05
Nov
10

A Render of Foonmalls

Right, so. I was hoping to have this particular model done early this week, but due to a whole lot of things happening, not to mention a whole lot of problems that cropped up during the process, it’s not really hit that point until now. And it’s still technically considered non-final, though it’s mainly some tweaking, poking at envelopes and purging the file of extra stuff that remains.

Anyhow. Hani Foonmall, revision 5.

Hani’s model is an odd one in that it’s probably the one model I spend the least time planning what I should tweak or change or update with it, and yet generally the one that’s by far the most up to date. This really is due to two reasons – first of all, Hani Foonmall shares a great deal of superficial appearance, right down to overall size and build, with my main World of Warcraft character Nhani moonfall, with the result that whenever I introduce a new element I really like for one of them, the other one tends to inherit it by default. Secondly, is generally the one character in Beyond the Tree which is the least likely to actually say what she thinks or feels, and therefore tends to be the one who needs to be the most visually expressive. More than any other character, Hani will give sidelong glances or raise her eyebrow or otherwise communicate without actually saying anything; her facial expressions essentially need to be say what her words doesn’t.

Anyhow, you know the drill by now. Clicky and soforth.








And as with the Te’len post, I thought I’d put together a random actress-behind-the-scenes sort of set of images (along with a super huge version) for giggles. It’s actually quite funny how a few friends of mine and I have spent time envisioning entire personalities for the supposed “actresses” playing the characters in Beyond the Tree, all of which are humorously different from the characters they’re actually playing. This, in turn, creates interesting situations like Te’len’s actress speaking on a mobile phone, or Hani’s actress spending the time between takes sipping wine and reading books.

This time, however, I have an extra-extra bonus along, specifically for LolDrood because it’ll never happen in continuity! So there! Hah! Additionally, I recently discovered there are no less than three characters named “Foonmall” on European realms; all three are female night elven warriors and all three have Hani’s hair colour. Interestingly, none of them have the same pale blue skin she has. Oh World of Warcraft Armory, the strange things you tell me.

Edit: swapped out one image that had horrendous clipping issues. If you’re curious, the old version can still be found here.

55 Responses to “A Render of Foonmalls”


  1. 1 Mike
    November 5, 2010 at 22:25

    There is one on Agent Dawn called Hanibell Foonmall (with a funny i) Gotta check all the variations, celeb! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. November 5, 2010 at 22:44

    I do like Nhani hugging Te ^^
    Makes me all fuzzy inside.

  3. 6 Ilyara
    November 6, 2010 at 00:12

    #1 So darling; there I was.
    #2 …
    #3 Quite how it happened to transpire; I haven’t the faintest…
    #4 …but I will tell you this.
    #5 Dragons come in many shapes and sizes.
    #6 “Darling, of course they do”, he said.
    #7 And how could I argue? He looked *fabulous*
    #8 So we spent the rest of the party sharing styling tips: really, what else was one to do?

  4. November 6, 2010 at 00:35

    Of COURSE they all look wonderful. But for one big clipping oops in Knife Sisters: Hani’s sword, and Te’len’s arm.

    • 9 Nhani
      November 6, 2010 at 01:33

      ..gah. This is why I shouldn’t be doing much of anything when way too tense and stressed out – I start missing the obvious. Oh well, good catch. Swapped out the fail for an updated version with another backdrop, because I wasn’t too happy with the old backdrop either.

  5. 10 Synchronizor
    November 6, 2010 at 01:11

    Awesome images, I think the predator and spelunking ones are my favorites. But Hani doesn’t seem real happy to be home in the idle-snarl image…

  6. 17 LolDrood
    November 6, 2010 at 01:51

    ๐Ÿ˜€ And life is awesome once again.
    You’ll never crush the dream, Nhani!* Do you hear me? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfUYuIVbFg0
    Besides, I never said it would end *well* for young Ms. Te’len, now did I? ~_^

    Oh, god: HANI WITH DOUBLE-JUMP BOOTS! We’re all doomed! Abandon your lives, for she has become until Death, destroyer of all who look upon her but in despair!

    I love the Charge one, cause she looks like a bunny. ๐Ÿ™‚
    And we can add “sports bras” to the list of things that exist in BtT that I wished WoW had; lord knows half the races in the game desperately need then. Stupid string bikini tops. I’m sure you just intend for it to be a tank top undershirt, but it gets me a’thinkng.

    I do so enjoy the, ‘on set with the actors’ series. They remind me of episode 100 of SG-1, which was the greatest thing to ever be on TV. And if Hani/actress starts talking about how Freudian belief tells us more about Freud then it does about human psyche, I might have to fall in love.
    James Lipton would totally be a gnome. “Hani Foonmall, you are one of the greatest and most prolific artists of our modern times; if you could be a dragon flight… what color dragon flight would you be?”

    Sword clipping does not take away from Hani and T pre-fight smack talking with Hogger. >:)

    It must be reiterated once again how simply awesome the new eyes are. The characters just pop to life, now. You are quite the expression wrangler, Nhani.

    And I’d like to extend a personal thank you to the programmer at Firefox who decided each tab needs their own X button, thus making it INFINITELY more like I’d close the tab, rather then switch to it, and have to retype my stupid, self-aggrandizing text walls. -_-

    *See?! Hani is the -perfect- hugging height for Te’len! It’s destiny!

    • 18 Nhani
      November 6, 2010 at 11:05

      It’s intended as a sports bra, actually; it came out of all the situations in BtT where Hani needed to be without armor, and I kept trying to decide what would be most appropriate for it, testing various things at various points. Some time back I decided to finally settle the matter and concluded that since “Active Lifestyle” is sort of an understatement as far as Hani Foonmall is concerned, she’d want something that provides proper support.

      So, she gained a sports bra. It really struck me as far more fitting both visually and for character than any of the other solutions I’ve tried.

      Ps. Opera > Firefox

    • 20 Phearlock
      November 6, 2010 at 12:27

      ctrl-shift-T <- hotkey for bringing back accidentally closed tab in FF
      Saving walls of text, one tab at a time ^^

    • 22 Ilyara
      November 6, 2010 at 18:36

      I can’t believe how many people still quote Freud as gospel >.> ‘

    • 23 LolDrood
      November 6, 2010 at 20:16

      Also, that’s supposed to be SG-1 ep200.
      Oh look, a link to it!

      Why, how thoughtful of you, LolDrood, to enrich everyone’s lives and bring some joy intot he world.
      Oh no no, really it was nothing, you all don’t need to shower me with praises and present to me fabulous gifts… oh, a global holiday in my honor? well now really guys, far be it from me to stop you, but you really don’t need to to that.

  7. 25 Thalis
    November 6, 2010 at 07:32

    There is one thing that could be improved. Model of your boots has something that looks like it should protect kneecaps, but it does not exactly match with her knees. On Nhani it is not so much visible, because her boots and greaves has similar texture, on Hani it looks like slap in the face.
    Other that this minor issue, I fully approve “actresses” situation, and hugging Te’len is full of win.

  8. 28 Jim
    November 6, 2010 at 07:34

    “That” pic will never happen in continuity?!?!
    LIES! BLANTANT LIES!!
    Everything comes down to it!!!……..right? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  9. 29 Phearlock
    November 6, 2010 at 12:28

    I have nothing to say accept “yay fanservice!”
    kekekekeke

  10. 31 LolDrood
    November 7, 2010 at 00:17

    Since my head seems to be operating on a 5 minute to day and a half delayed reaction these days, I post my suggested audio accompaniment now.

    Plus, this will make you want to play Robot Unicorn Attack, so bonus. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. 32 Xel
    November 8, 2010 at 14:18

    Hurray for fan service! The ‘Hug’ pic is spectacular, Nhani, thanks for the cute lil fantasy trip. Sure will be fun to see if you end up changing your mind about this as the story matures on.

    Other favorites include the ‘Predator’ pic and ‘Spelunking.’ Can’t wait to see these updated models in the comic; all these visual upgrades, combined with the wrap-up of the Deadmines chapter, makes one quite anxious about what’s in store for us readers.

    If I may make a humble suggestion for another render post: it’d be great to see a retrospective of Hani and Raene when they were partner Sentinels. I’m not asking for a full background story (I figure that’s coming in the comic), just some random renders of what Hani would’ve looked like when she was a Sentinel. I really liked what you did with Raene’s outfit in the comic, and it’d give you the opportunity to update her model like the other cast members. Just some ‘food for thought’ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 33 Nhani
      November 8, 2010 at 16:19

      I’ve actually been working on a Raene model update for some time, or well.. poking at it, from time to time. There’s been some issues I’ve had with the prior one, notably how I did the legs for it, as well as for all my intents at doing a callback to Sentinels in WarCraft 3.. it really felt like no one actually visually reached that conclusion.

      So, my attempts have actually gone backward on that and I’ve tried to take her closer to the World of WarCraft Sentinels again, while still maintaining her own set look and feel.

      As for Hani and Sentinels.. yes, I have in mind a glimpse of showing Hani as a Sentinel, however short; I might develop some of that and show her time under Raene’s command if I like the look and feel I have some interesting things to show or tell with it, but I need to decide how to visually portray Hani as a Sentinel.. I haven’t quite figured out what to aim for with that just yet.

      • 34 Xel
        November 8, 2010 at 22:24

        I’m sorry you feel noone made the connection between Raene’s outfit and the original armor worn by the Sentinels of Warcraft 3, where the Night Elves made their racial debut. That’s in fact exactly why I loved her outfit update so much, as I felt is was far closer to the spirit of that armor than the Catwoman suits that the Sentinels seem fond of 4 years later. Sorry, I should have been more expressive of the fact when you first gave us the update back then.

        Nonetheless, I’d like to see your interpretation of a more “practical” Sentinel armor set. I think that’s what Blizzard was going for with the World of Warcraft version of the Sentinels’ look. Can’t wait for a sneak peek or two at that and your other concepts. Speaking of, are there any other character concepts you’ve been looking forward to working on? Keep it up!

        • 35 Nhani
          November 9, 2010 at 10:04

          Well, there was a link to my current attempts at Raene cleverly hidden in my reply; other than that.. none as such. I have a few things I’m thinking about with Areen, but nothing solid yet.

          There’s that fifth group member I’ve been thinking about too, of course, but that has yet to get anywhere.

          • 36 Xel
            November 9, 2010 at 18:39

            Haha! Thanks for feeding me the link, I’d never have noticed it otherwise (I guess I need to start reading with my cursor from now on). Though in my defense, that was very well hidden.

            I like the new look; she’ll blend in with her subordinates a little better now, which lends to the military nature of the Sentinels. Looking at the new version made me think of something though: have you considered giving the Sentinels cloaks? Back in WC3, the archers had cloaks that just looked great. It might be something you could just add to Raene’s outfit as a symbol of command, or maybe something you could add to some of the rank-and-file Sentinels to denote Archers from Huntresses.

            Also, at the risk of sounding like a critic, have you played around with giving Raene greaves instead of boots? I was just thinking it might fit her look better, seeing as the Sentinels favor light, mobile armors over heavy, protective suits. In any case, keep up the great work, so far looks good!

          • 37 LolDrood
            November 10, 2010 at 01:03

            Sneaky Nhanises!

            I’m not sure how well the WCIII models will translate to a full-scale models, especially when the full-scale ones are using in-game items as a bases; the WCIII models are of such a low polygon count and hyper-stylization. It’s the differance between stage make-up for a 400-seat theater, and HDTV newscaster make-up.
            Wowwiki must have really pared down their archives, I can’t find any of the gifs they used to have of WCIII models to reference. : / IIRC, they were mostly boots, shoulders, and glowy bows on purple humanoid bodies in bikinis. That’ll be a tough balance between accuracy and http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/61/Barbarella-poster.jpg

            I have total faith in your leet 3D skills to make her look awesome, I just don’t know if there’s going to be a lot of, “oh cool, she looks all WCIII”.

            And if we’re talking new character models, may I humbly offer a request for an appearance of the much-underused bad-ass floppy leather hat? http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/61/Barbarella-poster.jpg It’s so floppy and whimsical! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • January 28, 2011 at 14:46

        For what it may or may not be worth, I caught the Warcraft 3 Sentinel reference… though it’s been so long since I played Warcraft 3, I hardly remember any of the night elf unit models. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. 40 saila AKS Wester
    November 8, 2010 at 15:15

    Nhani you still haven’t added thickness to the Armour its still paint on skin.
    just add some to the edge will do the trick ((I hope))

    Now I just need to figure out who had the wounder full ide to do an full cloth simulation on an T-shit (T-shirt) is as of today (2009-2010) standard just plain paint on the skin.

    • 41 Nhani
      November 8, 2010 at 15:20

      The modeled bends and curves around the sleeves and the waist disagrees with your assessment.

    • 42 LolDrood
      November 9, 2010 at 02:41

      You kinda loose it in the shirt, because it’s a lower rez skin, and Hani’s shirt isn’t as dynamic as Te’len’s, but it’s there.

      That said, painted-on outfits? I’m game. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. 43 Kaladon
    November 11, 2010 at 19:44

    The foonmall on Bronzebeard EU is mine Nhani, needed a name for a NE warrior and it just seemed to fit in my brainpan. i couldnt quit get the skin colour and the long hair was the best i could manage for style i think.

  14. December 1, 2010 at 05:50

    I’m gonna have to side with Loldrood on this one. Far be it from me to act like some teenage boy, but just once I feel the need to laugh maniacally and toss caution to the wind.

    *ahen*

    Ya know what Te’len’s thinking… “So round, so firm, so fully packed…” And she’s talking about Hani’s satchel, of course. >.> And when poor Hani tries to get away, Te’len can pull a Creepy Girl and say, “I will not be denied, Hani, I’m reaching out to you.”

    I realized I got a slightly unsettling sense of humor.

    Anywho, all the herping and derping aside; love the renders, especially the eyes. It never occured to me that the Night Elves had eyes that glowed like the moon did. Which does make sense.

    By the way, sorry if this has been asked, do you pronounce Te’len’s name “TAY’Len” or ‘TEE’len’?

    • 45 Nhani
      December 1, 2010 at 15:07

      I actually pronounce both e’s like in let; personally I’d describe it more like Teh’len, but I’m told that’s not exactly accurate, so I’m not sure how to otherwise best describe it.

      • 46 Xel
        December 6, 2010 at 11:12

        Weird, I assumed it was pronounced “Teh-len” as well, figuring the apostrophe split up the name. I think it sounds very feminine in this way. Well, that’s elf names for you. My first night elf on WoW was Auriainda, and it got to the point that when people asked how to pronounce it I responded, “However you like.” Most just shortened it to Auri.

        • 47 Nhani
          December 6, 2010 at 15:47

          Yeah, I know what you mean. I have Nhani Moonfall, and especially early on I found myself having to explain to people that the h actually isn’t silent because some people kept trying to tell me how I’d named her after a japanese word or something.

          It’s Nar-hanee.

          This said, most of the nubs say it with the h silent anyway, but they’re my friends and don’t try to subscribe suspect origins to it, so I let them get away with it.

  15. 50 Iscarti
    December 3, 2010 at 06:07

    Now do them kissing O.o

  16. 51 Faroth
    December 10, 2010 at 08:03

    Honestly, how you haven’t been contacted by Blizzard with a job offering is beyond me. They’ve said they want to update the original races to bring them “up to snuff” so to speak. I know who’s right for the job…

  17. 52 Thalis
    December 24, 2010 at 12:40

    Merry Christmas, happy New Year and may Elune always smile upon you.

  18. January 24, 2013 at 13:07

    I think other web site proprietors should take this web site
    as an model, very clean and great user friendly style and design, let alone the
    content. You’re an expert in this topic!

  19. May 30, 2013 at 10:51

    Hi there, I do think your blog might be having web browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in I.
    E., it has some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, wonderful blog!

  20. September 24, 2014 at 07:14

    Amazing! Its really amazing article, I have got much clear idea about
    from this piece of writing.


Leave a Reply

