24
Apr
11

Random Render: Regarding Profession Bonuses

Picking a profession in World of Warcraft is something I generally find difficult to do – not so much due to weighing bonuses against eachother, but more often weighing character versus fun factor. Ultimately, I often prefer professions that feel like they somehow fit in with or in the very least doesn’t conflict with the idea I have for the character.

So picking professions for the big guy, well..

There’s a particular friend I have with a near impeccable grasp of all the various mechanics and bonuses in the game who I generally go to for decisions like that, part because to sell the idea to me you kind of have to know how I think and what I look for. My peculiar notions of searching for things that feel justified and in character.

I was given the suggestion tailoring.

It wasn’t quite what I expected – it wasn’t that I had a problem with the suggestion, but it wasn’t at all what I’d expected for a former Vindicator and now Shaman. So I asked, why tailoring? I got the reply, Male Draenei on Flying Carpet.


I didn’t need more convincing than that.

5 Responses to “Random Render: Regarding Profession Bonuses”


  1. 1 LolDrood
    April 24, 2011 at 17:55

    Sooooo…
    Not leatherworking, then?

    Also, be advised that whole new world. Say again, a new fantastic point of view.

  2. 2 saila AKS Wester
    April 24, 2011 at 22:12

    we need an bigger carpet.

  3. 3 Loaniss
    April 25, 2011 at 23:06

    “Don’t you dare close your eyes!”

    Ahem, anyway I approve of the decisions why; as long as you find it fun, go for it!
    😀

    Also, is that the Flying Carpet in-game design also?

    • 4 Nhani
      May 3, 2011 at 01:27

      It’s in the files.. whether it’s actually available to use, I’m not sure. After all, I saw a Cataclysm flying carpet texture in modelviewer too, and I’m pretty sure Blizzard haven’t implemented that one yet.

  4. 5 Valmandûr (Udûn-Khadgar)
    May 3, 2011 at 13:38

    Hmm, profession must fit the character is a thing I hold very hgh myself. But then I also extend that to mounts. An example could be: Heavy bearded, black haired dwarf rogue, especially subtle in his movements and always in for a joke. On the other hand much like other dwarfs, being loud. o emphasise that, I gave him not only a gun, but also a mechanostrider with it’s clanking and scratching noises of mechanics at work… not an everyday rogue, still funny to give him engineering for a boost of his ludicrous talent of making unneading noises.


Leave a Reply

