25
Jun
09

On the drawing board: Hani rev 4 part two

So, seeing how I’ve spent a fair bit of time with rev 4 as of late – a good chunk of what time I’ve been able to spare has gone into the slow process of cutting, tweaking and adjusting to reach a completed model. While there’s a great deal more to complete still – the skeleton will need significant adjustment with the new dimensions as well as the new hands, nevermind assembling all the morph targets for facial expressions. Still, the base model is well into starting to take shape.

Several of the changes are fairly subtle and might not even be all that apparent to most, but there’s two in particular I wanted to highlight in this update, starting with..

..size. The gray is the rev 3 model, the dark blue is the rev 4 model – the light blue is where they overlap. As you can see, the difference is quite significant – her legs are significantly thicker, as are her upper arms in particular, though her lower arms have gone through significant change as well. There’s been a few more subtle changes to go with it – her rib is ab it thicker, her shoulders are wider, her back (though rarely seen) is a little more defined.. she’s a great deal larger than she was. Then there’s the other change..

..namely hands. While technically it was largely the thumb I’ve been wanting to fix, I decided that the easiest way to do that was just to start over from scratch with a fresh import from the game model and work my way up. While I won’t know of the hands work better or not until I actually tie them to the skeleton and give them a try, they’ve gone through a great deal of other changes already – especially with how I’ve tested adding another detail: nails. With Hani in particular, I want a certain feral emphasis – while Night elves in general tend to lean that way, young Hani Foonmall can be something of a predator, and as a result leans a bit further in that direction.


14 Responses to “On the drawing board: Hani rev 4 part two”


  1. 1 TheNic
    June 25, 2009 at 23:47

    the hands actually looks nor…okay maybe not normal, they are still Night ELf purple xD but they look like hands now atleast, and the body changes are great imo, fits her better 🙂

    • 2 Nhani
      June 26, 2009 at 04:14

      The problems with the hands is always (or atleast until I figure out how to change it) going to be that they have is that most, if not all hand models in World of Warcraft has one less finger joint than we do. Working around that fact can be a significant hinderance, even if it makes the bone structure simpler.

      Still, I tried to add more shape to the fingers beyond just “straight bendable pillar down”. I’m not entirely decided whether or not they deform properly or not, yet, but I’ll probably atleast try to have rev 4 assembled enough for a rough tryout/showcase before long.

  2. 3 Kai
    June 26, 2009 at 05:06

    How do you change the imported models from triangular to…..crud the term just slipped my mind as I started typing. Plus adding in more vertex’s to the model? Do you just go around with cut/slice or whatever to add in more or is there some plugin I am missing?

    Also have you ever tried using zbrush to add in details and whatnot? I got talked into trying the demo and fell in love in the first few mins of playing around. It’s very good for adding in more details to something or making a whole model.

    • 4 Nhani
      June 26, 2009 at 06:06

      Quads – I basically just use the Editable Poly (not Editable Mesh) object type, use edge selection, select the edges I want to go away and click the Remove button in the sidebar (not the delete key – delete removes the edge and attached polygons, remove just removes the edge and keeps the polys. You can remove excess vertices this way too in vertex selection mode). Beyond that I just use Cut, occasionally Weld, Target Weld and Break.

      I’ve never tried zBrush – some people have suggested I give it a try at some point, but I haven’t taken the time to so far; I might in due time, but from what I saw of it, I worry my use of it might suffer from my inability to actually draw all that well.

  3. 5 venci
    June 26, 2009 at 17:47

    just saying doesn’t she have too long nails for a sword fighter/close hand combatan? or she will use her nails too poke out eyes 😀

  4. 6 Illidan
    June 26, 2009 at 19:49

    Hmm, i think her hips are definitely too thick, she looks a bit plumpy… Just my opinion 🙂
    (Well, I like skinny girls :D)

    • 7 Lahis
      June 26, 2009 at 20:23

      There’s nothing wrong with little plumpness :p

      About the model: I understand that Hani needs to be strong for what she does, and it will definitely show up in her build, but I think you went a bit overkill with the upper arms. They look too big, or atleast too block-like.
      (I hope you catch what I’m pursuing here. It’s so damn frustrating when I just can’t come across to how to express something in English >.< )

      • 8 Lahis
        June 26, 2009 at 20:37

        I really, REALLY want that edit -button…

        What I’m thinking with the upper arms is that they should narrow down towards the elbows more smoothly. Now they just take two hard turns near the elbow and it makes the arms look blocky.

      • 9 Nhani
        June 26, 2009 at 22:54

        The reason they’re really wide up the top is essentially the armour – I added some additional thickness simly to give more space for it to be on top of her arms, rather than looking just painted on. I might try to morph them down slightly and see if it changes anything, mind. It really seems like it’s less apparent when she actually can move though, since her arms go down her sides.

        As for Hani’s hips, as far as I’m aware they actually shouldn’t have changed.

      • 10 Arafor
        June 27, 2009 at 09:46

        It’s not really her arms that gives that square-feeling to her, while they do contribute to it reducing her biceps is in no way necessary to “fix” it. Just pressing the shoulders down (and a little bit closer to the body too, donno if that screws things up with the skeleton though) slightly should work wonders. Cutting her bangs a little bit shorter so we could see her neck-to-shoulder area more clearly would probably help as well.

      • 11 Nhani
        June 27, 2009 at 09:54

        Well there is a bone that connects the shoulder joint to the neck, so that one can simply be rotated down slightly to give it a slight slope. I think a fair bit of issues will actually look a fair bit better once she can move and pose properly because her stand idle pose is actually a whole lot different from the above examples.

  5. 12 G'Bariel
    June 27, 2009 at 11:44

    i think she needs a bit more hips and ass, after all she is a woman

  6. 13 saila aka wester
    June 29, 2009 at 20:42

    just an quick question night elf girl and dreaei girl are the only one i seen in game whit teeth or close to teeth and TONGUE in game.
    are am wrong?
    i know human male don’t mouth is like pacman.
    thanks the naaru for google translator.

    • 14 Nhani
      June 29, 2009 at 21:07

      Ignoring tusks, the only two player models I can recall off hand that has existing modelled teeth in-game are actually Night elven males and Draenei females – Draenei males might have teeth models too, but I can’t recall whether they do or not off hand.

      Most player models have textured teeth of varying quality however, but not a single player model has a modelled tongue. At best they might have a texture for it. As I recall, none of the player models have an actual mouth cavity either, it’s just a fold. A good place to save polygons, generally.


Leave a comment