2010 at 11:28

        Most people just tend to work with what they got. I’ve seen two “High Elves” so far (they were basically humans that had the flag of “Race: High Elf” printed on it) and have played it like that. I can understand why they would do that, though, so I’m alright with that – and have even RPed with them and they’re really respectable Roleplayers. I myself play a dwarf – recently made – who comes from the Wildhammer lot. Save for one letter, even his last name is like theirs (Windhammer, FYI) and I play him as a dwarf who’s seeing how their Ironforge cousins are getting along. Seen too many playing Ironforge/Dark Iron and yet to find anyone who’s from the Wildhammer clan. So yeah.

        Then there’s people who forget what they’re meant to be in the game and just…fail because of it. Not to name names, but the Elven Hand mentioned above uses arcane stones ‘for communication purposes’ and yet the leader calls herself a Priestess of Elune. Now correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t the arcane completely against everything Elune teaches? So isn’t this method of communicating beyond most Night Elves’ understanding and, if they do understand, wouldn’t they shatter the stones themselves? (That is unless they’re Highborne, and they’re not even accepted into Darnassus yet. Cataclysm isn’t here yet.)

        And Nhani…if you do send out a call out for all Night Elves, Allie would definitely want to be involved, especially after the few conversations they’ve had together.

        • 10 Nhani
          August 21, 2010 at 12:55

          Their leader is actually even more interesting than that – her description notes how she wears a hood to hide how she is very visibly a Highborne; this means she’s either a High Elf or an Exile (the description noting her wearing a Silvermoon pendant suggests the former). The idea that she’s both a Priestess of the Moon and a “High Ambassador” for the Night elves is just a little beyond ludicrous, seeing that part.

          There’s a reason I’m considering that guild as far beyond saving; they’re essentially the leaning Night elven guild of Stormwind.

  4. 11 Myrion
    August 21, 2010 at 14:51

    Stormwind Elves… I’ve lost track of how many bad experiences I’ve had with them, as well as how many times I’ve tried to salvage some of their characters. I think a lot of the problems surrounding their roleplay is circumstantial, and I honestly feel that if they encountered more night elves early on in their leveling experience, that they wouldn’t turn out the way they do (and yes, by occasionally seeing a “proper” one in Eastern territories as well). But some are so frustrating… they don’t seem to take anything on board.

    But I’ve actually been searching for a new server to move my two night elf characters to, for some serious (racial?) roleplay. The Sha’tar has been great… but it really lacks the numbers, and it seems that any attempt to organise ourselves doesn’t work out. The few night elf guilds we’ve had are quick to fizzle out, though the most successful one held out for a little bit over a year (clinging on for dear life, and starting to go downhill in terms of quality, though). I’ve been seriously considering moving to Earthen Ring (though I’ve had a friend or two nagging me to try out Argent Dawn).

    So would you reccommend your server, Nhani? Or would anyone else reccommend theirs? I’m conflicted.

    • 12 Ilyara
      August 21, 2010 at 23:04

      I think having friends always helps, so you may have more fun on Argent Dawn for that reason πŸ™‚

    • August 22, 2010 at 19:43

      Argent Dawn has a pretty large ‘proper’ Night Elf RP community in Astranaar. Whilst some of the Stormwind Elves do try on ocassion to bring their um unique brand of Kaldorei RP there they never last very long.

      I would also say it has two guilds called the Silverleaf Sentinels and Dor Anahil Manaar that are the exception to Nhani’s rule on Kaldorei-only guilds as they have both been about a long while and in my experience they are all great RPers with strict policies for recruitment. I don’t know if Nhani knows of them though, or maybe she has a different opinion on them.

      In the end it is down to the person. What one likes might not be anothers cup of tea. Though as said, my personal opinion is that Argent Dawn on the whole has a very good Night Elf community centred around providing RP for more people wqho like to play traditional Night Elf characters as opposed to the amount of bad Kaldorei RP you see around Stormwind on most RP servers.

  5. 14 Noriam
    August 21, 2010 at 16:57

    Most of this I’d picked up from talking to you / listening in but yes, I havn’t ‘seen’ the Elven Hand behaving as they’ve been accused, but OSH chat has told me some truly horrendous things – and I’m inclined to believe them. I’ve thought about making a proper elf now and then…

    Actually I was going to, and then I realised I had no character slots. Ahem. Earthen Ring is my home too – and I’m overly glad to have you here, as is OSH as you heard =p

    … Just because I am who I am, neighbours has a ‘u’ in it.

  6. 15 Coragon
    August 21, 2010 at 23:33

    If enough people start spreading a rumour, there’s usually something to it. Most rumours, especielly those that alot of people speak of, dont crop up out of nowhere.

    That being said, I havent seen the elven hand misbehave that badly either. I’ve had them over at my tavern quite frequently, and they’ve always been friendly. Their leader has made some…strange emotes sometimes, but other then that, there’s been nothing to indicate that there’s any truth to the rumours.

    Although there could definetly be something hiding under the surface. Some of the rumours are so extreme I’ve intended to speak to their leader and see what she says about the whole thing, and how she responds. Even if she’s lying, I think I’ll be able to tell a fair few things from the response.

    But enough of the elven hand.

    I am personally very happy, and I know alot of other people are too, that you have descided to keep Nhani around Stormwind a bit more. Its nice to bump into you from time to time and roleplay with you, because you are still that awesome roleplayer that might very well be the first real proper nightelven roleplayer Coragon got to know, and has kept in contact(more or less) with since then.

    I hope you’ll stay around and that the sometimes horrible things you’ll witness on the streets of Stormwind wont be enough to turn you away from the city! At least not yet.

    And in reply to Myrion:

    Having tried multiple roleplaying realms, my general experience of the matter is that most roleplaying realms are roughly equal in terms of quality. You have your bad eggs and your nice people everywhere, no server is particulary better in this field. I have heard alot of good things about Argent Dawn, but a few bad things as well. In the end, I dont think AD is that much better then ER, so you should probably choose the server where your friends are at. Friends are after all the nr.1 stepping stone to get involved in good enjoyable wow RP.

    But if you choose ER anyway, you’re most welcome! We have Nhani! *holds up Nhani-styled server recruitment poster*

    • 16 Myrion
      August 22, 2010 at 00:55

      I do have plenty of friends on the server I’m on, or rather, did. And we’ve had some great memories together, and I know I’ll keep in touch with a lot of them no matter what server I’m on, and even if I stop playing the game altogether. But a lot of the people I was closest to have stopped playing, or moved to other servers during the time I took what was supposed to be a “short break”, which ended up lasting for around nine months. Because of the length of time I was away, a lot of my roleplaying connections dried up as well, and now I sort of feel like a stranger in my own “home”. As such, I’ve decided it might be better to start fresh, rather than try and build up a network again, especially given the fact that I’ll be able to smooth out and retcon a few things with my characters that I wasn’t too happy with.

    • 17 Nirene Feathersong
      August 23, 2010 at 17:42

      I were about to say the same. There’s really no realm you can come across that are 100% perfect these days. Heck, you can’t even avoid the gold sellers on RP realms.

      Anyway, it’d be a shame if Nhani were to leave ER behind, as I’ve made a few good friends already, who I tend to RP with on a regular basis. I even concluded I should make my own RP guild, which I eventually did after some serious struggles to make a decent recruit poster. Beside that, Nhani was the very reason why I started playing on ER in the first place, even though I’ve only interacted with her a few times.

  7. August 23, 2010 at 06:43

    I had forgotten you hail from Earthen Ring EU as well.

    … except that I am and have always been horde. It’s rather interesting to hear what is going on on alliance side, though. I only recall “Order of the Silver Hand” as a guild tag for some alliance I spotted around. Nothing major.

    I was co-founder of the horde guild “Oaken Soul”, which gave me a lot of nice roleplaying experience. The legendary Cavran was both the cornerstone and the pillar that held it up, and when he left after about two years (don’t quote me on that, my memory may be playing tricks on me) it fell together fairly quickly after that.

    At that point, both Cavran and me had been completely fed up with all the plots of all the attention-huggers. The plots usually contained something like
    1. Half-demons, possessions or something similar.
    2. Involvement of some extremely important NPCs in the game. Particularly love-children of Thrall and the like.
    3. Rape. I *hate* roleplayers abusing that. It’s an insult to anyone who has ever experienced anything like that in real life. My theory is that 99.9% of the players using that in their backstory are male. So am I, but I have the decency to be ashamed of it.

    I do recall with fondness some other plots. Ah, good times.

    It’d be fun to chat with you sometime. Three weeks ago I created my first real alliance character (apart from lvl 1’s to speak with some alliance), a gnome warlock. Know what? I still don’t like alliance. I know there are a lot of decent people there, but I can’t seem to find them.

    By the way, I enjoy your comic.

    • 19 Nhani
      August 23, 2010 at 08:12

      Hah, old Cavran – I remember him, though I don’t think I ever had the pleasure of actually meeting him. Somehow, I always figured that if not for the language barrier, he and Nhani’d probably actually get along quite well given half the chance.

      Don’t expect me to get the time of events right either – I remember the whole merged cultist plots with both the Alliance and the Horde that culminated in the whole Moonglade debacle some.. unspecific number of years ago.. and that’s the last I recall hearing of him.

      I’ve never really seen the Horde RP that much – much like you, I have a problem with getting into one of the factions, only the opposite one. I’ve tried a few times, I recall asking the Defenders of Mulgore to borrow their fire for a quest once, only to sadly have to run as I was expected to chase a wolf.. seeing a few random passerbys while a few nubs and I met with Horde alts like once or twice..

      I can relate to the demon plots, the attention-whoring and all that, though – I’ve burned out on Nhani at least once, possibly twice, due to things like that. And not counting how the number of half-demon, half-dragon, half-something else and/or the highborne and Stormwind Elves tend to outnumber actual night elves (much to my chagrin..).. and then the attention whores. Some people who kept returning with a new and bigger issue every time, just because they liked the attention the first time.

      I admit, I never managed to get into the Horde much myself – I’ve made the occasional try, managed to pass by the Defenders of Mulgore once – asked to borrow their fire for a quest, and unfortunately couldn’t stay because suddenly I had to chase a wolf spirit. Never really clicked for me though, and to a point I think it’s unfortunate, as I think if I’d known more decent members of the Horde, my opinion on the faction as a whole wouldn’t have deteriorated nearly as much as it has.

      Then again, it hasn’t helped that attempted raids on Tyrande tends to make my blood boil πŸ˜‰

  8. August 23, 2010 at 07:40

    By the way, I really like your blog and your comic. I haven’t really looked at it much during my wow absence, but since I recently came back, I’ve read myself up. Since I like it so much, I figured I could just as well recommend it to others as well, and I did: http://healerenvy.blogspot.com/2010/08/recommendation.html

    I hope you don’t mind me using one of your pictures on the recommendation post.

    • 21 Nhani
      August 23, 2010 at 08:19

      I remember your blog actually! While I admit I haven’t followed it per se, I knew it sounded familiar.. so I went back to older posts right up to late 2008 and found this particular post – I recall you asking to use that picture as well πŸ˜‰

      I really need to overhaul my own list of links.. it’s proven problematic because I don’t want to list anything I don’t read personally, and.. well.. I actually don’t follow that many blogs or comics, I’ll admit! It tends to be so much to plow through, or topics I may not be stalking myself at the time.

      Still, glad you enjoy πŸ˜‰ Going to have to give yours a read now, too. xD

      • August 23, 2010 at 08:25

        Your right, that’s how I actually found your blog in the first place.

        You’re welcome to read the blog like everybody else. It may or may not suit your taste.

        Don’t stress reading it or linking it just because I am reading yours, though. Do it only if you actually like it and want to recommend it. That’s what I did.

        • 23 Nhani
          August 23, 2010 at 08:29

          Yes, I know; I’m well aware my tastes can be peculiar, especially seeing how most of the more famous World of Warcraft webcomics (for example).. actually don’t do it for me, most of the time.

          I’ll definitely try to give it a look, though. I’ve been meaning to update the links I have to encompass places I think could be interesting, I’m just taking my sweet time deciding which ones might be πŸ˜‰

          • 24 Gordrake Thunderhoof
            August 23, 2010 at 13:13

            I kind of…plug my blog every time I post here, so not really much for me to do. So at least there’s no need for you to add mine, eh, Nhani?

            As for Ayeba, I’ll be reading the blog myself. Probably add it to the…extending plethora of websites I load when I start up Firefox.

            Yes…I have about 12+ pages that load as my “Home Page”.

  9. 25 Moltrazahn
    August 24, 2010 at 22:47

    Hmm Elven guilds…

    Oddly enough, i know of one that havent failed, and is still going very strongly… if you’ll allow me to formulate πŸ™‚

    On Argent Dawn (Eu), there is this thing called “The Kalimdor Project”. This is in basic a gathering of guilds, focused on bringing RP to kalimdor, so to avoid overpopulation in Eastern Kingdom domains, namely cases like Stormwind and Goldshire.

    One of these guilds, which is also lead by the founder of the Project. Is called the Silverleaf Sentinels. Its Nightelf Only, Female Only, and builds on Sentinel militia preservation of Ashenvale. Training nights every Teusdays, community events every Saturday… And its a really, really good guild! (not just saying that, but saying it becauss it works). It has dedicated members. Have been up for over a year, and the RP is great, if your into military minded rp.

    I guess the reason im stating this, is that there are exceptions to every rule. And while at the same time, nothing lasts forever. This guild is one ive yet to see falter in its dedication to both the community, and its members entertainment (to which they repay with their own dedication).

    So the dream lives on some servers πŸ™‚ And sounds as if Nhani’s very presence is one of dreams aswell *grins*, atleast if building on the OOC-tells you recived.

    Anywho, thats my 00:46 am. rant. But just wanted to sparkle one of them lights in the dark horizon of elf-rp ^^

    • 26 Myrion
      August 25, 2010 at 16:07

      Is that the one Yunaris runs, or something? If so I think I considered joining that with a character, until I heard about her Sentinel having male genitalia, or some such. I’m not one to shy away from the more ‘adult’ aspects of roleplaying, but there’s just something about that, that I find deeply disturbing. That said, both of my main characters (Myrion and Fierse) are male, so that particular guild wouldn’t be much help to them. Not that they really need to be guilded, I suppose…

      • 27 Yunaris
        August 25, 2010 at 17:55

        Thank you for those kind words, Moltrazahn!

        To Myrion, I think I’ve heard that about every single big guild with females in it on Argent Dawn. I can assure you, I take running the Kalimdor Project very seriously and I’ve devoted a great deal of time, funds and effort to it. I’d highly recommend you check the project out in full, if you do take an interest in my guild, great! However there are plenty of other guilds of various types that populate Kalimdor. I think I can assure you, I think my character would have trouble putting her greaves on in the morning if the rumour mill was always true. πŸ™‚

        http://www.thekalimdorproject.eu

        Please do check us out if you’ve never been on AD before. We have town gatherings every saturday at 6 in Astranaar.

  10. 28 Thunderbraid_AD
    August 28, 2010 at 12:15

    Kalimdor Project is awesome.

    Good thing is, with no input from me, we have a pretty substantial Dwarven/Khaz Modan related community getting off the ground. We also have a Wildhammer guild flying around, but I must say I haven’t seen many of their members.

    Stormwind Elves. Ugh. There was one in the government on AD, and she ICly race changed to human using magic, I know Warcraft magic is very strong, but that doesn’t seem possible to me.

    • 29 Thunderbraid_AD
      August 28, 2010 at 12:19

      The government? o_O I mean. The Royal Court. But, I think she thought herself to be an actual government official. Ugh.


Leave a Reply

